We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandaig Guest House
Ranked #41 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Classy B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed in Sandaig for three nights recently and it was absolutely wonderful! Our room was delightfully comfortable, and the view was lovely - right out on to a beautiful park! Marina was friendly and extremely helpful. We loved the walk into town, and really enjoyed staying away from the bustle of the high street for a few days. The breakfast was among the best we had during our two weeks in Scotland. Would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shibani82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    185
    30
    15
    4
See reviews for
135
341
64
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Myself and my husband stayed for 2 nights. Check in was very smooth. Room and bathroom were clean. Welcome drink in the room which was a nice touch. Lots of variety at breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is the second time I've stayed here - really lovely place. Its a little out of the centre of Edinburgh, but next to a lovely park and nice and peaceful.

The bedrooms are well furnished and comfy, the breakfasts are amazing - and the people are lovely!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Embrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here several times and would do so again.

Our double room was clean, warm and quiet. The breakfasts are great - a good selection and generous portion sizes. Lovely, friendly staff as well.

Good parking close by (free) so we left the car for days and walked everywhere. Great restaurants close by too.

Love Edinburgh - we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

At first glance our room was nice enough, a closer inspection revealed it was a little tired. But the most disappointing thing of all was breakfast on our last morning. Having to wait 55 minutes for a distinctly average cooked breakfast...after asking how much longer it would be after 50 minutes the owners initial response was, "oh have you ordered?". When told we'd been waiting 50 mins since ordering his response was "well have you never waited that long in a restaurant". The only other explanation offered was that everyone had come to breakfast at the same time. This was not the case. My suggestion would be that you should not rent more rooms than you can cope with.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandaig, Manager at Sandaig Guest House, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Firstly may I apologise once again for your wait for breakfast. Five tables had all arrived just before you. We do freshly cook all of our breakfasts (this is also stated on the menu, so your patience is appreciated) and it was just bad luck that all of the orders in front had all ordered full cooked Scottish breakfasts. When you came to the reception to complain, my partner had just arrived and was unsure of the situation that is why he merely asked you the question if you had actually ordered? The wait was approximately 30 - 40 minutes and not 50 and in that time you were able help yourselves to a choice of fresh fruit juice and cereals. Then you were given your starters, then your toast and tea and coffee and finally your main breakfasts. Again I apologise that you had to wait longer on average on that particular day however we suggest that if you were in a hurry to leave then it might have been an idea to arrive at the start of our breakfast, that way you would have been guaranteed to be served first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sequim, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had made our reservations (erringly) for a 3 night stay and when we arrived asked if it was possible to get a 4th night. We were easily accommodated. There was a slight mix-up in the charge for the last night's stay but that was fixed before I even got home and knew about it.
The staff are very nice and helpful. The bedrooms are very comfortable with lots of storage and a lovely bonus of sherry in a decanter just waiting for us to enjoy! The breakfast was really nice. I'd definitely stay there again and I certainly would recommend it to anyone that I knew was traveling to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

A very friendly reception, good quality room and great breakfast at a very reasonable price. My room at the front overlooked a park which was ideal for an early morning stroll. The complimentary drink in the room on arrival was a very nice touch.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lottygregs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dene Guest House
#20 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Sheridan Guest House
#22 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#38 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#40 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Fraoch House
#8 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandaig Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandaig Guest House

Property: Sandaig Guest House
Address: 5 East Hermitage Place | Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandaig Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandaig...overlooking the historic Leith Links park. All rooms have En-suite facilities. Complimentary drink on arrival. Free Wi Fi, Hospitality Tray, Radio Alarm Clock, Hairdryer, Iron & Ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandaig Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandaig Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Sandaig Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing