We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheridan Guest House
Ranked #24 of 396 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Rowena and Tom Watt welcome you to this guest house and make you feel that with their care and attention that you are at home!
It is a pretty and very tidy guest house where you have all you need at hand thanks to the lovely owners. The beds are comfortable with nice white linen and perfect pillows, and the bathroom has lovely toiletries with a powerful and enjoyable shower. We had a lovely weekend break there earlier this month (Dec 2013).
The breakfast variety offered is superb and freshly cooked. In the room along with the kettle, coffee and tea bags you can also find Rowena's delicious oat cookies which i had to ask the recipe for before leaving!
There's wi-fi everywhere and I honestly can't think of anything missing from this exceptional Guest house in Leith.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

This place is incredible!

From the greeting of the wonderful host Rowena, to the cleanliness of the entire guesthouse, beautifully decorated spacious room and a bathroom filled with excellent quality soaps and essentials!

The breakfast served is fabulous! Absolutely fabulous!!!! Delicious and a big variety to choose from.
We would come back and we will refer this place to our friends and families!

What a lovely stay!!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank missmonkeypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This must be the nicest guest house in Edinburgh, chiefly because of its charming owners, Rowena and Tom who make you feel very welcome - and remember your name. Rowena works extremely hard, keeping the house spotless, serving excellent breakfasts and looking after her beloved flowers and plants. The rooms are light and attractively furnished, the beds very comfortable and the bathrooms well equipped if small. I have stayed there several times and am happy to add my recommendation to the many others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheila d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The room was extremely clean, comfortable and stylish. The shower has excellent water pressure (which seems to be rare in Great Britain). There is plenty of free on-street parking nearby. It is far from the main Edinburgh attractions but very close to what I will call "downtown" Leith where there are many good restaurants and a nice walk along the Water of Leith. Rowena (one of the owners) is an angel. She has filled the house with beautiful plants, she cooks a superb breakfast, and she makes a point of remembering the name of every guest.

A practical tip if you're arriving by car: Neither google maps nor my GPS were able to locate Bonnington Terrace. But the hotel is clearly marked by a sign on the west side of Newhaven Rd just north of Bonnington Grove.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank capt_ahab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Very clean, owner was super nice, it's in a nice location (though could be closer to tourist attractions), and parking wasn't bad. We had a lovely time. The location and size of the bathroom, which could have been a little bigger, are the only reasons I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5. If you stay here you shouldn't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jungstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My daughter and I stayed in this very well run Guest House during July this year and the only reason that it didn't receive 5 stars was the smallness of the bathrooms. This has to be the cleanness hotel that I've ever stayed in, there wasn't a spec of dust anywhere.
The breakfast was superb and the beds were extremely comfortable with lovely white fresh linen.

Room Tip: Book a double it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We have just come back from two nights staying at the Sheridan, we had a wonderful time. Rowena is a great host. The house was spotless , we had a lovely room with a great bathroom. Never seen so many mirrors in a room. The toiletries were fab. The number 11 bus stops very close to the house and you are in the city within 10 minutes. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank englishjuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.6 mi away
Fraoch House
Fraoch House
#7 of 396 in Edinburgh
785 reviews
2.9 mi away
Barony House
Barony House
#2 of 396 in Edinburgh
767 reviews
3.2 mi away
Alba House
Alba House
#38 of 396 in Edinburgh
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Abercorn Guest House
Abercorn Guest House
#42 of 396 in Edinburgh
487 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ard-na-said
Ard-na-said
#13 of 396 in Edinburgh
396 reviews
0.6 mi away
Garfield Guest House
Garfield Guest House
#35 of 396 in Edinburgh
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheridan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheridan Guest House

Address: 1 Bonnington Terrace, Edinburgh EH6 4BP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 396 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £81 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheridan Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Georgian house restored in a contemporary style while retaining the unique character of the building. Original artworks hang on the walls, Persian carpets provide a rich backdrop to the contemporary furniture and the food is always freshly home cooked and delicious. The Sheridan is sited to the north of Edinburgh's New Town, close to the vibrant port of Leith. It is just a short walk away from The Royal Yacht Britannia, Playhouse Theatre, and the Botanic Gardens, while the excellent sights, restaurants and bars of Edinburgh City Centre are just a short bus or taxi ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheridan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheridan Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing