We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Practically perfect in every way"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Southside Guest House
Ranked #57 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Thanks Franco and Lynne for another delightful 7 nights stay last week. This was my 5th visit to Southside; it is my home away from home when I am Edinburgh and would not consider staying anywhere else. Perfectly located on Newington Road, and within walking distance of the Royal mile, there are several excellent and affordable restaurants in the region. The rooms are great, tastefully furnished and quiet. Franco and Lyne are very accommodating and always make my stay a pleasure. The highlight has to be Franco's cooked breakfasts; the food is excellent, it's the best Scottish breakfast I have had. My only problem with recommending Southside is that everyone else will want to stay and I won't be able to get a booking next time, but we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelj256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

I stayed here with a friend the weekend just gone (26-27 April) and we both loved it. The location was ideal for us (our trip was to see explore Edinburgh with some other chums based nearby), which was a good start, while the price was I think more than fair for what we got, too. Check in was made a very easy process by very clear directions and instructions given in plenty of advance, by the way. It was beautifully decorated, the atmosphere was great, and Franco was a brilliant host - friendly but not in your face all the time, he made sure to use our names, he was informative and (always nice in a guest house) seemed to radiate happiness, he really seemed to be doing what he wanted to do here! I also loved the food, the breakfast menu was more than satisfying. My friend really liked the decor and general style of the place, too. Great venue, we'd both be happy to come again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 6, top floor. The bathroom featured a lovely shower with a skylight, made a nice d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I have only good things to say about the Southside Guest House. Accommodations were lovely, full Scottish breakfast was delicious and Franco and Lynne were helpful with cabs and reuniting us with an item we left behind. Location is a 10 minute walk from the main tourist attractions, but convenient to Arthur's Seat, to many South Indian restaurants (one of which, The Cholas, we went to twice), and to children studying abroad at University of Edinburgh who live in the many university owned flats in the area.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank genacm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed there for a week in March 2013. Room was great, breakfast was great and the people were great. Edinburgh weather was as expected ;) The BB is just by a bus stop so it's easy to travel around. I highly recommend it.

Two little Icelanders.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Logi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed at Southside Guest House for 2 nights in September and it was exactly what we were after. It was a unique guest house with lots of character. Franco made us feel very welcome and gave us lots of information about Edinbugh that was very useful. The room was lovely and had lovely views over Edinburgh. Being a guest house it obviously isnt very well known so our taxi driver hadnt heard of it so make sure you have the address handy. The guesthouse is about 20-30 min walk from Princes Street but as other reviewers have said it is right on the bus route. If you do plan to get the bus be aware that you need exact change for the bus fare. The breakfast was the best bit of the guesthouse and was yummy and different every morning. I would highly recommend this guest house if you want reasonably priced accomodation that isnt a bland hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I_luv_travelling2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Everything was perfect from start to finish. Our hosts were charming and welcoming. The room was fitted with everything we needed from a magnifying mirror to lush linens on the bed and in the bath. The soaps were luxurious, there was water and tea and coffee service in the room. Our hosts thought of everything. Breakfasts were delicious with a wide array of choices, served impeccably with elegance. We felt right at home ~ this was our second visit to Southside Guest House and will certainly hope to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor each visit. Room #3 is in the front & has a good view of the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Elegant and extremely comfortable and a fab breakfast. Easy to find and a variety of restaurants within walking distance and a good traditional pub just around the corner. On a bus route, so very easy to get to Princes St., if you don't want to walk. Franco made us most welcome and kindly allowed us to keep our parking space, while we went to a match at Murrayfield. We have visited Edinburgh many times....our favourite city....and usually stay in a central, often over-priced, hotel.....never again! This has been perfect!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macbarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
94DR
#5 of 394 in Edinburgh
567 reviews
Dene Guest House
#23 of 394 in Edinburgh
358 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#17 of 394 in Edinburgh
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#10 of 394 in Edinburgh
532 reviews
Leith
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#52 of 394 in Edinburgh
763 reviews
New Town
Castle View Guest House
Castle View Guest House
#69 of 394 in Edinburgh
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southside Guest House

Address: 8 Newington Road, Edinburgh EH9 1QS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £89 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southside is a stylish and welcoming Guest House in the heart of the City of Edinburgh close to the Old Town. It provides very comfortable accommodation in a contemporary, smart decor in a period setting. The eight stylish en-suite bedrooms, which include two Four Poster Rooms, have been designed to be as individual as our guests. If you are seeking somewhere unique and memorable for your Edinburgh visit, Southside is an excellent choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Southside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southside Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Southside Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing