We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely relaxing stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandaig Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandaig Guest House
Ranked #41 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Romsey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is the second time I've stayed here - really lovely place. Its a little out of the centre of Edinburgh, but next to a lovely park and nice and peaceful.

The bedrooms are well furnished and comfy, the breakfasts are amazing - and the people are lovely!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Embrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    185
    30
    15
    4
See reviews for
135
340
64
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here several times and would do so again.

Our double room was clean, warm and quiet. The breakfasts are great - a good selection and generous portion sizes. Lovely, friendly staff as well.

Good parking close by (free) so we left the car for days and walked everywhere. Great restaurants close by too.

Love Edinburgh - we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

At first glance our room was nice enough, a closer inspection revealed it was a little tired. But the most disappointing thing of all was breakfast on our last morning. Having to wait 55 minutes for a distinctly average cooked breakfast...after asking how much longer it would be after 50 minutes the owners initial response was, "oh have you ordered?". When told we'd been waiting 50 mins since ordering his response was "well have you never waited that long in a restaurant". The only other explanation offered was that everyone had come to breakfast at the same time. This was not the case. My suggestion would be that you should not rent more rooms than you can cope with.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandaig, Manager at Sandaig Guest House, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Firstly may I apologise once again for your wait for breakfast. Five tables had all arrived just before you. We do freshly cook all of our breakfasts (this is also stated on the menu, so your patience is appreciated) and it was just bad luck that all of the orders in front had all ordered full cooked Scottish breakfasts. When you came to the reception to complain, my partner had just arrived and was unsure of the situation that is why he merely asked you the question if you had actually ordered? The wait was approximately 30 - 40 minutes and not 50 and in that time you were able help yourselves to a choice of fresh fruit juice and cereals. Then you were given your starters, then your toast and tea and coffee and finally your main breakfasts. Again I apologise that you had to wait longer on average on that particular day however we suggest that if you were in a hurry to leave then it might have been an idea to arrive at the start of our breakfast, that way you would have been guaranteed to be served first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sequim, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had made our reservations (erringly) for a 3 night stay and when we arrived asked if it was possible to get a 4th night. We were easily accommodated. There was a slight mix-up in the charge for the last night's stay but that was fixed before I even got home and knew about it.
The staff are very nice and helpful. The bedrooms are very comfortable with lots of storage and a lovely bonus of sherry in a decanter just waiting for us to enjoy! The breakfast was really nice. I'd definitely stay there again and I certainly would recommend it to anyone that I knew was traveling to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

A very friendly reception, good quality room and great breakfast at a very reasonable price. My room at the front overlooked a park which was ideal for an early morning stroll. The complimentary drink in the room on arrival was a very nice touch.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lottygregs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

The rooms, staff, and food are without compromise, all at a very affordable price. The included sherry was a welcomed treat, and Marina was kind enough to mail us an item we left in the safe within a day of finding it. If I ever return to Scotland, this will undoubtedly be where I stay. I truly cannot recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandaig, Manager at Sandaig Guest House, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
The rooms, staff, and food are without compromise, all at a very affordable price. The included sherry was a welcomed treat, and Marina was kind enough to mail us an item we left in the safe within a day of finding it. If I ever return to Scotland, this will undoubtedly be where I stay. I truly cannot recommend it highly enough!

Hello Rogan G

Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We hope to see you again o a future visit.
Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We have stayed here 3 times, and have no hesitation in recommending it. The rooms are tastefully furnished, comfy beds and nicely appointed bathrooms. We both slept well, with no disturbance from noise either inside or out. Breakfast is excellent and staff very obliging. The guest house overlooks Leith Links, which is an extensive area of pleasant recreational parkland. There are plenty of parking places on the road outside.
There is a bus stop outside that has a quick and regular service to Princes Street. There are also some very nice restaurants/pubs within 10 minutes walk of the guest house.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the Links
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dene Guest House
#19 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#31 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#40 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fraoch House
#8 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Sherwood Guest House
#29 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Sheridan Guest House
#22 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandaig Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandaig Guest House

Property: Sandaig Guest House
Address: 5 East Hermitage Place | Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandaig Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandaig...overlooking the historic Leith Links park. All rooms have En-suite facilities. Complimentary drink on arrival. Free Wi Fi, Hospitality Tray, Radio Alarm Clock, I Pod Docking Station, Hairdryer, Iron & Ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Sandaig Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandaig Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Sandaig Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing