We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caravel Guest House
Ranked #146 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful staff”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

The guest house was incredibly reasonably priced for such a central location. Stayed here for a weekend with some friends, the staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms, while not of a modern decor, we're spacious and very clean. There was a great range of breakfasts to choose from. I would definitely visit again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    45
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
22
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great location and price, although room very tired and outdated. Could use new blankets or duvets. Good shower.
The hot breakfast was very good. Owner very friendly and helpful. loved the location. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beverleylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I stayed here within the last couple weeks along with my wife. This guest house is conveniently located in the New Town area and easily walking distance to the main sites. Our room was clean and spacious. The wi-fi worked in our room and the breakfast which included a hot items was good. The host was friendly and helpful. The free parking is kind of tricky to get to but is free as advertised. I would recommend this B&B for friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tngl4ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Value for money in the heart of New Town, very nice staff, great breakfast.
I just booked this place without really knowing anything about it and I couldn´t have made a better choice!
I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluesbandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This B&B is in a good location close to the shops etc. The owner is very welcoming with nothing too much trouble.
We had a room which was a bit tired, with the wash basin in the room.It was quiet and the beds were comfortable.
Cooked breakfast was adequate, but not a lot of choice. eg no bacon on offer. The background music was Radio 1 which was perhaps not quite fitting as all the diners were over 30 and mostly foreign.
Compared to our other stops in Scotland, I think you pay for location, rather than the finesse.
We would stay again, purely for its location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakesideboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed in thie small guest house for a long weekend recently - very happy with everything.
Beds very comfortable, room spacious and clean.
Staff very obliging and let us take our grandchildren back for a sleep over without extra charge while their parents went out -( they were staying elsewhere as no room for them at Caravel )
Very good breakfast - plenty to chose from and tea,coffee and toast in very copious quantities
Only a few minutes walk from the centre of Edinburgh and lots of nice restaurants in the area.
Would return..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mojoknowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with some friends for a long weekend and we were not disappointed! Our room was very spacious, the beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom was a decent size with a wonderful shower. Breakfast was nice with a good selection and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. It was a 10 minute walk to the city centre or 5mins in a taxi dependant on where you are going!
I would definitely recommend staying here and if I come back to Edinburgh I will definitely stay again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannif88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#129 of 148 in Edinburgh
263 reviews
Dene Guest House
#21 of 392 in Edinburgh
329 reviews
Mingalar
#93 of 392 in Edinburgh
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
York House Hotel
York House Hotel
#336 of 392 in Edinburgh
241 reviews
New Town
Edinburgh Central Guest House
Edinburgh Central Guest House
#62 of 392 in Edinburgh
186 reviews
West End
Braveheart City Centre Guest House Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravel Guest House

Property: Caravel Guest House
Address: 30 London Street, Edinburgh EH3 6NA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Caravel Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caravel House is the ideal location for a stay in Edinburgh, set in the beautiful architectural area of Edinburgh's classical New Town. This charming Georgian house is situated in the very heart of Edinburgh, Scotland's capital city. With bus and transit available within convenient walking distance and Prince's Street within close proximity, the Caravel House is an ideal accommodation from which to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Caravel Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravel Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing