We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant little place, veggie and vegan friendly. Great food ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bindi Edinburgh - CLOSED

Bindi Edinburgh
Price range: US$6 - US$16
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating
Neighbourhood: Southside & Holyrood
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant little place, veggie and vegan friendly. Great food ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Came here with two friends, one of us is vegan and the other two of us eat almost anything... All of us were well catered for.

We had the thali - we were advised to order a few of the other things on the menu too and I'm so glad we did!

The thali itself was good, a nice range of different dishes with rice and chapati. However the real treat was the fusion dishes - chilli paneer which was just knockout good, and the little puffed poori with a minty tamarind water which seems odd, but is amazing.

When I come back I'll just order the tapas style stuff because it's the star of the show and like nothing you'll have eaten before.

We had a lovely evening, the staff were helpful and well informed and even gave us some useful festival advice!

Thanks so much - just magic.

Helpful?
Thank mama_rain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    4
    3
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Perfect size portions, a warm welcome and no hefty bill at the end. Fresh ingredients and a relaxing atmosphere make for a wonderful evening! Do it!

Helpful?
Thank Natasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I had dinner here during a recent trip to Edinburgh. We chose this restaurant because we're vegetarians, and not only we were not disappointed, but absolutely impressed! The staff were friendly and very attentive, taking time to explain the dishes and making sure we were enjoying the food. I ordered the 'sampler' selection, which was delicious. In particular, the sweetcorn based dish was to die for, and I would go back and order a whole huge bowl of this alone if I had a chance!
Absolutely wonderful, and recommended to non-vegetarians too, as the flavours and textures were amazing!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lla_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
97 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wow. Just wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is my new favourite in Edinburgh. We sampled their food at a stall they had at a local food festival recently (Savour at Summerhall) and immediately knew we had to go! I have never tried Gujarati food. It is so different to the Indian style of food we are used to. Everything just tasted fresh and zingy - no claggy sauces or ghee floating on every dish. We shared some small dishes to start and had a thali platter each for mains (each - 2 curry dishes, bread, raita, pickles and rice) The waitresses could not have been more helpful or enthusiastic in explaining the dishes. It felt like the best type of home cooking.

A great place to take your non-vegetarian friends to show how good vegetarian food can be.

Great value too - 4 people with beer and chai and coffee for £20 each

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Edinburgh1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding and Different Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Once a week a friend and I meet up and eat at a different restaurant in central Edinburgh as part of a plan for trying different things. We have found a few places that we liked and several that weren't so great, but Bindi is the only place that we keep on returning to again and again. The food is excellent but is also different enough from the normal fare that you get in restaurants to make it a refreshing change even if you're visiting every month. The staff are always really friendly and helpful, which isn't too surprising given the entire place really feels more like a labor of love than a commercial venture. I'd recommend it to anyone!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eurmalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bindi Edinburgh also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing