We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2
Ranked #97 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Me, my husband and our friends stayed at EQ2 for 2 nights from 26th march. It was fantastic, great size rooms and beds, plenty of storage space. Very clean and quiet and peacefull, our balcony overlooked the canal an we had a great view of the castle also. The two ladies on reception to welcome us when we checked in were very polite and very helpfull.we had no problems at all with our accomodation and the staff. top quality appartments. great staff. great location. Would deffinatly reccomend.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the canal are quiet and have a great view of the castle.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marischa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
There are newer reviews for Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2013

Stayed in room 35, overlooking canal.

Apartment had everything we needed and was roomy and a great location to visit all the sites. Easy to book and staff very pleasant. Plenty to do in a short distance with bars, restaurants etc.

Princess Street is approx 15 mins away when walking and royal Mile approx 10 mins.

Highly recommended :)

Stayed: March 2013
4  Thank Sarters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I stayed here for the night of my 30th Birthday and it was just brilliant. Gated, under-garage parking with inside access to the apartments. Very quiet, very clean. We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment - 2 x double rooms (1 x ensuite) and a twin room with separate bathroom, kitchen/dining room and living room. It was ideal.
The apartments all look on to a beautiful setting of the barges on the canal. It was beautiful and peaceful to look out on to in the morning when then sun was rising and Edinburgh Castle in the distance.
I have booked to go back and would absolutely recommend to anyone to stay!

Room Tip: Any! They are all great
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Falkirk_Tiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

This property is outstanding. Quiet location, lovely place on the canal, comfortable bed and living room furniture, well-appointed kitchen with clean dishes in excellent condition. Restaurants are close to hand and the centre of Edinburgh is a 15-minute walk. We got a pre-paid non-refundable deal and it was excellent value. A free upgrade from 1 BR to 2 BR was a nice touch as well. This is one time I find literally nothing wrong.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrevorLucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

First discovered apartment hotels when travelling internationally. Then needed them back in UK. This one in Edinburgh is just brilliant. Really helpful staff - on check-in and if ever there's a problem (e.g. getting hi-fi to work). High quality spec in kitchen, lounge, bedrooms and bathrooms; lovely bedding and towels. Quiet location which can be quite rare in city. Lovely situation by canal. If could afford one fo the apartments here, would want to buy one! Definitely keep going back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahFromScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We spent a night at eq2 recently and our only question is why isn’t everyone staying here? What a fantastic place – centrally located along the canal and a short walk from Brunstfield, Tollcross and more.

I have rarely seen a better equipped flat. In a sea of sad, money making aparthotels, long on profit-seeking and short on customer experience eq2 stands out. The flat was spacious with lovely views, flat screen TV, luxurious bathrooms (great shower) and a fully kitted kitchen. Our flat overlooked the canal (though there is an abandoned piece of land beyond) and had big windows and a small balcony. Parking was extra but good value and right under the building. Enough said. Book now!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the canal have more light/view. Some of the other rooms might be looking onto...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jac p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

If you want a superb quality apartment with loads of space and are independent and don't need hotel restaurants and room service then this is a great choice. Very reasonable underground parking (£8 per night) and loads of it. Towards the Morningside side of Edinburgh with lots of bistros and bars nearby, but still a stiff walk to Princes and George Streets if you want the real action! Grassmarket and the Castle much nearer and take about 20 minutes to get to, and the general area feels safe and residential.
Right next to the canal with a few cafes and bars too.
Would have liked the choice of a non-synthetic, hot pillow and duvet. Also, the television in the sitting room wasn't working, but to be fair, we didn't report it because we were busy and out.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor where I guess the noise of returning revellers at night might keep you awake. Vi...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoratioT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#72 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,601 reviews
Lochend Serviced Apartments
#142 of 150 in Edinburgh
178 reviews
West End
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
#125 of 150 in Edinburgh
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2

Address: 1 Lower Gilmore Bank | Union Canal, Edinburgh EH3 9QP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £104 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain Court Apartments Eq-2 Hotel Edinburgh
Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2 Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing