We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southside Guest House
Ranked #55 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
glasgow
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A gem of a place”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Spent one night here during the Festival. I found it by accident and am so glad I did as this is one of the best B & Bs I have ever stayed in. We could not have been made more welcome. The room and bed were super comfortable and breakfast was wonderful. My only regret is that I did not have a glass of Buck's Fizz when it was offered! I would thoroughly recommend Southside and certainly will book it again when I return to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowMac47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    29
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
150
30
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I have stayed at Southside three times now. The hosts are conscientious and welcoming. The rooms and beds are comfortable and stylishly decorated. The breakfast is delicious. A quick, regular and direct bus service connects Southside to Princes St. There are some rather good places to eat nearby. Then again, Southside located within a reasonable distance for a relaxing walk back from the Old Town. The worst thing? - I can't always get a booking as it's so popular!

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Elise5-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Stayed here for one night this month while on business. Comfortable, well appointed room with nice view over back garden. Relaxed, classical feel to the house, spotlessly clean. Unfortunately had to leave before the breakfast started, to catch a train but Franco offered fruit and coffee before I left. A little pricey than many guest houses, but this IS Edinburgh after all. Well appointed shower room. Good wifi. No hesitation in recommending, nice friendly service. Would definitely use again.No parking though so if you have a car, ask Franco before hand about parking arrangements.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotty010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

If I hadn't put down a deposit, I probably would have changed my reservations to a different B&B before I ever arrived at Southside. The owners insistence to get a defined arrival time days in advance seemed unreasonable. None of the other B&Bs I stayed in had this constraint, nor sent numerous emails in the days preceding my arranged arrival date. It wasn't until I called them the day before I was scheduled to arrive that I found out why. The owners have a very narrow time window for reception. Also, since there was no parking available, I would need to get some information in order to unload any luggage and find a place to park for the first night. I dreaded what I would find the following evening.
The good news is that things were not as bad as I anticipated. The guest house was old but nice. It is conveniently located on a busy street containing many dining choices and small stores. Franco was much more friendly and helpful in person than he seemed over the phone and email. In the morning he gave me a few options for daily parking and early departure at the end of my stay.
The building has an old but rather classy feel. Once again, as an older building, the sub-floor was uneven, loose, and spongy feeling in some spots (not unusual). The room at the back of the top floor was comfortable. The low slanted roof/ceiling may cause some people problems, but sitting in the window alcove made me wonder if some aspiring playwright may have used the same alcove 150 years ago. The large ensuite bathroom with a deep soaking tub was a refreshing change from the standard mid-sized showers common to many B&Bs. The only unfortunate aspect of the room (room #5) was the utility room which is accessed through the bathroom. There was a very loud compressor that ran off and on throughout the mornings/evenings. The compressor must be used to set the water pressure, as there was a direct correlation between the compressor running and the variable water pressure and water temp in the shower. Closing the door between the bathroom and the main bedroom muffled the sound, but it would still loud enough to interfere with sleeping if it ran at night. Fortunately, it did not appear to run between 21:30 and 6:30. I do not know if this was due to a timer on the compressor or due to a lack of hot water usage by myself and the other guests during the overnight hours.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Southside Guest House, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
With respect, Sir , we suggest that the “hassle” you refer to was self-induced, by ignoring our numerous requests to get in touch.

Thank you however for taking the time to submit a review and we are sorry we did not live up to your expectations, we are pleased that some aspects of your stay were to your satisfaction.

We would like to make a few factual clarifications and comments:

Arrival Time / We do not believe that for a husband and wife run operation it is unreasonable or uncommon to request an arrival time in advance. This does not need to be precise but the greatest majority of guests are able to provide an estimated time within a couple of hours window. It is however discourteous and inconsiderate for a guest to ignore this request when it was noted in the original confirmation. We appreciate that sometime emails go astray or guests simply forget, hence the reason for sending polite and respectful reminders. And of course sometime guests do not know until nearer the time. It does concern us however when no reply is received and communications are totally ignored. We do not have a 24 hours desk and as we personally run the house seven days a week, it is not feasible or possible to be always be at home. If guests are unable to provide an arrival time or arrival is predicted to be after standard check-in time (up to 19.00) or we are out in the afternoon (Saturdays and Sundays) we put in place self-check arrangements with keys in a secure key-safe at the entrance of the house and full information provided. These arrangements have worked very well for the past eight years and the greatest majority of guests appreciate that this is in the nature of a guest house/b&b. Clearly it will not suit everyone and clearly there are hotels out there that provide alternatives.

Parking/ We actually do have limited off site parking and additional limited on site parking at week-ends. We are always however able to provide other parking options when our spaces have been pre-reserved. Again by communicating this requirement with us in advance we would have been able to reserve and provide one of our own parking spaces.

Water Pump

As the house was built in 1867 (when one bathroom served the whole household of 5 owners and 3 servants!) the plumbing has gone through major changes to provide en-suite facilities in all bedrooms. One of these changes is a water circulation pump which assists the water pressure and flow, although the pump is located in a cupboard and is it is fully insulated it does make some noise (which can be heard in one bedroom) but is it is indeed timed to switch off completely during the night.

Yours sincerely

Franco and Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This was our first visit to Scotland and Southside made it special. Excellent location and we could walk to Old Town (about 20 minute walk). Our room facing the back courtyard was very romantic and cozy. Breakfast was first class. Franco was an excellent host and provided us with some good information. It was fun watching all the colorful double decker buses outside the breakfast room. It was amazingly quiet even though it is right downtown.

Room Tip: Request lower floor (no stairs).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay, very tasteful, nice rooms, close to city center, good access to buses, various choice of breakfast, gentle and helpful host, price a little to high and doesn't have a good cancellation policy. Booked on booking.com because of better prices and process as on their own website.
We would recommend it!

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank iCheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed one night at Southside (based on recommendations from a neighbour at home) whilst visiting relatives in Edinburgh. Our first impressions were poor - we had had a stressful drive to and through Edinburgh (with an out of date Sat Nav and Edinburgh's imfamous tram-works) and then found there was np parking - Southside is on a busy road with bus lanes on both sides, so difficult to stop to unload luggage). We did manage to park on a meter just round the corner.

Once we wee finally in and relaxing a bit, we could tell that this was very upmarket. Our room was very quiet and overlooked a lovely rear garden, was superbly designed/decorated and finished, and had every conceivable item you could want - beautiful towels, a full range of complimentary toiletries, a good shower, and two smallish but comfortable singles. There was a TV, hairdryer, tea & coffee, and bottled water.

We had to go out again that evening by car, and couldn't park back in the meter bay, so we made use of a reserved parking bay about 2 mins drive/5 mins walk away. I have rated Location as VG because of ease of access to local shops, restaurants and attractions - if you are exploring on foot/bus/taxi, the car parking restrictions would not apply. If you are visiting by car, make sure you confirm that they have reserved their parking slot for you.

The breakfast was the best we have ever had. It was all freshly prepared, the ingredients were top-class, and it was served with aplomb. Free Bucks Fizz was on offer. We would certainly use this guest house again if visiting Edinburgh, especially as we now know what to do about parking

Room Tip: Just ask what's available! - the owners Lynne and Franco are very friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caramel_Catz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
The Salisbury Hotel
The Salisbury Hotel
#88 of 148 in Edinburgh
819 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sherwood Guest House
Sherwood Guest House
#25 of 392 in Edinburgh
286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#35 of 392 in Edinburgh
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
94DR
94DR
#6 of 392 in Edinburgh
541 reviews
0.0 mi away
Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments
0.6 mi away
Barony House
Barony House
#4 of 392 in Edinburgh
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southside Guest House

Property: Southside Guest House
Address: 8 Newington Road, Edinburgh EH9 1QS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southside is a stylish and welcoming Guest House in the heart of the City of Edinburgh close to the Old Town. It provides very comfortable accommodation in a contemporary, smart decor in a period setting. The eight stylish en-suite bedrooms, which include two Four Poster Rooms, have been designed to be as individual as our guests. If you are seeking somewhere unique and memorable for your Edinburgh visit, Southside is an excellent choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Southside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southside Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Southside Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing