We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, friendly and clean guesthouse on a perfect place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balmoral Guesthouse
Ranked #85 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We stay there with my family (2 parents and 2 kids) for 2 nights at this place. very friendly owner who make a very good breakfast in a nice room.
The beds are very good and large also the bathroom.
Nothing to complain and very close the busstation, the owner was well interested to give us usefull information.
A good price for what you get. succes Balmoral and keep on going in the same way as now. greetings from the Netherlands.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kievitjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2013

When we arrived we were simply thankful to get inside and out of the snow. Marc was just going out as we arrived as we'd said we were arriving later, but nevertheless he was very helpful and welcoming. Marianne kindly showed us to our room and told us everything we needed to know and to go and find them should we need anything else. She was also able to recommend range of fish and chip shops in the area stating her favourite, which we agree was lovely (The Tailend on Leith Walk).

Our room on the top (2nd) floor was spacious, clean and very well presented. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided as well as towels, shower gel, soap and a hair-dryer. There was also a sign saying ironing boards could be provided. Unfortunately we couldn't get the Wifi to work on our first evening as the password had recently been changed possibly to do with the wifi extension that has been set up) and the information in the room hadn't yet been updated. However this was swiftly rectified the following morning when we asked about it and the freeview TV kept us occupied when we didn't want to leave the room.

We met Marc again in the morning in the pleasantly decorated breakfast room. (Breakfast served 8:30 - 9:30, or earlier if requested.) He asked us if we would like a cooked breakfast and returned quickly with our order ("a bit of everything please!"). As well as what was a lovely cooked breakfast, a full continental option was laid out on a lovely antique dresser. Both the quality and range of breakfast provided far surpassed the average chain hotel, and set us up perfectly for the day. There was a nice warm fire and music playing from an antique radio.

We found the location highly convenient with town only a short walk away (though taxis and buses are also available). We visited the nearby botanic gardens and national museum of Scotland (both free!). In short, it was a lovely place to stay and we certainly intend to come back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

At the end of a week long trip through Scotland, our two nights at the Balmoral Guesthouse were the icing on the cake. The GH is a beautiful old building with an impressive staircase. Our room was spacious, nice and equiped with all amenities, including wifi. The GH is located in Leith, about halfway between the harbour and Northbridge. The city is within walking distance (~15min), but there are also many busses. Our host was very kind and helpful, serving a lovely breakfast with lots of fruit.

Combine this with a very reasonable prize and you get a definite recommendation for a stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ingoism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We had a really nice stay in Balmoral Guesthouse in July 2012. The owners and their daughter were really nice and helpful, rooms were clean and spacious with nice furniture, breakfast was freshly cooked and served in a beautiful breakfast room. The location was not the best one with the noisy Leith Street pretty close, but there are many nice pubs and restaurants in the area and it's easy to hop on the bus from Leith Street.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Nice folks. Neighborhood is "a real neighborhood," so if you want swank, stay elsewhere. Busses run frequently and are not TOO hard to get the hang of. Friendly pubs nearby. Basic, decent Scottish breakfast. Lovely rooms. Decent WiFi. They leave you alone, but are around if you need anything. Very nice overall. I would say the only drawback is that it is a bus ride or pretty decent walk from downtown. Though that made it nice to get a bit away from the craziness of the Fringe Festival!

Room Tip: Top floor (though it's rather a hike up all those stairs) at the back gets you lots of light and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraRoze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This was the third time we spent some time in Edinburgh and it was the best B&B we could have chosen! The daughter of the house was our host and she did it great! Very helpful and an excellent cook! The room was clean, comfortable and spacious with beautiful funiture.
We have already stayed in many B&Bs in the UK, France, Portugal, Spain, Greece and Belgium
so we can compare ... We can really recommend this guest house! Thank you once again, Josée for your warm hospitality!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I stayed at Balmoral guesthouse two years ago and was pleased to find it was as nice as I had remembered. Our room (top floor, front) was spacious, with a beautiful, large en-suite bathroom. I love the location - away from the busy-ness of the old town and Princes Street. I enjoyed the walk up and down Leith Street/Walk every time, with its restaurants and shops. Marc was very helpful, and the breakfasts were delicious, with a variety of fruits, cereal, yogurts as well as all elements of a full Scottish breakfast available.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLfromSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,918 reviews
New Town
Castle View Guest House
Castle View Guest House
#70 of 394 in Edinburgh
437 reviews
Dene Guest House
#23 of 394 in Edinburgh
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Balmore House
Balmore House
#344 of 394 in Edinburgh
378 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,598 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Guesthouse

Address: 32 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £70 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely family run guesthouse (a listed townhouse built in 1856) is centrally situated in a very pleasant residential street and is a great base to explore the city's many attractions. Within minutes you can walk to many restaurants and local amenities. Princes St, the Old Town and the Royal Yacht Britannia are between 15-30 mns walk away or a short bus ride from Pilrig St. Free on street parking is available for drivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Balmoral Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Guesthouse Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing