We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and very good value for money”
Review of Bindi Edinburgh - CLOSED

Bindi Edinburgh
Price range: US$6 - US$16
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Southside & Holyrood
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and very good value for money”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We were a group of 9 people who went to Bindi on 20th Apr. Though we had to wait for 30 mins, the food was definitely worth the wait. The two starters were very tasty and the thali is a great value for money. The owner was very courteous and the atmosphere was very homely. Would definitely recommend this to everyone.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Saurabh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    4
    3
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian Veg”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We went in a group on Sunday Evening on Easter Long weekend. We had to wait for half an hour outside on a cold day with small kids but the wait was worth when we finally got our food. It took time to serve the food to the table as it was pretty late and owners ran out of many stuff and obviously everything was getting prepared freshly. But when the food was served it was awesome. It was freshly prepared and was delicious authentic India food as good as you can get. If you love vegetarian Indian food than there is no better place in Edinburgh than Bindi.
Good for your stomach and good for your pocket as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Baxish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Truly the taste of India”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Me and my husband went to this restaurant for the first time on 4th april 2014.
Their menu includes a variety of Indian chaats/snacks some of which were exclusively from the gujarat, along with several main course dishes and desserts.
The best thing I liked was that they had 2 different tasters to offer which had an assorted selection of the snacks. So we ordered both of the tasters and 1 thali and 2 lassi as drinks.
I must say all the chaats/snacks, not one, but all of those had the true and exact taste what someone might get in a popular restaurant in India, i.e. absolutely perfect.
The thali was also wonderful, I know some people coming from India might disagree with me as the preparation wasn't the lavishly oily (read unhealthy) version of curries what Indians might expect from Indian restaurants, but still the taste was amazingly delicious and the preparation was homely.
So far the best Indian food I've tasted in Edinburgh.

--
An Indian street food lover.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sweta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I had meal with bindi on Saturday . Pani puri was really in traditional way which I really liked very much .It was great experience the way she deal with the people's. Starters was really very tasty and thali was perfectly fine . We were delighted with the food and service.

Helpful?
2 Thank padam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shockingly poor...”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We were ecstatic to hear the news of a Gujarati restaurant opening in town, so we arranged a family outing to visit. Only getting this kind of food in England, we were excited viewing the menu which consisted of the classics, for example pani puri. Sadly when the food came to the table it not only looked unappetising but tasted horrible so bad we could not eat it. The pani puri we ordered came with a green pani!!!!! We are Punjabi and never once in India or anywhere have seen a green pani!! It tasted horrible. The Gujarati owner had bold claims before our food had arrived but these were shattered, when the over priced and underwhelming snack thali came. The Dhokra was dry; pav bhaji was something that an amateur may cook and patra was tasteless. I honestly do not know why this restaurant has great reviews, I was so deeply disappointed with the poor value and poor food. I have never written a review but this restaurant was worth it.

Also they did not accept cards when we visited as they did not have a card machine... very inconvenient. Hope this has been amended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank anonymous656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bindi_Edinburgh, Manager at Bindi Edinburgh, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Customer Anonymous656,

Thank you for your feedback, whilst very disappointing to us, we appreciate the time you have taken to feedback your frank views on the food and cost. We are sorry that you felt it was poor. We strive to offer tasty, fresh Gujarati/East African Indian food and we make this from scratch everyday using fresh ingredients. Bindi's food is a fusion of styles over generations, with passion, and so there are marked differences with what one might expect from a standard Indian dish.

The pani for the pani puri for example is green because we use lots of fresh mint which adds a lovely flavor and is used extensively in the Gujarat but also we add tamarind to add to the mix, which is not a traditional mix.

Please do come again, give us another try, and with an open mind see if we can provide you with a better food experience. Thank you again.

Kind Regards,

Bindi Edinburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bindi Edinburgh also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing