We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a Find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheridan Guest House
Ranked #24 of 395 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights, and so very grateful to have found it. Rowena is such a warm and gracious host, and went out of her way to be helpful. LOVELY home, very comfortable room, great breakfast. About a mile away from the city center, but the bus stop is right outside, and the bus runs every 10 minutes -- so easy. A perfect stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MatthieuGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had a lovely stay of two days at Sheridan Guest House. It is located in the north of Edinburgh. But you can easily reach the city center or other attractions by bus. Bus no. 11 stops right infront of the guest house. The room was very comfortable and pleasant. There was no traffic noise because the room is oriented towards the backyard. Free wifi is also available. Every morning our hosts, Rowena and Tom, prepared us a delicious breakfast and were very helpful if we needed any information regarding the area, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenGone_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

My husband stayed at this lovely bed and breakfast whilst on business for 3 nights...and absolutely loved it. Rowanna was the perfect host. Spotlessly clean beautiful house lovely breakfast with relaxing background music in breakfast room. Excellent location on no. 11 bus route and easy walk to The Shore where there are excellent pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank okeali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We would highly recommend staying here! We started off our three week trip to Edinburgh with a week stay at the Sheridan Guest House. We can't say enough about the warm and generous hosts, Tom and Rowena Watt and their immaculate, comfortable guest house. We truly had a perfect stay there - our room was very comfortable and the breakfasts were superb. Tom and Rowena go that extra mile to ensure your needs are met. We were spoiled as the next two weeks we kept comparing our lodgings to the Sheridan Guest House and the Sheridan won every time, hands down! The little touches to detail that makes one feel at home were done here - fresh baked goodies in the room, wash cloths, flowers, etc. Unlike the previous review, our room was very warm and cosy (nice double pane windows) and the bathroom, like most bathrooms in B & B's was just fine for us - plus the added touch of top notch shampoo, shower gel and lotion. We did not get that in most of the B & B's we stayed at for the remainder of our trip. The location for us was very convenient - a short bus ride into the center of town and a nice walk to the Leith area. We will stay here again should our travels take us back to Edinburgh. We are very sorry the fellow from Bern was so critical and we feel his criticism is very undeserved. If he wanted to pay less, there are hostels. If he wanted a town center location with nice restaurants he should have booked in the town center but we guarantee he would have paid a lot more for that "ambiance". Thank you Tom and Rowena for wonderful stay!!
Steve and Judy Hofheimer - Clearwater, Florida - USA

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 17Judyh48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed at this B&B in May 2014. My rather low rating might be a bit harsh, but I have to admit that I cannot understand the raving reviews here either.....hm.....

Ok, the good things first: the people running this place are very nice and helpful. The House itself has a nice ambience and the breakfast is great! But here comes the dealbreaker: the rooms! The rooms are quite small. The bathroom attached to the room is even smaller. To be honest, in this price range the size of the bathroom is unacceptable! It might be ok for a submarine, but not for a room costing 85£ (140$ / 108EUR).

Second dealbreaker: The quality of the windows in our room was very low, we had a constant current of cold air coming in. We were freezing in the night! If you visit this place in a cold season, beware!

I really want to like this B&B, I do, but I can't! The area this B&B is located in is very dull and a bit outside of central Edinburgh. The next restaurant is a horrible horrible indian take-away (Ahmeds Take-away or something). Considering all this I have have to say: it is way overpriced! Should be more like 60£

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slann303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My first trip to Edinburgh and what a wonderful place to stay. Rowena was cheerful at all times and so welcoming. I had a room at the top of the house which was very comfortable with a great en-suite, but you need to be fit to cope with the stairs. Breakfast was beautifully presented with fresh fruit, cereals and a delicious cooked breakfast. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dizzy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Lovely room on the first floor which was very clean and well presented. We travelled to Edinburgh by train and the Sheridan is an easy 40 minute walk from the station or a short and cheap (£1.50) bus ride. The port of Leith is just a 15 minute stroll away. The breakfasts are superb and Rowena is an excellent host. This is where we will be staying in Edinburgh on our future visits to the Scottish capital. Brilliant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roaming94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Fraoch House
#8 of 395 in Edinburgh
784 reviews
Ard-na-said
#13 of 395 in Edinburgh
393 reviews
Kew House
#7 of 395 in Edinburgh
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#15 of 395 in Edinburgh
527 reviews
94DR
#5 of 395 in Edinburgh
573 reviews
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#31 of 395 in Edinburgh
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheridan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheridan Guest House

Address: 1 Bonnington Terrace, Edinburgh EH6 4BP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 395 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £81 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheridan Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Georgian house restored in a contemporary style while retaining the unique character of the building. Original artworks hang on the walls, Persian carpets provide a rich backdrop to the contemporary furniture and the food is always freshly home cooked and delicious. The Sheridan is sited to the north of Edinburgh's New Town, close to the vibrant port of Leith. It is just a short walk away from The Royal Yacht Britannia, Playhouse Theatre, and the Botanic Gardens, while the excellent sights, restaurants and bars of Edinburgh City Centre are just a short bus or taxi ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Sheridan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheridan Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing