We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southside Guest House
Ranked #55 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stylish Accommodation”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Your hosts are friendly and knowledgeable. The room tastefully decorated, with an extra little touch of a complimentary whiskey left on the landing at night time as a night cap.
Lots of hot water. Breakfast very good with an excellent choice of buffet and cooked. They seem to have thought of nearly evetything, even the use of umbrellas in case it rained.

Room Tip: We stayed at the back over looking the garden, a good choice as this hotel is on a main road. We wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pommygirl268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    29
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
150
30
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Only few words are needed to say about Southside, warm, friendly and extremely tasteful (I know this is a personal opinion) especially the wee dram before bed and the breakfast. Besides this there are great places nearby to eat out. Well done Franco and Lynne

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IanCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairndow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Another stay in excellent guesthouse as part of our annual trip to Edinburgh;s fiddle festival held each November. Outstanding breakfasts mean you are likely not to want to eat again during the day. At the top end of guest house prices but worth the extra.

Room Tip: We prefer the back of the hotel away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emilymor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I have been coming to the Southside for many years now and it never ceases to delight. Impeccable service and a lovely warm atmosphere! I would far rather stay here than in some soulless hotel chain. The breakfast is fantastic! The bar across the road does great food and serves some fine beer!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had a fantastic stay here while visiting Edinburgh. Our room was so quaint, bed was cozy...and the breakfasts were superb! Located within walking distance to the Royal mile, and you only have to cross the street for a fantastic place for dinner. We loved our stay at Southside!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marrianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Lynne and Franco run a fantastic guest house sin Newington close to the University and Commonwealth pool. You are always made to feel welcome. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. Franco supervises an excellent breakfast prepared by Lynne in the background. There is free wifi, buses stop nearby and parking is available. The pair also rent out a wonderful two bedroomed flat with views out to Arthur's Seat.

Room Tip: Book in advance to obtain parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

A last minute booking which worked out very well. Very welcoming and on a cold day, cosy and warm. Although the rooms retain much of their period ‘Edinburgh’ charm they lack nothing in modern facilities. Clean crisp linen and towels, an excellent range of toiletries and all the usual tea and coffee making facilities, biscuits and water. Super breakfast, good off city centre location on the main bus routes. Surrounded by excellent eating places. Bucks Fizz offered at breakfast and regretfully declined. Immediately felt at home and obviously run by experienced people who really care about their customers and pay close attention to detail

Room Tip: Fairly steep stairs to upper floors so suggest you get assistance with your bags if required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IainMcKie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
The Salisbury Hotel
The Salisbury Hotel
#88 of 148 in Edinburgh
819 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sherwood Guest House
Sherwood Guest House
#25 of 392 in Edinburgh
286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#35 of 392 in Edinburgh
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
94DR
94DR
#6 of 392 in Edinburgh
541 reviews
0.0 mi away
Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments
0.6 mi away
Barony House
Barony House
#4 of 392 in Edinburgh
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southside Guest House

Property: Southside Guest House
Address: 8 Newington Road, Edinburgh EH9 1QS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southside is a stylish and welcoming Guest House in the heart of the City of Edinburgh close to the Old Town. It provides very comfortable accommodation in a contemporary, smart decor in a period setting. The eight stylish en-suite bedrooms, which include two Four Poster Rooms, have been designed to be as individual as our guests. If you are seeking somewhere unique and memorable for your Edinburgh visit, Southside is an excellent choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Southside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southside Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Southside Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing