We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Sandaig”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandaig Guest House
Ranked #43 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
1 review
“The Sandaig”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Excellent stay, Excellent Guest House, highly recommended.
Have stayed there many times in the past and always been well looked after.
The breakfast is high quality.
This stay was only £50 and great value

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMCrerar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    185
    30
    15
    4
See reviews for
136
342
65
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights with my daughter, whilst visiting her Uni (all being well this coming Sept).

The B&B was lovely, very welcoming staff, pretty room, nice touch with the free port, very clean and the food was excellent.

Right next to a bus stop, which takes you to Princes Street - couldn't be any easier to get into the city centre quickly.

Thoughly enjoyed our stay and it helped my daughter decide she loves Edinburgh - we'll be back.

Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auckleysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Please read the fine print when booking this hotel or booking via Booking.Com.My office booked a King Room, single occupancy with breakfast, unfortunately the person making the booking clicked on the day of my conference and not before, a few hours after the mistake was noticed the Sandaig was contacted to try to rebook while they still had availability, but I was promptly informed that I needed to cancel and rebook via Booking.Com. By the time this was done there was apparently no availability and I was charged the full amount for a DOUBLE ROOM - not a King size, the amount charged via Booking.com for room was £37.50 plus £7.50 VAT NO CC Charges as stated on the website - the amount charged by the hotel for Double room £45 plus £2.00 CC fee......there appears to be no communication between the owners of the hotel and Booking.com - it is impossible to change a booking via the owner if you book through Booking.com and by the time you try to change the booking via Booking.com it's too late they have taken you're money, the wording on the T&C's is also different and confusing. As I said, I cannot make any statements about the hotel itself - JUST BUYER BEWARE -

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 631LSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandaig, Manager at Sandaig Guest House, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear G31LSM

You made a reservation for a double room (with king bed) for single occupancy for the 12th March in the morning and then cancelled the reservation in in the evening. As you cancelled within in our 0-7 days from arrival, you were charged for this one night's reservation. Our terms and conditions are clearly stated. When the reservation was made, you would have checked a box saying that you agree to our cancellation policy. You mention that you tried to book the previous night - however we were fully booked. You did inform me that it was your colleague's mistake for booking the wrong date as she was a novice. I am sorry to hear this.
Booking.com class all of our double rooms as king rooms, which is fine by us as this is the minimum size bed you will get as some are super-kings. All of our rates include vat. The £2 surcharge was refunded to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We visited the Sandaig in Edinburgh for a long weekend in February 2014. Initially we were looking for somewhere a bit closer to the city centre, but upon reflection we made the perfect choice!
The Sandaig is in a nice quiet location with a very convenient and reliable bus service right on the doorstep, £1.50 for a single and £3.50 for a day pass
The guesthouse was very clean and warm, and the bedroom that we had was lovely. Upon arrival we were informed that we had been moved from our originally allocated room due to a broken telly. Our room 10 was nice and cosy, clean and we always felt relaxed in it. The bathroom was nice and big with a lovely shower, enough room for two (if you're feeling that way :D)
The breakfasts were superb, great quality and big enough to keep you going until tea time if that's what you wanted. There was also a great choice from the breakfast menu. My girlfriend is still trying to make her porridge to the standard that we were served, it really was delicious!
The clincher in giving this destination top marks however was the hospitality. Marina was the perfect host, friendly, genuine, helpful, she just couldn't do any more for us. She was lovely and made our stay feel even more special
We did have a few issues with the TV in our room and had to play around with the aerial a few times to get it working, however this is a very minor complaint and nowhere near enough to stop us awarding this lovely place the maximum rating
When we return to Edinburgh we will be booking again and, of course, be recommending to our family and friends. Thank you Marina!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thepassenger74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Having read the many excellent reviews about the Sandaig we were not prepared for what we experienced during our stay. It oozed warmth,care and attention to customer satisfaction almost immediately.This is a very conscientiously run establishment that maintains a happy and relaxed atmosphere,Breakfast was excellent ,the service was exemplary in every way.You would need to stay to appreciate how good it really is.Marina and her staff so friendly, caring and helpful,My daughter begs us ti stay longer for we were so comfortable and happy ,we did .One of our best experiences ,we could not have been made more welcome or enjoyed our stay any more .a big thank you marina from paul ,nadine and georgia

Room Tip: everyone i spoke to was very happy staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Easy parking warm welcome comfortable and clean room and bathroom all amenities required for overnight stay, Peaceful and quiet location 5 minutes walk to restaurants and local pub food.
Breakfast in the morning excellent quality staff welcoming, very friendly and very helpful.
Next time I stay in Edinburgh i will stay there again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 344Customer344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Chose this based on Tripadvisor reviews and it's great. Will be back. this will be my Edinburgh base from now on. Great value. The room was very clean and bathroom was spotless. Service was excellent and very friendly place to visit and very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimthejambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dene Guest House
#20 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Sheridan Guest House
#22 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#31 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#39 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Fraoch House
#8 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandaig Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandaig Guest House

Property: Sandaig Guest House
Address: 5 East Hermitage Place | Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandaig Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandaig...overlooking the historic Leith Links park. All rooms have En-suite facilities. Complimentary drink on arrival. Free Wi Fi, Hospitality Tray, Radio Alarm Clock, Hairdryer, Iron & Ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Sandaig Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandaig Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Sandaig Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing