We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient -- both locations and having an apartment rather than just a room -- but not worth the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2
Ranked #101 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Convenient -- both locations and having an apartment rather than just a room -- but not worth the price.”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed there during the Edinburgh Festival and found it easy to get back and forth on foot to all events and to restaurants even though the site is not right downtown. In fact, it's rather nice to escape the downtown crowds without being too far to get places. It's also an easy bus ride to the airport. A disadvantage of the location to be aware of, however, is that you can't get to it from the nearest major street without a good stretch on cobblestones -- unpleasant when pulling a suitcase or walking on really tired, end of festival-day feet. Another minus: the waterfront location makes the area a magnet for late-night revelers. We had to choose between sleeping in a stuffy room or not sleeping at all on several nights.

About the hotel itself. First, of course, it's nice to have an apartment rather than just a room: the washer was handy (beware, though, no dryer) and fridge came in useful for snacks. The photos overstate the elegance of the place, however. It is clean, but the carpet is stained, the furniture tacky (although servicable), the bathroom bare-bones. The bed was the worst I've had in a hotel in years. Service was minimal. We arrived exhausted as one does from long transAtlantic flights, and were told our room wasn't quite ready (even though it was well past check-in). Nothing said about any problems. Came back twice more -- no room until 5:30. Not until did the end did they say there'd been a mechanical problem that they could have predicted would mean a long repair. They offered us late check-out on our own departure day, but an early flight schedule made that useless -- no other effort was made to apologize was made. My sense was that a young staff is left in the small reception office, with no real power to problem solve.

Room Tip: Don't fall into the trap of choosing a canal-side room. If you have the option, face away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dallenboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain_Court, Reception Manager at Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

I am glad that you appreciated the washer, it is a washer/drier.

With regard to the carpets, we do have an ongoing carpet cleaning and replacement program.

Having checked with my both the Reception & Housekeeping team I can find no record of any guest waiting until 1730 to check-in. We did not receive any feedback during your stay or on departure regarding the bed or your other comments.

My Reception team are experienced and able to address guest comments should they be received during their stay.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your feedback and ask that you contact me directly.

Kind Regards

Stephen Kinnear
Reception Manager

Stephen.Kinnear@fountaincourt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    93
    26
    8
    10
See reviews for
154
79
6
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

This was a return visit to EQ2 and the Festival. Location perfect - 15 minute walk to the Royal Mile, 10 minutes to the Usher Hall, lots of local shops and cafes (Tesco Metro round the corner, fantastic Loudons cafe, try Bar Frizzante Italian on Lothian Road). Service superb again, very clean, good TV with Sky Sports for the Ashes!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolDanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

These apartments are in a great location within 10 minutes walk to Princes St, 15 mins to the castle etc. There is a Tesco Metro supermarket 100m away.
One aspect of the building is facing the canal basin which has a couple of bar/ restaurants which are great for a pizza, but do have external music speakers and outside tables. These are open late at the weekend and can be noisy on that side of the building.

We stayed in no. 11, a 2 bedroom apartment on the lower floor and were plagued by noise from within the building. There is some sort of mechanical pump? Which comes on VERY loudly for 10 to 20 seconds at a time repeatedly from very early morning. We could not change appartment as they were apparently full. It causes the kitchen to vibrate and drowns out the TV.

Otherwise, the accomodation has everything we needed but is looking a bit tired. The staff were very friendly but couldn't help with the noise (they were aware of this problem with some of the appts.) I'm afraid it's far from 5 star but is adequate.

Room Tip: Avoid no.11 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirajax327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This was our second stop on a family vacation through Scotland. It was decent value for the money and spacious accommodation for a family of five. Overall, average ~ the carpet was stained and the rooms faced the other units in the building. Because the rooms faced inward, the views were not what you would have expected, the noise and cigarette smoke from others out on balconies made it uncomfortable to keep the windows and sliding glass doors open. Be aware that there is construction which began early in the morning going on in the lot next door. Also, the washer-dryer is a combined appliance and does not dry clothing well, so if you are counting on doing any wash, be fore warned.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adventurefamilyfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain_Court, Reception Manager at Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the stained carpet, we do have an ongoing carpet cleaning programme.

Our apartments are non-smoking as you outlined and guests are welcome to smoke on their balconies.

I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and found it to be of value.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Stephen Kinnear
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

A spacious spotless accommodation with all modern conveniences .Televisions in most rooms and lovely views of the canal with boatel.. Was a pleasant 15 minute walk into the centre of Edinbugh. Just a short distance to Levens a beautiful Thai restaurant.
The Ice Cream parlour was at the end of the road and was great. A real home from home with all the gadgets dishwasher and fully fitted kitchen.. If you can get a room with a balcony and watch the world go by after a busy day sight seeing that is good.. Staff were helpful and the Scottish people so friendly. A beautiful city and beautiful accommodation ideal for families and friends,

Room Tip: Balcony over looking canal/river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain_Court, Reception Manager at Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and for your postive comments which I have shared with our team.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards


Stephen Kinnear
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed for 2 days and would have stayed longer if we had knows how nice it was. Its very close to all the tourist attractions. Several supermarkets and restaurants nearby. The reception staff was very friendly and helpful. Please note there was only 2 toilets. 1 at the master bedroom, and 1 to be shared by the rest of the guest. Very safe and easy access to the basement parking.

Room Tip: rooms facing the river would be perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchieko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Last-minute booking on weekend in June for family of 3 adults. Location outside the city centre - calm, but not near so many shops or restaurants. Apartment is very well equipped, comfortable and clean. Two bedrooms, a full kitchen, complete AV equipment including an iPod dock. All well-maintained. Very nice - highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gopal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Salisbury Hotel
#90 of 148 in Edinburgh
819 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#36 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,043 reviews
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2

Property: Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2
Address: 1 Lower Gilmore Bank | Union Canal, Edinburgh EH3 9QP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain Court Apartments Eq-2 Hotel Edinburgh
Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2 Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing