We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly Excellent.”

Laila Lunch & Brunch
Ranked #486 of 2,556 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$6 - US$36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Description: Edinburgh's most instagramable cafe - a Middle Eastern twist on brunch in the heart of Edinburgh's old town. From Aleppo eggs to candyfloss covered pan cakes and our signature unicorn and ruby rose lattes, with a bespoke selection of wines and cocktails, it's the must visit Edinburgh destination
Reviewed 25 June 2017

The food was very good and the staff friendly. However, my daughter ordered a dish because it came with bulgar wheat, but when it arrived there was brown rice on the plate with no explanation or apology. This is a Bring Your Own Booze restaurant....there's an off licence across the road where you can buy wine at a discounted rate if you mention Laila's.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (1,411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 418 of 1,411 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

It's our second time in Edinburgh and second time in this restaurant .I totally recommended, good food,nice atmosphere,staff very polite.lamb chops, and tuna steak ,and freshly butter fish and chips worth to try.Yummy

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank 941kasiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 June 2017

Bearing in mind that my husband and I are both vegetarian and don't drink alcohol, we found this very attractive restaurant served a very acceptable and reasonably-priced meal.
We chose the mixed dip dish, a Greek salad and some falafel, and everything was really tasty.
We were a shade disappointed that whilst our waiter initially said the home-made soup of the day was vegetarian we were then told that this was yesterday's news and today's was actually chicken soup. We were also unlucky in that their traditional Iraqi bread wasn't available due to a temporary oven problem.
Nevertheless, our lunch (with toasted panini instead) was extremely good -- and cost us just £30.
As we were leaving we noticed that the menu board outside gave no indication of any vegetarian options.This seemed a shame, since folk who don't already know the place must often walk on by and miss out.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Lorry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

Outside seating, friendly service, delicious sauces, fresh ingredients ~ the falafel wrap was seasoned to perfection. Appreciated the high quality of "just lunch" fare!

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank AqueductSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

Lipsmackingly tasty food!!!
Amazing dips ! Good quantities,
Efficient service !
A young girl who was waiting our table was extremely helpful , we couldn't help but notice that she helped a table next to ours who didn't understand the Cuisine . She was extremely patient !
Pomegranate rice with lemon chicken must try !!!
Ps: this seems to have become a norm with all restaurants that they add a 2£ or a 4£ per person charge to our bills as a charity fee (which is optional) but without asking they already add that to our bill . Making this a very uncomfortable situation for us !
The Above incident happened at lailas and a few more restaurants !

Date of visit: June 2017
2  Thank khushvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Laila Lunch & Brunch also viewed

 

Been to Laila Lunch & Brunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.