We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice overall.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2
Ranked #88 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Went there for 2 days with my wife and another couple.
Booked the 2 bedroom apartments and were upgraded to a 3 bedroom apartments.
Overall the flat is really nice and spacious with "free" WI-FI, 15 min walk from the city centre so it's not that far from Prince's street as some reviews mentioned.

Cons:
- Carpeting a bit dirty, need serious cleaning
- TV channels are tough to set up, 3 boxes, remote controls not responsive...
- All doors were very noisy (oil missing) and slamming (only few stoppers were available)
- Shower variable hot and cold without touching anything
- Check out 11am - Additional 10£ for noon check out, 20£ for 1pm check out....

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain_Court, Reception Manager at Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and for your constructive comments.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the maintenance problems you experienced, I have passed your feedback to our Facilities Manager. We do have an ongoing carpet cleaning program.

We are installing 40" smart televisions in the near future.

I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Stephen Kinnear
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

Fountain Court Apartments was a great place for us to stay. We had three couples in our group and this was a great deal for us to all be together in common living space. The location worked out good. My only negative would be the quality of mattresses on the beds - but even that wouldn't keep us from coming back! Great deal for bigger groups.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suncitytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed on the third flood which was vey quiet because there was no one under us. The floor is squeaky and carpeting thin and worn so it may have been a different story for the lower units. The unit was well equipped with everything you would need in the updated kitchen including dishwashing soap etc. the unit was huge and great for people wanting their own room at night but common gathering places the remainder of the time. There is a small front office for check in and out that closes at ten pm. There is a larger office open 24 hours about ten minute walk away for after hours emergencies. The keys: took us awhile to get them figured out...one for the front entrance and two to open the actual door. I could see someone locking themselves out if not careful. No sundries such as milk or soda machine on the premises. The apartment/hotel is close to a main street but several turns off so if not taking a taxi get good directions. It is situated at the end of a canal so you can walk out the front, around the tip of the canal and short cut through to the main street. There is a small night club and several restaurants and shops within the five minute walk. To get to the room you have to walk across a cobbled area that was really rough on the luggage and would be extremely difficult for someone in a wheelchair or with walking issues. Appeared to be a safe neighborhood; we were out late in the evenings and did not have any concerns. It is a mile walk to the castle which you can see from the top floor of the
hotel. Taxis were plentiful in town in the evening to return to the hotel( if tired). I think the taxi
was about ten euro from the train station and about twenty to the airport. There is also a bus that
runs close by for 3.50 euro to the airport. My only regret is staying only two nights instead of three (there is a late check out option) and the front desk called a taxi for us to get to the airport which was there in minutes.

Room Tip: Stay on the top if possible for noise prevention
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aphasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I stayed here for my partners birthday, as soon as we came by we could drop our luggage off before check in! Which gave us a chance to have a look around on the day we flew in. I would also recommend using 'city cabs' as they So reliable! We managed to get to the city centre within a 10/15 minute walk. Found 3 close by supermarkets- a sainsburys, tesco but our favourite was the Scottish cooperative as they had every wine in the book! Will def come again! Only down site was that we didn't have a balcony- but this was easily solved as the receptionist kindly upgraded us! A* from us both. Ps loved the double headed showers.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Epinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Very well presented apartment. Friendly staff - always helpful. Good location -10 minutes walk to Princes Street. Perfect for a family as we have 9 year old and 7 month old. Eldest had her own room with TV whereas if we went for the hotel option we would have been almost twice the cost as we would have needed 2 rooms. This way we had 2 good size bedrooms en suite, living room and kitchen. In future our first choice wherever we go will be apartments.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieranmchugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We had a fantastic time in Edinburgh capped off with our fab penthouse appt, great facilities, kitchen over looked the castle sitting room appartments and the canal. The appartment was spotless. Little downside was that there were several groups who were slightly noisy! The staff here are excellent really helpful, I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

These Apartments are furnished to a high standard and are very close to the main attractions of the town we walked from the Station (about 20 mins) and found it all very welcoming. There is a local supermarket if needed for breakfast things and lots of Restaurants locally.
Now for a few minor quibbles the TV seemed quite complicated with 2 separate remotes and a DVD player that was disconnected but when connected worked fine, the loo seat was not on straight and the pedal bin pedal did not work, a bit picky but worth mentioning as this was the impression I left with, very good but if a few details had been sorted it would have made it perfect.
Still highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shakerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Lochend Serviced Apartments
#146 of 151 in Edinburgh
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,646 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2

Address: 1 Lower Gilmore Bank | Union Canal, Edinburgh EH3 9QP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £92 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain Court Apartments Eq-2 Hotel Edinburgh
Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2 Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing