We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbeatable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Southside Guest House
Ranked #54 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Unbeatable”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed at the Southside for three nights and the experience was beyond our expectations. The whole place is nicely decorated and very cosy, the room was very comfortable and quiet, breakfast was very good. Franco's hospitality was warm and professional. The Southside is definitely a better choice than most four star hotels in town.

Room Tip: Room n.1 faced the garden, no noise whatsoever from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    29
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
147
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This is the second time that we have stayed here and we were not disappointed. Franco and Lynne are both very helpful and the hotel is spotlessly clean. There is an excellent breakfast and in a lovely relaxed atmosphere. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hilary1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is excellent place to stay in Edinburgh, especially if you are visting the University, and it is within easy walking distance of the city centre as well. Location, room, food and above all service are excellent. Like another review says, it's practically perfect !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJHare1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Thanks Franco and Lynne for another delightful 7 nights stay last week. This was my 5th visit to Southside; it is my home away from home when I am Edinburgh and would not consider staying anywhere else. Perfectly located on Newington Road, and within walking distance of the Royal mile, there are several excellent and affordable restaurants in the region. The rooms are great, tastefully furnished and quiet. Franco and Lyne are very accommodating and always make my stay a pleasure. The highlight has to be Franco's cooked breakfasts; the food is excellent, it's the best Scottish breakfast I have had. My only problem with recommending Southside is that everyone else will want to stay and I won't be able to get a booking next time, but we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelj256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I stayed here with a friend the weekend just gone (26-27 April) and we both loved it. The location was ideal for us (our trip was to see explore Edinburgh with some other chums based nearby), which was a good start, while the price was I think more than fair for what we got, too. Check in was made a very easy process by very clear directions and instructions given in plenty of advance, by the way. It was beautifully decorated, the atmosphere was great, and Franco was a brilliant host - friendly but not in your face all the time, he made sure to use our names, he was informative and (always nice in a guest house) seemed to radiate happiness, he really seemed to be doing what he wanted to do here! I also loved the food, the breakfast menu was more than satisfying. My friend really liked the decor and general style of the place, too. Great venue, we'd both be happy to come again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 6, top floor. The bathroom featured a lovely shower with a skylight, made a nice d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I have only good things to say about the Southside Guest House. Accommodations were lovely, full Scottish breakfast was delicious and Franco and Lynne were helpful with cabs and reuniting us with an item we left behind. Location is a 10 minute walk from the main tourist attractions, but convenient to Arthur's Seat, to many South Indian restaurants (one of which, The Cholas, we went to twice), and to children studying abroad at University of Edinburgh who live in the many university owned flats in the area.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank genacm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavík, Gullbringusysla, Iceland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed there for a week in March 2013. Room was great, breakfast was great and the people were great. Edinburgh weather was as expected ;) The BB is just by a bus stop so it's easy to travel around. I highly recommend it.

Two little Icelanders.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Logi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
The Salisbury Hotel
#75 of 150 in Edinburgh
806 reviews
Sandaig Guest House
#41 of 444 in Edinburgh
742 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 444 in Edinburgh
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lauderville Guest House
#36 of 444 in Edinburgh
187 reviews
Highfield Guest House
#37 of 444 in Edinburgh
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southside Guest House

Property: Southside Guest House
Address: 8 Newington Road, Edinburgh EH9 1QS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southside is a stylish and welcoming Guest House in the heart of the City of Edinburgh close to the Old Town. It provides very comfortable accommodation in a contemporary, smart decor in a period setting. The eight stylish en-suite bedrooms, which include two Four Poster Rooms, have been designed to be as individual as our guests. If you are seeking somewhere unique and memorable for your Edinburgh visit, Southside is an excellent choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Southside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southside Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Southside Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing