We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant all round!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
53 Frederick Street
Ranked #20 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant all round!!”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Fantastic B & B - absolutely spotless, Tessa & David always welcoming and very friendly, brilliant location and great breakfast served next door. What more could you want?! We are booked in again in August for the festival. That will be three years running. I don't think you could get a better recommendation than that!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Freds0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DT_Edin, Manager at 53 Frederick Street, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you ladies look forward to having here in August
Tessa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    137
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
114
164
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Estepona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We have stayed in Frederick 53 several times my family and my daughter with her friends , location is perfect and Tessa, David and all the staff are always very helpfull and willing to help with what ever you need , rooms are always impecably clean and comfortable and you could not wish for a better location.
Breakfast served in the restaurant next door is pretty good and service is also good.

We have already booked for a 5 night stay in June.

Nuria and Roland Gillis

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roland G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DT_Edin, Manager at 53 Frederick Street, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words about our home we look forward to having you back soon
Tessa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orkney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I have stayed at 53 Frederick Street a number of times over the past few years and always enjoy my visits - it's comfortable, clean, and the rooms are nicely furnished and well-equipped. The location is perfect. Best of all is that the staff are so friendly and helpful. Recently I stayed there over the Christmas holiday, while visiting family in Edinburgh. On Christmas Day and Boxing Day, when Rick's (where breakfast is usually served) was closed, David and Tessa provided a splendid breakfast of juices, cold meats, cheese, pastries, etc. (and Buck's Fizz on Christmas Day) in the sitting room, which was very festive with a Christmas tree and decorations. The number of stairs might be a problem for elderly people, but help is available to carry suitcases.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank hazeltreeOrkney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland,England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My family and I stayed here the first weekend in December as a pre Christmas treat. I chose the accommodation as it was one of very few places that provided a four bedded room that we could all stay in, plus it was a perfect location only a couple of minutes walk to Princes Street.
After a very warm welcome we were shown to our lovely large room at the rear of the building( noise was minimal) very spacious,clean and well equipped(DVD player,large tv,tea / coffee making facilities,iron,hairdryer) two proper single beds and a huge king size with..best of all..a memory foam mattress,a massive bonus for me as I suffer with back problems. The rooms are located up 3 flights of stairs and there are no lifts which could be a drawback for some.
Breakfast was taken in Ricks next door which unfortunately, for me,was disappointing.Whilst the full Scottish breakfast was lacking,the poached eggs were overcooked and rubbery...our only disappointment though. Would definitely stay at 53 Frederick Street again.

Room Tip: Our family room was located at the back of the building but Thistle street ran alongside us,but stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billi2i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My 20 yr old daughter and I stayed here for 4 nights over the Christmas holiday. We loved it. Do be aware that it is old - but that's is a huge part of the charm! Yes, the carpet is worn, yes there are marks on the wall, yes, the lampshade my be tippy, but the beds and linens are very clean and very comfortable. We had an en suite in our 2 twin beds room. A bit mildew smelly in the bathroom from the drains I believe but nothing that was intolerable. The bathroom (including the shower stall) was otherwise extremely clean. Our room was enormous, with very high ceilings, and 2 huge windows facing the street. There was some street noise at night, cars passing on the cobblestone road, people passing by could be heard if boisterous. But not intolerable at all and when you're in the city in an old building that's what you're going to get. There's a lounge with DVDs and books to borrow. We didn't spend much time in there. We did have a light breakfast in there on Christmas morning, David and Tessa provided it since Rick's next door was closed. They had a Christmas tree up, so it felt very nice and welcoming given we were away from home on Christmas Day.

The location is IDEAL and central to The castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Park and Arthur's seat; with plenty of shopping and restaurants all around. And the train station is very close too - 10 min walk perhaps.

We simply loved it here and would stay again. I believe the key is that we knew what to expect. We had read the reviews and knew going in that there would be 50+ stairs to walk up (no lift), we knew it would be old (it might be in the new town section of Edinburgh but new here is 1700's!)

As for the odd check-in times, when I booked the reservation I didn't notice this. Tessa emailed shortly after booking to inquire as to what time we would like to check in. Our flight came in right between these times but Tessa was extremely accommodating and offered to meet us quickly to check us in. No problem, simple communication took care of our needs and we were very appreciative - thank you again Tessa!

One last thought - we felt quite safe and secure the entire time, as mom and daughter traveling together we never once felt unsafe in the building or in the city of Edinburgh. A wonderful, wonderful experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I recently stayed at 53 Frederick Street on a night out with some friends. I was given a beautiful room with a fantastic huge shower room. Both Tessa and David were extremely helpful and friendly. With the castle, George street and princes street on your doorstop - I can't recommend more.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BWestie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartlepool
Level Contributor
179 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

we stayed at 53 frederick street in December, two nights so as to enjoy the Christmas markets etc.
the hotel itself was ideally situated and at a very reasonable price.
it only has one draw back and thats the stairs.
not recommended for elderly people with rickety knees.
our host was very obliging and breakfast in Rick's next door was very, very good.
i think we may be giving it another go in the springtime.
rooms comfortable and clean and quite spacious.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickybeggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#84 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#39 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
New Town
CODE POD Hostel
CODE POD Hostel
#2 of 203 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 53 Frederick Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 53 Frederick Street

Property: 53 Frederick Street
Address: 53 Frederick Street, Edinburgh EH2 1LH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 53 Frederick Street 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No. 53 Frederick Street, bed and breakfast in Edinburgh is perfectly situated in the very heart of the city centre, providing a magnificent yet unique spacious central home to explore Edinburgh, separated from Edinburgh Castle only by the Gardens! The Edinburgh B&B accommodation is an original Georgian townhouse situated on the second and third floors, that dates from circa 1820, and many of the original features have been carefully retained. This is an elegant and extremely spacious guest house, typified in a welcoming open hall with feature bow wall and staircase to upper floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your 53 Frederick Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
53 Frederick Street Hotel Edinburgh
53 Frederick Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing