We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveller rating
326
161
38
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
161
38
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flights of stairs great location breakfast is served memory foam no lift private bathroom triple room bed and breakfast helpful hosts street level b and b two single beds the heart of the city family room a great place to stay tea and coffee top floor
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 542 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of 6 women and couldn't find any fault with it!! Perfect location, walking distance to everywhere, spacious rooms and spotlessly clean. The owners were lovely and very helpful... Stayed room only so can't comment on the breakfast but loads of great places to eat on your doorstep... would highly recommend this. Good few stairs up but that's explained on their website

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Derdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DT_Edin, Owner at 53 Frederick Street, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to write a review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, our rooms and central location.

We hope to see you again if you are back in Edinburgh!

Kind regards

Katy & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights, room was spacious and very clean. Room well equipped (iron, hairdryer, fan, tea & coffee facilities, toiletries etc). It was also cleaned every day. The hosts were great, welcoming and friendly. As mentioned in other reviews there are stairs, but Edinburgh has a lot of stairs within the town so wouldn't suggest you visit if you don't like stairs. The location is the most important thing for us when choosing anywhere to stay and the location of this place was perfect, walking distance to everything. There were two busy bars next door but so quiet from the street, we were not disturbed by any noise. Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah-Jayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DT_Edin, Owner at 53 Frederick Street, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Hello, thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write a review. We greatly appreciate all feedback and it really makes our day to read such positive comments.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, our rooms and central location!

We hope to see you again if you are back in Edinburgh!

Katy & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

The room was really great, quiet at night, lots of room, older charming. Comfortable bed. Great location , love New Town.
BUT the B&B did have a few problems for me, all of which WERE addressed in their web page: LOTS OF stairs, in a dark slightly spooky stairway. Breakfast was about 1/2 a block away and not very good.
I have always enjoyed B&Bs , but this did not feel like one. Not interaction at a meal w the owners or other guests. I missed that. Perhaps a tea time or wine and cheese would help.

Room tip: Make sure you can do stairs!!
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DT_Edin, Owner at 53 Frederick Street, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write your review.

We appreciate all feedback and are delighted to hear your enjoyed our rooms and location.

We are sorry to read we missed the mark with a couple of things. Our breakfast were served three doors along from us, but are now in the restaurant downstairs from us. We are sorry you did not feel there was enough interaction between ourselves and our guests, we live here and so are here most of the time if guests need help or would like to chat. We a have a guest lounge for socialising, however we do find with our city centre location most of our guests are out for the majority of the day.

We do hope to see you again if you return to Edinburgh!

Katy & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

We've just had a 2 week trip around the beautiful country of Scotland and stayed in many hotels and bed and breakfast accommodations, and this one was by far the worst we've ever stayed in. First up the advert for this place stated free parking when we booked in Jan 17, (the owners have changed that claim since then) but had to park in a NCP car park half a mile away which cost £20 a day! So be aware of that fact when you think of booking a so-called 'cheaper place'. The 3 flights of stairs up to the room are dark and cramped, which is difficult with luggage and if you're in the upper floor that's another flight to navigate. Not really for the disabled is it? Hmmm it's actually discrimination when you think of it. The room itself was clean, but cramped, and the king sized mattress had two divots which were very uncomfortable to sleep in, and afterwards my wife complained of shoulder pain because of it. There is a couple of bars below this accommodation and the loudness of the patrons kept us awake until the early hours.
Now we come to the private bathroom... which is across the landing. There is mold on the shower curtain, the water from the shower itself sprays all over the floor and there was also two pubic hairs still on the shower wall. Like I said, a pretty terrible experience overall, plus when I did complain about the parking, the manager (who we only saw as we were checking out) said 'you should take it up with the council'. Really quite rude.
Please find somewhere a little more expensive, but has much better facilities like Premier Inn or Holiday Inn.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Howard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DT_Edin, Owner at 53 Frederick Street, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry that you felt like you had a one-star experience with us. We did everything we could to try and make your stay a good experience. Our guesthouse is on the second floor of an historic building which is made clear on our website and in all advertising. We are not discriminating against anyone, we simply have little scope to do any major modification to our 200-year-old listed building. We believe it's a small price to pay for an authentic New Town experience.

In terms of the parking issue, in our 15 years of business we have never stated that there is free parking available. You had enquired about parking when you booked and I personally responded by email at 9.20am on 26 January to inform you that since you were going to be here over a weekend there was free on-street parking just a couple of street down into the New Town. When you complained about the price you had to pay in an NCP car park I politely informed you that accurate information about the availability of free parking had been provided to you in an email.

The room you had booked is clearly described as having a private separate bathroom, hence it is our least expensive room. In the bathroom there is a clean glass shower screen, not a curtain, so I'm not sure how you saw any mould on a shower curtain.

I'm sure a Premier Inn or Holiday Inn will give you an elevator to your room but I'm not sure they can provide an authentic, personal, New Town experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed in room 2 at 53 Fredrick street the past couple of days. What a great location. The property is exactly as described. The location is close to Waverly station (a doable walk for most or cheap cab) overall very close to most attractions. The room was very nice, it was clean and the ensuite bathroom looked to be fairly new.
The bed was not very comfortable it was too soft for me however when I mentioned it to David the next day he quickly offered to switch the mattress and the next night was much better. I would recommend this B and B.

Date of stay: September 2017
Thank 411kathleenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews