We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless new years”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandaig Guest House
Ranked #42 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Faultless new years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

From location to breakfast we cannont fault the Sandaig guest house! Parking is onstreet and safe fro your car and its free!

From our arrival we were met with a warm welcome and shown to our room (8) which was tastefully decorated and comfortable. Ensuite was spacious and considering its on a busy road we both slept soundly!

Great selection at breakfast all foodf freshly prepared and plentyfull and the service was brilliant.

The location of the hotel was about 20 mins walk from the city centre or jump on a bus(25 or 12) just outside for £3.50 all day ticket you really cant go wrong. The night bus also drops you off just round the corner and the buses are so frequent you really dont need taxi's!

Even new years eve the buses ran until 4am!

Will definatly recommend this guest house and wont hesitate visiting again for next hogmany!


Dave

Room Tip: we stayed in room 8 and cant complain
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spurssupporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandaig, Manager at Sandaig Guest House, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Spurssupporter

It was a pleasure having you stay with us over New Year. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again!

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    185
    30
    15
    4
See reviews for
136
341
64
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed all family and the room was so beautiful so feel you in 4-5 star hotel. The breakfast was good and freshly cooked. Only not in the city but bus next door and you don't need wait for a long. So we really don't have anything against and definitely will stay again. Nice service. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison7124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

This was I think my fourth visit and the welcome and room were as warm and comfortable as before.

We stayed over Christmas Day and were charmed to find a card and present on our bed when we got in on Christmas Eve, a very kind gesture much appreciated. Due to the large amount of food we consumed at my daughter's, I was too full to try the excellent marmalade this time.

We shall stay again, many thanks.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mosnef47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, yorkshire
Level Contributor
316 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Booked The Sandaig last minute through Booking.com having checked the impressive reviews on Tripadvisor.

Stayed 2 nights weekend leading up to Christmas and felt disappointed as we do not consider we experienced the "wonderful" experience we had read. This is classified as a 4 star B&B and photos demonstrate a contemporary almost boutique view of the establishment - or at least this is the impression the owners are attempting to convey.

Our journey to Edinburgh took an exhausting 5 hours drive from Yorkshire, a beautiful scenic route which I would recommend! We were emailed by the proprietor after booking to enquire time of arrival which when your destiny is in the hands of wintry bad weather, icy roads, heavy wind and rain coupled with traffic it is anyone's guess! On our arrival home on 23rd Dec, we had an answer phone message on our landline left an hour after we were due to arrive on Sat 21st stating the proprietors had to go out and asking when we would be arriving......!!!!! Why?? We clearly wouldn't receive it!

There is ample free street parking outside the B&B facing the park and a bus stop several doors to the left of the B&B with a bus taking you to Princes Street. We didn't use this and despite the weather adorned sturdy footwear and strolled into the city to absorb the atmosphere.

The staircase and carpet need overhauling, very dated and the carpet through the 1st floor fire door is threadbare adjacent room 1 and 2.

Initial impression of our room (2) as we entered was good, large long room with dual windows and a statement bed with large padded headboard. Really liked the wallpaper however due to its dark shade created a tunnel effect in the room and would have been better placed at either end of the room to bring it "in".

A small decanter of sherry awaits which is a nice touch, although one shot glass each and the decanter was empty. A chocolate each awaits on the bed and a biscuit for coffee. Well! that was the first night, no chocolate or sherry the second.

Bathroom tiny compared to size of bedroom, I'm 5ft 1 and a size 8 dripping wet and even I struggled to use the tiny wash hand basin and dry myself in the room. The room was modern, contemporary - the bathroom mirror above the basin a novelty with its LED row of lights down each side - no use or ornament to a contact lens wearer! It's smokey hue prevented me from seeing clearly enough to remove and put in my lenses. Impractical. Liked the shower.

Didn't sleep particularly well, the double bed is twins fastened together and in the dead of the night the "dripping" starts - behind the boxed in part of the wall above the iPod dock you can hear a leak intermittently which drives you mad. Half the bed is firm and comfy, the other half too soft.

The wardrobe is no use or ornament, 2 winter coats and you won't fit much more in! Had to remove the middle shelf to fit them in. The remote for the tv didn't work and the "piece de resistance" the kettle! The cord is not long enough to plug in and place the base on chest of drawers, couldn't plug in by the settee as it meant moving the furniture and as such had to plug it in on the floor next to the bed..........health and safety! Trip hazards! And so to fill the kettle - you cannot get the kettle under the tap of the wash hand basin and had to bail water into the kettle using the coffee cup!!

The UHT Milk provided was out of date by 3 weeks or more, mostly dated 3 Dec and one the end of November.

The final straw for me was returning after a long day in the city on day 1 to find my wet bath towels were still hung on the back of the bathroom door - too wet to use again that day. There is no heated towel rail to dry them on. 4 star B&B leaving wet towels, in all my travelling have never known this.

Again, after day 1 the bed was not made, I had thrown the duvet to tidy the room before going to breakfast, the maid hasn't even straightened the fitted sheet or plumped the pillows on our return to the room.

The dining room is tastefully decorated, glad we were seated in the boxed bay window otherwise may have felt a little impersonal sat closely to other tables. The full Scottish was average, didn't rate at all. The sausage (1) was non descript , a rasher of bacon, fried egg pleasingly with runny yoke, grilled tomato that was barely cooked it was hard, haggis which was sloppy and wet, black pudding, chopped morsels of mushroom,potato scone and baked beans which were bizarrely served in a tiny coffee cup! Toast was brought with your cornflakes so was cold by the time the mains arrived.

Day 2 I sampled scrambled egg which was not seasoned and bland.

I did enjoy the yogurt, granola, honey and fresh fruit however where was the fresh fruit on day 2? My husband wondered where his mushrooms were on day 2 and stated his breakfast was luke warm yet we were the only ones dining for breakfast day 2!

The informative guest book in the room with places of interest was helpful for those who have never visited Edinburgh before..... The pages giving B&B info interesting particularly instruction for early wake up call and how to set with the phone................what phone? There is no phone!

Most B&B's rated 4 star would provide complimentary bottled water in the room and on occasion tissues, not Sandaig.

Reception has a small sign selling bottled water for £1, you can go to the pub around the corner and buy a bottle for 75p as we did.

Finally, check out - service with a smile, no! Arrival with a smile - no, I certainly was not smiling at the £2 charge for payment by debit or credit card.

I would not stay here again, I was disappointed and would not recommend to others because of "all of the above".

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Merc9SLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandaig, Manager at Sandaig Guest House, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear merc9SLK

I am sorry to hear that you were not totally satisfied with your stay at The Sandaig.

Firstly, with regards to your arrival time – We ask all guests to give us an arrival time. As we are not a hotel, the guest house is not manned 24hrs a day. In your confirmation it does state “If your arrival time changes then please keep us informed” As you just mentioned, we left a message one hour after your given arrival time as you had not arrived and we had not heard from you to say that you had been delayed! We called you on the contact number you gave us; maybe a mobile number would have been a more suitable contact number?

We offer “A complementary welcome drink on arrival” So yes that is exactly what it is – just one complementary drink on arrival and not replenished – again this is stated on our web site. – However your tea and coffee and biscuits would have been replenished on a daily basis.

I apologise for you not being able to remove your contact lenses in the shower room, however there is a very large mirror in between the two windows in your bedroom.

Yes, the beds are zip and link, like many hotel beds, so they can be used as double or twins – however we may look into changing the mattresses so they can be used only as double beds it was brought to our attention by another guest this week that this is not ideal.

We apologise for the remote control not working – however if you had mention this to us we would have just replaced the batteries instantly.

There is a sign in the room saying if you would like your towels replaced then please put them in the shower – however you hung them up so that is the reason they were not replaced after your first night.

We do not bring your cornflakes – it is self service – if you had preferred your toast to have been served with your main course – then it might have been an idea to have mentioned that to the waitress when she took your toast order?

You will find that many hotels (never mind guest houses) do not provide complimentary water – unless you are upgrading to a superior room. The £2 credit card surcharge is mentioned on your confirmation and upon booking.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Originally booked at another B&B a short walk down the street and had to leave because it was so bad - not what I'd booked and a lot worse than it appeared online. I arrived very late, exhausted, and the owner was amazing - going well beyond what I could have reasonably expected at such a late hour. The room was a pleasure to be in, the breakfast superb (better than any I've had at high grade hotels - freshly prepared and beautifully presented) and the facilities made it easy to work. A taxi driver told me that it was the best B&B in Leith Links and having previously visited two others I would agree, and by a wide margin. A huge thank you to the owner and to the staff for turning a disaster into a really enjoyable 3 day visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genève
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 days at the Sandaig on September . Nice big room for 2 adults ans 2 children . Great breakfast and service . The only negative point is that the neighbourhood lacks of charm and is 45 minutes walk away from the center and 20 minutes from the harbour. A bus will take you though to the center in 10 minutes.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AliceGen_ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at Sandaig. The staff were very friendly, the decor throughout (and especially in the bedrooms and dining room) is lovely and the breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Thanks for a great weekend!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dene Guest House
#20 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Sheridan Guest House
#22 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#36 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#40 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Fraoch House
#9 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandaig Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandaig Guest House

Property: Sandaig Guest House
Address: 5 East Hermitage Place | Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandaig Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandaig...overlooking the historic Leith Links park. All rooms have En-suite facilities. Complimentary drink on arrival. Free Wi Fi, Hospitality Tray, Radio Alarm Clock, Hairdryer, Iron & Ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandaig Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandaig Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Sandaig Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing