We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING APARTMENTS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2
Ranked #98 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“AMAZING APARTMENTS”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We checked in to these apartments. The guy on reception was so friendly & helpful. I told him about a bad experience I had in other apartments (Tartan Apts) He immediately upgraded us to the penthouse suite as it wasn't busy. I thought this was a really nice gesture. It was very much appreciated & made our stay. The apartment was truely amazing. Large & spacious with views over the Union Canal. 2 bedrooms, large living area, bathroom with shower, shower room & toilet. Private parking (think it was £8). I would definately stay here again. Really central. 5 min walk to Lothian Rd so no need for taxi home. Couldn't fault it. Fully equiped extensive kitchen if you wanted to eat in. What more could you ask for !

Room Tip: Splash out on the Penthouse, although I would imagine all the rooms would be lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CATHY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    97
    27
    8
    10
See reviews for
160
80
6
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Booked into fountain court apartments eq2 today and from the min i arrived to reception the assistant was MORE THAN helpful also got two bedroom apartment which i had asked for due to my friends arriving over a day after me! They surprised me by hving this AMAZING two bedroom apartment available for my friends getting here tomm! i would MOREEE than recommend this complex to anyone! thank you very much!

Room Tip: apartment 18 is AMAZINGGGG!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Lovely apartment, lovely staff, lovely weekend - will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jinskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2012

could not fault this place at all, everything you could need and more was provided. Staff are more than happy to help. Room attendents are very helpful as was the check in staff.. will be staying here again without a doubt. Only problem we had was with the sound system but this was quicky fixed when our apartment got cleaned.. Thank you fountain court for making our trip too Edinburgh one to remember :D

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Third time here. Ideal for families as the apartments are large and excellent value for money. Beginning to show their age and some of the fittings could do with replacement.
Kitchen is well equipped and good for dining in. Main drawback is the slightly bleak surroundings. The area is on the process of being developed but this seems to be on hold at present. This means that there is an element of wasteland immediately around the apartment block. Still, I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skotti56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed for 2 evenings whilst on business, and hard to fault the location, the apartment itself or the great service from reception. I'd particularly highlight the quality of the room interior, its spaciousness and comfort and the range of facilities (2 ipod docks, 2 TVs, bluray player, etc)

However, I was very frustrated by the medieval wifi policy which blocked not just the obvious 'dodgy sites' but anything and everything which involved some form of streaming - video (e.g. youtube), audio (e.g. spotify), cloud services like dropbox. This policy fails to recognise that there is legitimate business uses for sites like YouTube (we deliver all our training this way, and embed in our support site) which presented me real difficulties. After an email, I was offered the choice to have some restrictions lifted but overall I just feel the hotel should address the root cause of their policy (i.e. invest in proper bandwidth) as its very rare you encounter anything so feudal. On to be honest, if I want to watch youtube for personal reasons or listen to music online, I expect any modern hotel to let me.

Overall, I'd stay again as it really is a wonderful place BUT I'd certainly make sure the wifi was configured so I could do work.

Room Tip: Ask up front, if you need wifi for business purposes and need some bandwidth, for them to remove res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCAAPTS, Manager at Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for your review. Just to make you aware that unfortunately you have posted your review on the wrong property. We appreciate all feedback from guests and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Stewart Apartments. Our internet policy has been put in place to control the bandwidth management giving everyone a fair amount of complimentary internet usage. As an internet service provider it is essential that we protect ourselves from any unlawful practices. In specific circumstances these restrictions can be lifted for legitimate business purposes. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Booked this as a trip for my husbands 50th Birthday so wanted the apartment to be good. Was not disappointed!! We were upgraded to a larger apartment and found it to be very clean with absolutely everything you need for a very comfortable stay. Good quality toiletries, tea and coffee which I didnt expect. Also in a great location, on the canal bank, just a few minutes walk from the city centre. Two nice wine bars and an italian restaurant right beside apartments too.
Would definately go back and would recommend them unreservedly.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor cos the view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suejim22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Salisbury Hotel
#86 of 149 in Edinburgh
831 reviews
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#76 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,553 reviews
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2

Property: Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2
Address: 1 Lower Gilmore Bank | Union Canal, Edinburgh EH3 9QP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain Court Apartments Eq-2 Hotel Edinburgh
Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2 Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing