We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“last minute choice that turned out a great surprise”
Review of Boteco Do Brasil

Boteco Do Brasil
Ranked #1,869 of 2,568 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$7 - US$27
Cuisines: Brazilian, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Description: In Brazil, “Boteco” is the friendly neighborhood bar with lively music and atmosphere. And that’s exactly where our inspiration comes from!
Reviewed 24 February 2014

we were out on a saturday night and most places were busy. not only did boteco accommodate a table for four but they service was first class. never been to a brasilian restaurant so we were not sure of the menu but the great service and helpful staff helped us pick a fantastic meal. the waiter forgot to put in the order for the burger but only by minutes so as it was late he offered it free. this kind of service you do not get unless people complain. we would recommend the restaurant highly and hope to go back soon. great wee place. oh and great entertainment with a singer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fariba w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeeJeee, Manager at Boteco Do Brasil, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

hi There,
thanks for the generous review. You can try us again, if you like and use one of our £10 voucher which you can download automatically from our website in the section special offers
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 130 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

We went on a Friday night, intended to go for a quick bite and ended up staying the whole evening! Warm welcome, great choice on the menu (and behind the bar) and really tasty food. Service was fast and friendly.
There was live music on during our meal and later there were Brazillian dancers - never seen anything like it and they had everyone on their feet! We went downstairs for a dance and a few drinks after our meal, there was a live band on which was great!
Tips: Reserve a table, we arrived at 6pm and it was already busy. Also, try the Guava cocktails!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank linseyjx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeeJeee, Manager at Boteco Do Brasil, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

hi There,
thanks for the generous review. You can try us again, if you like and use one of our £10 voucher which you can download automatically from our website in the section special offers
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Been last saturday 25th january and I felt back home when I was there , was so nice and had live brazilian music and the food was very good as well ,myself I just had the starts made like tapas but they were delicious !
I will be a regular for sure!
Must try the caipirinha is a tradicional brazilian cocktail!
Also after 11 pm you can go to the pub downstairs were is played nice latino music full of beautiful people!
I can't wait to be back on Boteco do Brasil Edinburgh again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeeJeee, Manager at Boteco Do Brasil, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

hi There,
thanks for the generous review. You can try us again, if you like and use one of our £10 voucher which you can download automatically from our website in the section special offers
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My friends and I went for our Christmas night out and a catch up. Despite having booked and double checked, they had no recollection of our booking. Luckily, they had room to fit us in, right at the back.

We were told we could only have the Christmas menu, which was £20 per person and included a glass of fizz. We had to order our ordinary drinks three times and they only arrived after the starters came.

The food was tasty and was varied enough so that any vegetarians or vegans could have something. It was nice to try some new food too. The service wasn't great but it could have been because they were busy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank laurac3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeeJeee, Manager at Boteco Do Brasil, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

hi There,
thanks for the generous review. You can try us again, if you like and use one of our £10 voucher which you can download automatically from our website in the section special offers
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We booked the two course lunch for £6 through 5pm and it was terrific. The food was great and the portion size was not compromised. Restaurant was pretty quiet but it was mid January.

Thank Jenninic23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boteco Do Brasil also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Boteco Do Brasil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing