We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Edinburghs outstanding course”
Review of Torphin Hill Golf Club - CLOSED

Torphin Hill Golf Club
Attraction details
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Edinburghs outstanding course”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Very interesting course fairways and greens were in great condition one of the best courses I ve played. Staff were very friendly and we got a very warm welcome . Will play Torphin Hills again soon

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Castleharbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Welcoming and a good test of golf.”
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

Played 36 holes and really enjoyed the course. All the members and staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Views over Edinburgh are stunning and well worth the climb. The course is testing and has a lot of really good interesting holes. I would highly recommend this course and we will be back

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nichols047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great views, varied holes, excellent value...most will need a buggy though!”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Took up a Groupon offer here and was excellent. The course offers a welcome break from the 'norm' with lots of variety and some stunning views and holes (most notably the par 5 15th). A few blind shots, so I would do a bit of a study of the course beforehand as unfortunately the scorecard nor the tees offer a map of the holes. Excellent day out and would strongly recommend.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing value for money and a brilliant course with superb views and a very varied layout.”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Played a lot of courses and this was my first time here. It won't be my last. One of the best courses I've ever been on. Outside of st Andrews I'd say the best. Great layout and excellent variety of different holes. Excellent views on every hole. Very good value for money at only £18. Would recommend taking a buggy because by the time you get to the fourth green you could be in need of oxygen. Really steep but levels out a lot after that although still a few great hills later. I'd give 95/100.

Helpful?
1 Thank Broxxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“buggy a must”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

what a fantastic course to play with fantastic views over edinburgh and the lothians. the 3rd and 4th holes take you from the bottom to the top of the pentland hills and a buggy is definately a must although their pricing structure for the buggies is a bit steep at £20 per round regrdless of how many rounds you play. surely a second round discount should apply!!! the clubhouse was great as was the food and the staff and members were all delightfull. i`ll definately return and am now looking at a full years membership

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Torphin Hill Golf Club also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing