We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandaig Guest House
Ranked #41 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kempten, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Sandaig is just perfect for a visit in Edinburgh! Right beside a nice park and quiet. Easy to take a bus to town centre.
Staff is very friendly and breakfast is great! Room was small, but cosy. Leith itself was great! Nice restaurants and pubs.
For us it was best choice! Would come again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topolino123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    185
    30
    15
    4
See reviews for
135
341
64
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Beautiful hotel, delicious breakfast. Bus stop located right out the front and everyone who worked there was so welcoming and friendly. If checking out early they will go out of their way to pack breakfast. Was very clean too

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyBolly94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were coming back to Edinburgh for the Moonwalk once again, and even though the location was at a different place. Despite checking other hotels, I came back the The Sandaig. It is friendly, comfortable and clean. Good value too. Once again a perfect 2 night stay. My friends who came too for the first time loved it too. The breakfast definitely keeps you going all day! See you next year!

Room Tip: All the rooms we've experienced have all been perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank db9ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Very lovely place, pleasant people, and awesome breakfast! Bedroom was cosy and comfortable. Leith quarter is THE place to be in Edinburgh, for there is excellent pubs next to the shore, and everything you need nearby. Not so far from the center by bus.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0n86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very welcoming, could not have been more accommodating. Phoned when we arrived in Edinburgh to see if we could leave our Bags-No problem at all, this saved us carrying then around. Easy to get to, Bus stop just a few yards from Guest House, just hopped on and off the Buses. Nice clean room, spacious. we could not ask for anything more. Excellent Breakfast and what a plateful- set us up for the day! And plenty of choice. The staff were brilliant and charming and very friendly. Lovely view looking over the park from our room. Would definitely book here again. I actually booked the wrong Guest House But I am so glad I booked this One.

Room Tip: spacious room, cleanliness excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murrsteph7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

An easy friendly check in was followed by a lovely entrance to a top floor double, with a great view over the park and 2 complimentary glasses of red wine and chocolates. Large room, big king size bed, clean, storage space, free wifi, spotless en-suite, and nicely decorated too, very cosy.

Breakfast was absolutely incredible. You enter the breakfast room and have the choice of loads of cereals, several juices and unlimited coffee/tea/water. The waitress then offered us a menu with 2 courses - from the top of my head these consisted of:

1st course:
- Scotch porridge with cream, milk, raisins, fruit, brown sugar, syrup (any combinations)
- Waffles
- Croissant
- Granola and yoghurt with fresh fruit

2nd Course:
- Full Scottish breakfast with black pudding, haggis, eggs (any style), bacon, sausages, mushrooms, tomatoes, fried potato cake, baked beans (any combination, further choices for vegetarians)

Plus unlimited toast with jam, honey, butter etc

It was huge and incredibly tasty, my goodness I don't think I've ever encountered such a good B&B breakfast.

The location was great next to Leith Links park and a bus stop was just outside taking around 10 minutes to reach the centre (the journey takes about half an hour to walk, but it's a good walk). The area is nice and friendly and you have a Tescos for shopping needs.

Highly recommended, especially for the price.

Room Tip: They all looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Big_Egg27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is a lovely place to stay!! very warm welcome by the staff who showed us to our fabulous room which was beautifully decorated. The guest house is in a quiet residential street with regular transport going into the city. The guest house offered a really good breakfast with plenty to choose from, yet again the staff were brilliant.
fantastic stay, would defiantly stay again!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dene Guest House
#20 of 444 in Edinburgh
315 reviews
Sheridan Guest House
#22 of 444 in Edinburgh
342 reviews
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#38 of 444 in Edinburgh
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#40 of 444 in Edinburgh
413 reviews
Fraoch House
#8 of 444 in Edinburgh
747 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 444 in Edinburgh
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandaig Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandaig Guest House

Property: Sandaig Guest House
Address: 5 East Hermitage Place | Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandaig Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandaig...overlooking the historic Leith Links park. All rooms have En-suite facilities. Complimentary drink on arrival. Free Wi Fi, Hospitality Tray, Radio Alarm Clock, Hairdryer, Iron & Ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandaig Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandaig Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Sandaig Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing