We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
94
33
7
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
33
7
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paul and yvonne breakfasts were great botanic gardens wifi connection lovely hosts top floor private bathroom scottish breakfast comfortable bed arthur's seat guest house bus
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

This is one of the best B&B I have ever been. My room was N°4 and It is nicely decorated. The attention was outstanding, the hosts were kind all the time and breakfast was delicious. Definetly I suggest this B&B in Edinburgh. Close to the centre and attraction sites.
Hope to see you in the future! ( The couple in the picture ... excellent hosts!)

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank Mauricio714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcPimbert, Owner at Balmoral Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Hi Mauricio, thank you for your review – we posted a thanks before but it seems to have disappeared! We are delighted you had such a lovely stay and look forward to welcoming you back one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

I've just returned from a short trip to Edinburgh with my family we stayed at the Balmoral guest house.
We actually spent little time at the guest house because Edinburgh is such an amazing city that demands to be explored.
With that being said my family very much enjoyed the rooms and breakfast.
So yes we would return to Balmoral guest house if the opportunity arose.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcPimbert, Owner at Balmoral Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Hi William, thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Just back from a 3 night stay in this lovely guest house. Managers Yvonne & Paul made us feel very welcome. Rooms were very clean and lots of information provided including bus routes and numbers. It is about a 1 mile walk from bus train station but well linked with bus route. Breakfast in morning was superb and nothing was a bother.
Would definitely stay here again
Doreen & Davy

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Doreen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcPimbert, Owner at Balmoral Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Balmoral and that Yvonne and Paul looked after you so well – they really are excellent hosts. Thank you, again. Marianne and Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

We've just enjoyed 4 nights B&B at the Balmoral, visiting the Edinburgh Fringe and the area. Paul and Yvonne are managing the guesthouse and were very welcoming and efficient. The house is beautifully decorated with comfortable beds and great bathrooms. The breakfasts were delicious. I would definitely recommend to others and would be happy to come again. Easy bus ride to the city. Also recommend a climb up Arthur's Seat, the Botanic Gardens, and a trip to Cramond (and its island - if the tides are right) on the 41 bus. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JudeG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcPimbert, Owner at Balmoral Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

A very big thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and felt so comfortable. Yvonne and Paul are indeed very welcoming and we are so glad you they looked after you so well and you enjoyed Yvonne's delicious breakfasts. All good wishes, Marianne and Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Conveniently located in a quiet street, but not far from city centre and plenty of transport. The room was spacious, beds very comfortable. The couple who stood in for the owners who were on holiday, Paul and Yvonne, were lovely and friendly. They did an excellent job. The breakfasts were cooked to perfection and everything was neat and clean. We had to go up one flight of stairs, but Paul was kind enough to help with my friend's very heavy suitcase. The price is very convenient too, so I would certainly recommend it. We stayed for 4 days and had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: There is no problem with noise, so rooms that lead to the street have a good view through the bay windows
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bettyms2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcPimbert, Owner at Balmoral Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Balmoral Guest House and that Yvonne and Paul looked after you so well. We look forward to welcoming you back one day. All good wishes. Marianne and Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews