We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Homey appartment, exellent host”
other travellers have booked this property
Cosy Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy Lounge
Lounge Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
97 reviews
Cosy Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Cosy dining area
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom with shower
Bathroom
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Edinburgh Castle from Grassmarket
Grassmarket market stalls
Grassmarket Al fresco dining
Victoria Street leading from Grassmarket with abundance of restaurants
The Dome bar and restaurant George Street at Christmas
Fireworks from the Meadows Park - 5 minutes walk
Military Tattoo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 97 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
YoYo118
Den Haag
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Homey appartment, exellent host”
Reviewed 1 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The apartment was exactly as described. It has a homely feel and is located in walking distance of the things you want to see when visiting Edinburgh.
The host (Moira) is very friendly, helpful and quick in reply.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Coziness, cleanliness and location.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah R
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Moira's flat for 4 nights in January and I couldn't have been happier. The flat is well located for all the things Edinburgh has on offer, with the castle and royal mile being within a short walk. The flat itself is cosy and well appointed should you wish to cook your own meals. Comfy bed, nice and warm, clean and all at a very reasonable price. Moira herself was very friendly and welcoming which just makes this rental all the more personal and pleasant. Felt very at home here and we were in a great location for getting around to see everything we wanted to. Highly recommend if you're looking to visit Edinburgh as this flat is a little gem.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma J
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great little gem, with a great host!!!”
Reviewed 10 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Moira was great from the start. The apartment is warm and cosy and we felt at home. Our kids made good use of the free wifi too. Everything was clean and tidy, we had everything we needed and we were 10 minutes walk from everywhere we wanted to go. Thankyou Moira.
Emma and Ross

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy and warm
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah K
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful flat!”
Reviewed 16 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely weekend in Moira & Brian's flat. I used to live in Edinburgh and the flat is typical of the traditional tenement blocks, lovely traditional features and high ceilings. Great location and it was much quieter at night than I was expecting. Very peaceful!

The flat is beautifully decorated, every last detail has been so well thought through, and everything you might need is provided. The bed is super comfy and cosy, and even though it was snowing when we arrived the flat warmed up quickly.

We were met by Brian who was very friendly, and there was milk in the fridge which we appreciated. We unfortunately didn't meet Moira this time but she was so helpful and quick to respond to any questions we had!

We'd love to stay again if we come back. Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hilly29su...
addlestone
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Absolute gem !!!!”
Reviewed 15 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in this absolute gem, of an apartment earlier this month . The location is very central, only a 15 minute walk to most the main attractions of this stunning city .There is a supermarket open late for all your grocery needs and many pubs cafes and restaurants only 5 mins away Despite being central the location is very quiet and the fact that he building is an old tenement block makes you feel that you are staying in a bit of the city's history which for us added to our stay .

The apartment itself is simply lovely and we felt so comfortable staying there . It was warm and cosy despite the winter temperatures with a good shower, large comfy bed with quality pillows, always my 3 markers of great accommodation. The kitchen was well stocked with all the equipment you could need and the ornaments , paintings and plants made it really homely.
Brian was very welcoming when he greeted us and Moira was helpful with restaurant recommendations and her footwear tips .
We are already making plans to return next year in the summer .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: thje apartmetns honeliness
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham_74...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic apartment and welcoming hosts”
Reviewed 26 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is extremely clean and comfortable, located within walking distance of all the city's major attractions. Moira and Brian were very welcoming, and provided a wealth of information both prior to our stay and on arrival. We would recommend the apartment to anybody planning a trip to Edinburgh.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie040
Antibes, France
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 12 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

An absolutely gorgeous apartment which is hard to display in an advertisement. Every detail has been carefully thought about and the decor is wonderful - it made me feel that I needed to race out and update our own apartment. Also incredibly cosy and comfortable, heating is super-efficient, great wifi and well organised kitchen. Very clean and in a well located part of town for restaurants and shops, only 10-12 min brisk walk to Priinces St. TA/Holiday Lettings not always easy in terms of communications but Moira was a delight to deal with and made everything easy and relaxed. We look after apartments ourselves so our standards are high - A+ well deserved for the 'boutique' apartment!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The little individual touches and the heating!
Liked least: Draught from window next to loo
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing