We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in the heart of the city - unbelievable value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
53 Frederick Street
Ranked #21 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great B&B in the heart of the city - unbelievable value!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The service from start to finish was impeccable.

I booked this B&B pretty last minute as I had problems with the hotel I had booked. Tessa made the booking simple and emails/phonecalls were informal and friendly.

The B&B wasn't far from the bus station and a 2 minutes walk from Rose Street.

The room was spotless, everything looked fresh and the bathroom was lovely and new.

Tessa was very friendly and helpful too.

The breakfast at Rick's (next door) in the morning, was brilliant. Great choice and brilliant service.

All in all a fantastic stay with great service.

The only thing I would say is there was quite a draft coming in the windows and my sister (whose bed was at the window as the sofa had been removed and a bed put in to make room for the 4 of us) was quite cold during the night. It was a bit nippy but to be fair there were extra covers and we never said anything therefore not giving them a chance to turn heating up etc.

The shower water also went a bit cold after two showers - again we said nothing so we can't complain.

These were minor and didn't take away the enjoyment of the stay.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    137
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
114
165
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

had a fabulous weekend here in February 2014, ok so the stairs are a bit of a workout but not too much of a problem. fantastic position in the city. less than fantastic breakfast at Ricks (new chef) but all in all very pleasant stay. room comfortable even padding across the landing to the bathroom wasn't too much of a chore

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I have stayed in this hotel several times now and am booked to go several more as I am often in Edinburgh. I used to vary the hotels that I stayed in but now that I've found this one I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

For those that now Edinburgh it is just 10 seconds away from George Street and 2 minutes from Princes Street. For those that don't then it is brilliantly placed within the New Town and everything you could want is right on your doorstep.

The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. The breakfast is served downstairs in a separate restaurant and is of a high standard. David and Tessa who run the place are extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating.

For the price I don't believe there is anything as good value with comparable quality in this area of Edinburgh - and I've stayed in lots of them.

A stay here won't be regretted!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHDBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield Notts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Our friends had booked a triple room here so my friend and I decided to book here too. They had a room at the back of the hotel ours was on the front (no5 I think). Well I know it was just before Christmas but I didn't expect it to be so noisy! Both nights of our stay people were outside partying till 4am!! I hardly had any sleep at all and it spoilt my stay. The rooms were fine with nice comfortable beds and a shower room and ideal for a weekend break.
We will be visiting Edinburgh again in December for Christmas shopping but we wont be staying here. Its a shame really because this hotel is very central to everything and is reasonably priced. If your a deep sleeper go for it if your not like me book somewhere else.

Room Tip: Try to get one at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harleygirl247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

For valentines weekend me and my boyfriend josh norrie spent it in edinburgh and we stayed in 53 fredrick street. It is a brilliant hotel, very spotless, big spacious rooms nothing to complain about. Tessa is absolutely lovely very helpful and nice to approach if needing help. Right in the city centre so it is brilliant. Ricks bar is very lovely and such yummy breakfast. It was a great hotel to spend out valentines in. We will be returning very soon.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank robyn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambleside
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Earlier this month, accompanied by a friend from Australia we were touring the country and looked forward to our visit to Edinburgh where we were meeting our friend's relatives. This booking was made by our friend on-line which is why I missed the description of the location on 2nd and 3rd floors and no lift. However this wasn't the main issue. When we arrived and pulled up outside I stayed in the car as there was nowhere to park legally whilst my husband and friend went to check in. After some time( they had difficulty finding anyone) they told me that after mentioning that I had hip problems the room had been changed to the second, rather than the third floor and that the room was nice and spacious. They were advised that the car park was half a mile away but free parking outside overnight from 6.30 to 8,.30. This was impractical so decided to leave the car in the car park which was inconvenient at best. We went straight off to explore and have lunch. On our return to change for dinner with our friends, I was dismayed by the long flights of stone steps up a grim grey stairwell which felt more like a prison entrance than a B&B. However the main problem was that the room and bathroom in particular was so dark. The light fitting above the mirror in the bathroom was missing and a ceiling light out. There was one dim light bulb in the bedroom. No dressing table mirror where there was a table lamp. The only place I found to dry my hair was standing on one side of the room using a mirror leaning against the wall on the other. The shower door handle was missing and the screen out of its grooves. The bed valance was half way down the base and pooled at the bottom of the bed. However we had a good night's sleep on a very comfortable bed despite the noise from fans outside the window. Next morning after struggling to see to put my contact lenses in we headed off to breakfast down the interminable stone steps, outside in the rain, down the street. down more steps into a basement restaurant. Breakfast there was however excellent as was the service. It was on departure that things really started to go wrong. When we went to pay I mentioned the poor lighting to the young woman, who after reading other reviews, must be Tessa. Her instant response was "Why didn't you say something earlier, I can't do anything about it now, can I?" I was so taken aback I was speechless. Unfortunately she seemed to take my silence as some sort of victory and continued to repeat herself over and over that it was actually my fault! Eventually I said I didn't wish to discuss it any further,just wanted to make her aware that the lighting was inadequate and left the office. I heard my husband mention the single dim ceiling light bulb. Her response to that was "it's an energy saving light bulb" !!?? Oh so that's ok then!! Her parting shot was "Maybe I should have left you in the original room then" At which point I was so angry I left the building.
In all my years in the service industry, 20 in four star hotel management and 6 running our own guest house, I have never ever come across such defiant arrogance when dealing with a customer's legitimate criticism. Hospitality?Zero!

Room Tip: Don't go if you have any mobility issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmblesideMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DT_Edin, Owner at 53 Frederick Street, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review.
However you have given a very one sided point of view, while I am happy to take constructive criticism I disagree with many of your versions of our conversation.
As you say your friend booked the accommodation- we state that we are on the second and third floors with no lift and that as we are a city centre guest house we are unable to offer parking.
When I was informed of your hip problem I was happy to change the room and beds to better suit your requirements.
This is a family business and my brother and I live on site and if you had contacted us we would have changed the bulbs immediately, but as you only mentioned this as you checked out all I could do was apologise.
I did say that perhaps it would have been better if I had left you in the original room booked as it has many more spot lights.
You husband and friend seemed to have enjoyed their stay and I find it sad that you felt it necessary to write such a long winded negative review for one over night stay and two light bulbs.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stromness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I have stayed twice at No 53 Frederick Street and both times have found it cosy, friendly and very accommodating. It can be a bit noisy in the front bedroom but that's to be expected in the middle of the city at the weekend. The second time I stayed with two friends in a large bedroom at the back and our only issue was with the next door building's 24 hour heating system!
It's a great arrangement where you go to Rick's next door for breakfast and the dinners there are brilliant too.
By the end of a weekend you're fitter than when you arrived because of the 40 plus stairs - that might be the only disadvatage for some people. I've had very good rates at the times I've stayed but unfortunately couldn't afford the usual mid and high season rates so will have to wait till autumn or winter to go back!
The owners are great and very helpful and I look forward to seeing them again.

Room Tip: Possibly rooms at the back would be best if you're there for the weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank apc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#78 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#39 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
New Town
CODE POD Hostel
CODE POD Hostel
#2 of 202 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 53 Frederick Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 53 Frederick Street

Property: 53 Frederick Street
Address: 53 Frederick Street, Edinburgh EH2 1LH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 53 Frederick Street 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No. 53 Frederick Street, bed and breakfast in Edinburgh is perfectly situated in the very heart of the city centre, providing a magnificent yet unique spacious central home to explore Edinburgh, separated from Edinburgh Castle only by the Gardens! The Edinburgh B&B accommodation is an original Georgian townhouse situated on the second and third floors, that dates from circa 1820, and many of the original features have been carefully retained. This is an elegant and extremely spacious guest house, typified in a welcoming open hall with feature bow wall and staircase to upper floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your 53 Frederick Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
53 Frederick Street Hotel Edinburgh
53 Frederick Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing