We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Elegance & Comfort - Exactly what it say's”
other travellers have booked this property
Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
View from the lounge window along the crescent. Impressive bay window and cornice work
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Living Room
View from the lounge window along the crescent.
Impressive bay window and cornice work
Living Room
Warming fire for those blustery winter nights!
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Childrens books and games kept in the bookcase.
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Twin single beds in bright front bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
Room is larger than it looks here (measures 4m x 3.2m)
Snuggle up in bed and watch a movie!
Comfy double bed with memory foam mattress.
We have a stair gate to protect children from the spiral stair if required.
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Hallways
Hallways
Hallways
Entrance
Garden
Garden
Garden
Garden
The Building
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Clive B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Elegance & Comfort - Exactly what it say's”
Reviewed 15 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Located a short walk from Haymarket station, we arrived shortly after 2pm. The instructions to gain access to the property were clear and precise and before we knew it, the kettle was on. After a quick look around the place it was soon clear that we had chosen wisely and this was exactly what we were looking for to enjoy our long weekend. A quick look of the local maps for the area soon confirmed that we were five minutes walk from the local pub's and restaurants and only twenty minutes walk from Edinburgh's old town and castle. Local tram and bus services were frequent if required. After being out all day it was great to come back to the property, light the open fire, sit down and relax in comfort. A fantastic location and fantastic property for all the family to enjoy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sazeracke...
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
470 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“spacious, comfy flat in an excellent location”
Reviewed 7 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Kirsty's flat was perfect for the two of us, quite comfortable and in a very nice location. I would highly recommend her flat with no hesitation. See below if you're interested in more detail.

Location: Located on a very nice double-crescent in the West End away from the more heavily-touristed areas. Having walked around much of Edinburgh, we thought it one of the nicest parts of the city.

Neighborhood: Nearby are groceries (Tesco Express and Co-op), bakeries/coffee shops (Cafe Noir and Jacob's), restaurants (L'Escargot Blanc and La P'tite Folie) and a well-stocked wine merchant (Oddbins). It's a pleasant walk along the Water of Leith to Stockbridge where there is a good butcher (George Bower) and cheese shop (IJ Mellis), as well as a very nice market on Sundays. Not far to the main downtown shopping streets (Princes St. and George St.) with numerous restaurants. And it's quite walkable even over to High Street. Walk to The Meadows and to the Royal Botanic Garden for some green space. The beautiful St Mary's Cathedral with its excellent music program -- we attended Choral Evensong and a Christmas Concert -- is just a couple blocks away.

Bedrooms: Master bedroom extremely quiet -- I don't think we heard a sound in the 10 nights we were there -- or really any sound from the surrounding flats at any time. Heat in flat easily adjustable for comfort. Did not use the twin bedroom at the front of the flat, but it is quite spacious. Did not use downstairs bedroom either; while it does have a very low ceiling (especially compared to the very high ceilings of the main level), it appeared to be a fine place for sleeping.

Bathroom: Spacious with a large, free-standing tub, good shower and plenty of hot water.

Kitchen: Large, nicely-equipped kitchen with excellent appliances (gas cooktop, oven, dishwasher, refrigerator, washer and dryer). Nespresso coffee maker with starter supply of pods. Some basic food items (salt, pepper, sugar, oil, vinegar, etc.) as well as dishwasher and laundry detergents provided. Separate dining room with seating for 8.

Living Room: Living room quite comfortable and cozy, especially with the working fireplace -- a good supply of kindling, wood and coal provided.

Technology: Wi-fi was flawless. Nice flat-screen TV with good programming.

Cleanliness: Spotlessly clean.

Security: Neighborhood seemed very safe. Building very secure, requiring key access through two locked doors to enter the building and two more locks to enter the flat itself. Only a few flats in the same building.

Owner/Manager: Booking was easy as Kirsty was always very responsive and helpful. She also provides a very useful "instruction manual" for the flat, including excellent restaurant recommendations. Her local representative, Simon, was quite helpful on arrival.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Elegant, quiet oasis near The Royal Mile”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My family (myself, my husband, and my tween daughter) greatly enjoyed our stay in this lovely Edinburgh apartment. I would describe it as the perfect combination of elegance and comfort. The spacious, modern kitchen was a pleasure to cook in; each sofa in the living room was a cozy oasis for reading or daydreaming; and the bedrooms were comfortable and quiet. Although the apartment is located in a quiet residential area, it is only a short walk to Queens Street for shopping, and a longer stroll (or short cab ride) to the Royal Mile, and onwards to the High Kirk of Edinburgh (St Giles) and the castle.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate S
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“So extremely lovely!”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

What a perfect start to our two weekend holiday in Scotland. It was immaculate. The garden was a nice haven of quietness in such a big city. Kirsty and Simon were very accommodating and available when we did not understand something in the house. They called back immediately. The place itself is very very nice and the beds are perfect. So all in all if any of you are in need of a perfect place to stay in Edinburgh, just contact Kirsty through Tripadvisor

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon021...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Elegance & Comfort epitomised . . .”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

From the moment of booking Kirsty was the perfect host . she made contact immediately & made arrangements for us to be met at the apartment well ahead of our trip . The apartment itself is just sO lovely . Kirsty had made us aware that there would be scaffolding up due to building work that had overrun . Whilst it would have been lovely to see the facade of the building, this did nothing to detract from the apartment itself . Beautifully high ceilings, lots of original features, the perfect size for our party & the perfect place to stay for our time in Edinburgh . The apartment was clean & tidy, just enough little personal touches left about to make it feel homey . A basic pantry meant we could make a cup of tea or coffee without needing to pop out, but there are plenty of places within walking distance to stock up on supplies, & we enjoyed searching out lovely local butchers & bakers . A mix up over the leaving time on our last day { my fault entirely & I think subconsciously I was trying to hang onto every last moment I could in such a lovely place } was handled so well by Kirsty . I can't thank her & Simon enough for making our stay in Edinburgh such a happy one . Can't wait to book my next trip .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The balance of it being homely, but being comfortable enough to make yourself at home too .
Liked least: I would have liked a few more cooking utensils & bakeware, but appreciate that this is only because I took the opportunity to cook for the whole family whilst we were there .
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlanesTra...
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent Property, Excellent Location, Excellent Booking Process - Highly Recommend”
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I would highly recommend this property. It is really beautiful and is obvious that it is loved and cared for by the owners.

A very short and lovely stroll to Princes Street. The area where the property is located, while so close to the centre, is nice an quiet so it perfect.

There is a Tesco Express and The Co-Operative very close by - very convenient.

Property is on the first floor to the front of the building and overlooks a lovely little park which would be ideal for families with small children as there is a little playground. Very convenient.

The property itself is very comfortable - beautifully maintained. Beautiful georgian decor with large windows.

There is no elevator so there are stairs to be taken the first floor but this was not really an issue for us to be honest.

The owners are very helpful and accommodating. When booking accommodation directly from the owner it is always a worry that what you see may not be what you get ... in this case you will not be disappointed.

Highly recommend and would hope to return myself at some point - I have already recommended to some of my own friends/colleagues

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property itself and the location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Thanks Simon for your lovely lovely review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay - we'd be happy to have you back! Just for the benefit of future guests, I'd like to mention that we do have a stair gate available for families with small children to child-proof the spiral staircase.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing