We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at the Dungeon”

The Edinburgh Dungeon
Book In Advance
More Info
US$20.39*
and up
The Edinburgh Dungeon Priority Entrance Ticket
Ranked #27 of 395 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Edinburgh Dungeon is a unique visitor attraction that brings together an amazing cast of theatrical actors, special effects, stages, scenes and rides in a truly unique and exciting walkthrough experience that you see, hear, touch, smell and feel. It's hilarious fun and sometimes a bit scary. Your 80 minute journey will take you through 1000 years of Scotland's dark history. Guided by a full cast of actors, you and your companions walk through The Dungeon, moving from show to show. Shows are based on real Scottish history, minus the boring bits! WINNER OF SCOTLAND'S BEST VISITOR ATTRACTION 2014 AT THE SCOTTISH ENTERTAINMENT AWARDS
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great time at the Dungeon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Having never visited any of the Dunges before i was slightly skeptical as to what to expect. But i was certinaly not disapointed. The actors are great, really knowledgable and passionate about the history and the characters they portray. It is a really well thought out tour and a really enjoyable way to so spend and hour or two from your day. We are now planing to visit a few more 'dungeons' around the country and hope they are all as good as this one.
Just a quick note for anyone travelling there by train, there is currently a 2 for 1 admission to the Edinburgh dungeon offer on the National Rail website. Just download the voucher and show your rail tickets. It helped us save a few ££ to spend on the rest of out trip so hopefully can help somone else out.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Missglobetrotter860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hello and thanks for reviewing the Dungeon. It's always nice to hear we've converted a sceptic!
We do pack a lot in so it's great that we surpassed your expectations.
We'll pass your review on to the performance team; these theatrical types like some feedback and there's not pausing for applause on our tour!
We can't promise that our colleagues at the other Dungeons will be *as* good as us, but they're certainly good! (nothing like a spot of healthy rivalry) There are 5 in the UK and 9 in total.
Many thanks for your great recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,989 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,291
    1,073
    380
    128
    117
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

This was amazing brilliant and cant wait to visit again! Was better than the Blackpool Dungeon was not disappointed. The actors, the tour and the ride. At the end...excellent value!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amar U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hello and thanks for reviewing the Dungeon.

Amazing AND Brilliant, what a compliment! You don't fancy standing at our door and telling everyone that do you?
We'll try not to gloat to our colleagues in Blackpool (we totally will).
We do try to cram a lot in to your time with us so we're glad it's great value.

Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One more Dungeon to go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

So far I have been to York London and now Edinburgh Dungeons and I just can't get enough of them, especially for the value for money! The experience and thrill you receive while going through this educationally terrifying attraction is amazing!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashleigh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Hello and thanks for reviewing us. You're pretty much a Dungeon Regular! Although...we hate to have to tell you that there are actually nine Dungeons in total and 5 in the UK...so you have a few more to go to complete the set (Blackpool, Warwick Castle, Berlin, Hamburg, Amsterdam and San Francisco are the rest). We're really chuffed to hear you think we offer great value for money and even sneak in some education. It's stealthily disguised but it's there!
Many thanks, and good luck on your quest to visit all of the Dungeons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harthill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“For fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

You have to be willing to throw yourself into the spirit of the experience as you may be targeted as someone worth poking fun at. I visited with two American friends you thought it was great fun. Besides being interesting and giving you a view of the more unpleasant side of life in the past it gives you a few scary surprises.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hello and thanks for reviewing the Dungeon. We do love a bit of interaction! All involvement is meant in great fun though, and we do enjoy a laugh. It's great to hear that you found the tour interesting; we do sneak in some historical education under the radar.
Many thanks, and we hope to see you back again should your American friends return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great day.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

The wife and I visited Edinburgh Dungeon after reading the reviews here on Tripadvisor. We weren't disappointed. The shows were great. Great characters. Great entertainment. Would highly recommend a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank donkeykonkey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Hello and thanks for reviewing us here at the Dungeon. We're really pleased that we lived up to the great reviews people have been kind enough to give us. Many thanks for adding your recommendation and singing our praises - it really is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Edinburgh Dungeon also viewed

 

Been to The Edinburgh Dungeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing