We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky and cute”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fyul - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fyul
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Neighbourhood: West End
carlisle
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quirky and cute”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Came across this quirky cafe when we were staying at a nearby hotel, opting to have breakfast here in the morning.
Friendly, attentive, accomodating staff. Got busy quickly, which is always a good sign and an eclectic mix of customers which reflected in the cafe style.
We ordered scrambled eggs and bacon, delicious creamy fluffy eggs and tasty bacon piled high. Generous portions. My young daughter had a huge bun filled with bacon. A large glass of OJ and a hot choc came in at just over a tenner, which I thought was great value. Loved the little dish of fruit served with each order, on the side.
If I am back in the area, I would definately pop in.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bonviolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great coffee and lunches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Been here a few times with my wife and son. FYUL has been a great addition to the area around Lothian road.

With a vintage retro look, the place has a warm, friendly vibe about it.

The breakfasts and lunches are really good value, with sizeable portions. Their paninis, and daily soups are really tasty.

They make an excellent cup of coffee, and have a nice looking cake selection daily.

Worth checking out

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrismull82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Cake!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

A really beautiful little place; warm and quirkly and full of really interesting furniture and features. We curled up in two of the lovely big armchairs and enjoyed some amaaaazing red velvet cake! Really good value and friendly staff too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

FYUL is fast becoming a favourite of mine, I love the quirky decor and that they go all out at decorating the place for Halloween and xmas. The menu has a good selection and there are always specials which add a bit a variety. It's also very spacious so great for buggies and it never seems a hassle for the staff to get a highchair or a child's portion. Just a shame they don't open in the evening as would be a great place to enjoy a glass of wine!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beetroot82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Fell in love with this cafe.
Had breakfast there this morning and was in for a big lunch so opted for a humble bowl of porridge...but it was far from a frumpy cereal option! Presented beautifully by a cheery member of staff and enjoyed in surroundings of quirky decor - just gutted I live 300miles away!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilW272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fyul also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing