We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Last Minute Booking”
other travellers have booked this property
Drawing room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Drawing room
Luxury kitchen fitted Feb 2018 State of the art concealed extractor unit (in use)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Drawing room
Luxury kitchen fitted Feb 2018
State of the art concealed extractor unit (in use)
State of the art concealed extractor unit
Drawing room:panoramic view.
Extra bed here shown set up in drawing room
Writing area in Drawing room
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1. V and A bedspread
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2:seating area
Bedroom 3:night
Bathroom with shower over bath
Shower room
The imposing facade of Pillars House.
Private car park - there are two parking spaces for guests.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Isabel T
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Last Minute Booking”
Reviewed 27 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

I booked this flat for a family reunion just before Christmas, David made us very welcome and was helpful in giving us extra sets of keys and letting us extend our check out time. The flat lived up to all of our expectations but the best bits were a huge beautiful lounge where we had out party and a big family kitchen. It was also great having an extra shower room so that there were no queues in the morning! the flat was very clean and warm (essential in Edinburgh in December!). I would thoroughly recommend this flat for families and parties.
PS Try Rock Salt Cafe (3 mins walk away) for a brilliant brunch.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AT1011
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old, Dilapidated and not for extended families”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

While the apartment was large and well lit .. there were multiple issues. Its run down and dirty...
the shower in the master bathroom had no water flow... water trickles down!!
the second bathroom is incredibly small and the toilet seat was broken
utensils were dirty
the wooden floors were sticky and the kitchen was sticky with broken cabinets

probably good for backpackers... not ideal for a family at all

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the space
Liked least: dirty and no water in the bathroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2015
Not sure what flat this review is referring to! There is no shower in the master bedroom!!! There was no broken toilet seat...it is the opposite of run down!! Have a look at the pictures and the other reviews!!
Best wishes,
David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma1609
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great find”
Reviewed 16 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I stayed here for my hen night and we all loved the flat - so much better than getting a hotel, and very well stocked. David had left milk in the fridge which was a really nice touch, although I got told off for drinking a cup of tea on my hen weekend haha. I love Leith as well and it's so handy for getting into town. Altogether a huge success.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine D
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Great property in a great location. Large, bright property which was clean and comfortable. David, the owner, kept in touch from the point of booking and met us at the property at the time we agreed. He showed us how to work the appliances and was happy to recommend places to go and things to do around Edinburgh. This is a great apartment for a weekend away with friends and the parking was a great bonus for us too. Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patsy6
Fife, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect location, very well equipped and excellent value for money!”
Reviewed 23 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Myself and 7 friends stayed here overnight during our girls' weekend in Edinburgh.
It was was perfect!
Location is great - a short taxi ride into George street or a 2 minute stroll down to the waterfront in leith.
Don't be put off by the dull stair well - the flat is lovely. It's clean, spacious, bright and really well equipped.
David (the lovely owner) met us at the flat on arrival and was extremely friendly and welcoming.
Excellent value for money.
Would definitely stay here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H
Chelsea, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We parked the car in the back lot and did not need it again the entire week we stayed. The location is perfect for catching the bus into the city. We walked to a few of the local pubs and were very pleased with the safety of the area. The apartment was delightful to our adult twenty-something children. The high ceilings and large windows as well as the overall atmosphere gave it a very "urban" setting that they liked very much. Using the bus was relatively easy and I would recommend buying a daily bus pass that allows you unlimited transfers. Having a smart phone to chart your routes is great and the website is very helpful in finding which bus to catch where. We were comfortable in the space. The apartment is as advertised in the photos and descriptions. I do wish there was a dryer accompanying the washer, however. Hanging clothes to dry when you have a limited wardrobe for travelling was a bit of a challenge for us, but not one we couldn't overcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No dryer
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie498
Buckie
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a great stay in this lovely flat. There were 7 adults and I was a bit worried about inflatable bed as I would have preferred 4 bedrooms but to be honest the inflatable bed was very comfortable.
The only comment we had was from my mum who was in single bedroom and unfortunately the window beside her bed had no blind. We had to take other blind down while she was getting ready as someone was sitting on their window ledge directly across from flat.
We had to move bed across the room before she went to bed so that she could have some privacy. Other than that we could not fault the flat and would certainly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space
Liked least: Lack of blinds
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing