We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edinburgh at it's best”

Laila Lunch & Brunch
Ranked #486 of 2,556 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$6 - US$36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Description: Edinburgh's most instagramable cafe - a Middle Eastern twist on brunch in the heart of Edinburgh's old town. From Aleppo eggs to candyfloss covered pan cakes and our signature unicorn and ruby rose lattes, with a bespoke selection of wines and cocktails, it's the must visit Edinburgh destination
Reviewed 13 January 2017

I dined here with two young children (4 & 7) on the busy torchlight parade evening. We were met with smiles, warmly and given a table whereas many restaurants look at the two children with dismay. We were given menus and the children spoken to very respectfully by the staff. The meal was delicious the children loved the meatballs and good sized portions. After the meal I had to ask for the bill as they were saying we could sit in the warm over our drinks before the parade which meant they were technically losing business for our table rather than hurrying us out. Lovely people, lovely food, great atmosphere. Cosy you might be sitting near other people, but well worth it and all adds to the Mediterranean/middle eastern feel.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank HDYM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (1,411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

465 - 469 of 1,411 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2017

We desired a warm lunch on what was cold day and we could not have been more pleased with the quality of the home made soup and fresh bread. We also enjoyed the home made baba ganoush. To made the experience even better was the very friendly and warm welcome given by the staff. Nothing was too hard for them. Well worth a visit if you are close to the Royal Mile.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank H1133ZKdavidp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 January 2017

My first thought on sitting down and looking at the menu is that it was a wee bit pricey for what was on offer, something that would be half the price elsewhere. However, considering the friendly service from the staff and the fact that my falafel and hummus wrap was one of the best I've ever had (not to mention that we were given a jug of water for the table without asking, which is a courtesy I appreciate) then it was very much worth the price and would certainly go back here.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank black_flowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Came here today for a light lunch, had the mezze for 2 bread with dips fantastic, with a couple of other starters good food in nice surrounding with good service

Date of visit: January 2017
1  Thank stephenmC1660KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff and certainly value for money. No alcohol is being served but it's allowed to purchase wine/ beer across the street. No additional charges apply.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarkDoorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Laila Lunch & Brunch also viewed

 

Been to Laila Lunch & Brunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.