We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2
Ranked #106 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Girls weekend”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had a 3 night stay for 6, sharing two apartments.
The rooms were immaculatly clean, and we had no complaints over the standards kept in the rooms. On inspection of each apartment we found one of the windows would not shut, and a blind, however these were reported to reception and maintenace fixed them while we were out.
A breakfast was left in the fridge in each apartment for the first day, the only complaint being that yoghurt, cereal and juice were left for 5 and there was 6 of us, however we had taken our own provisions so it was not a problem.
The hairdryer was not the best in the world, very hot and slow and overheated quickly. I gave up and borrowed one of my aunts hairdryers. The towels and toiletries left were of good standard and the bed was very comfortable (slept like a log) and warm.
The kitchen had everything you could possibly need, and when we all crammed into one for breakfast we borrowed a couple of extra cups from the 2nd apartment.
Italian restaurant over the road was good value for money, we didn't book just turned up on the off chance and they found us a table. Buses to town were frequent and buying a dayrider ticket meant we we could hop on and off any bus returning to the apartments mid afternoon before going out again at no extra cost.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    90
    26
    8
    10
See reviews for
150
77
6
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on 27th Novemeber with my parents and 16 month old baby. We stayed in the three bedroom penthouse, and it was fantastic. We were provided with a high chair and travel cot at no extra cost. The apartment itself was well equiped with a washing machine and dishwasher, and the usual iron, ironing board and plenty of kitchen ware. We were provided with more than enough towels and 5 star toiletries. The parking was an extra £10 per night, which was well worth it for your car to be in the locked underground garage under the apartment. There's a sainsburys local just 5 minutes walk away. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vegas4times
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed one saturday night on a shopping weekend to Edinburgh.
Apartment was clean and well appointed with all of the cutlery and crockery you needed and in a modern style.
There was a balcony but a bit chilly to use the time of year we went.Location is slightly out of the centre but in a nice safe area within easy walking distance of Royal Mile,Castle etc
We had the penthouse which was very spacious,much better than a hotel after a hard day
Receptionists were friendly and helpful.
All in all no complaints and i would stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gomersal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

From an apartment point or view Eq-2 had everything you could want for including the fact dishwasher and washing tablets where present on arrival on a critical note the carpets do need a great deal of attention and the shower gel provided could be less watered down and more like the concentrated hand gel provided from the same brand, However the management team at the moment could do to focus there time on customer service / guest relations from this point of view our stay was Atrocious. on both evenings there was a Hen party present it' took 4 phone calls for the noise / antics to stop. The concierge stated to me in person that the receptionist did not feel confident enough to go to the apartment herself however in a response later from the management she had stated she did go!
We where also informed by the manager after check out we should of being offered a complimentary late checkout, communication is a very basic concept in guest relation positions which clearly did not occur between ourselves or fountain courts staff
As a solution from the management we have being offered a free upgrade on our next stay (subject to availability!) which sounds pathetic on its own legs we where offered one of these prior to our arrival due to a personal request - did this occur hmmm NO

Personally we believe due to the Lack of service the Lack of communication and the fact our stay was ruined by guests that the staff where incompetent of dealing with that we should of being offered a refund for 1 night at least.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomw121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain_Court, Reception Manager at Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for your recent review which I am happy to respond to.

We do not water down our toiletries!

You did request not to be on the ground floor when booking online via a third party site, all our one bedroom apartments in this property are on the ground floor. Unfortunately we were not able to offer you an upgrade due to our availability; we did leave a message on your voicemail explaining this prior to your arrival.

You did comment on noise during your stay, my colleague checked this and resolved this immediately. Our Night Team were made aware of your comments and continued to monitor the situation-they did not encounter any further noise from any apartments.

The Duty Manager spoke to you on your departure and explained they would investigate your comments further which they did and re-checked with both Day and Night teams, they then e-mailed you explaining their findings and offering an upgrade as you explained. We do not offer compensation when we do not think the comments are correct.

However thank you for giving me the opportunity to address your comments once again in an open forum.

Kind Regards

Stephen Kinnear
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife and I spent a week at the Fountain Court Apartments. These are located a bit out of the old city, but still convenient as we were able to walk everywhere. The buses are also very close if you need another option. There is a Tesco Express a few hundred meters away as well as a cinema and other stores within a few minutes walk. The kitchen was very serviceable as we cooked many of our own meals (on a gas stove which was nice). The apartments were very spacious, with lots of storage.

The staff was also very helpful throughout the stay. One night the power did go out and we lost heat & hot water as well as our wifi connection. We called the 24 hour maintenance number and they came right away to fix it.

We enjoyed our stay and would recommend these apartments, but if you are expecting a 5* resort experience you may be disappointed. The furnishings, decor, bathrooms, linens, etc were all clean and serviceable, but not what I would consider luxury. However, these apartments are very reasonably priced, convenient and had everything we needed to enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Victoria
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We were looking forward to our stay at EQ2. The website shows some very nice photos and we were expecting similar. The rooms were spacious, two good size bathrooms, nice lounge and well equipped kitchen. There were obvious signs of wear and tear like marks on the carpets and scrapes and patches on the walls. Looking past this, we were very comfortable and there were no problems with the facilities as such. It is just a pity that with a little bit of maintenance, the rooms would have impressed us more.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbh71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East Scotland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Fountain Court on several occasions during the last 5 years. It provides good quality spacious accomadation in the main and is well located. My first experiences were excellent, but I have felt less satisfied during recent visits. My impression is that very little has been done to maintain the property; walls have hand marks and carpets are badly stained in places. During the same period, the costs have escalated significantly and charges for extras such as parking are now additions rather than inclusive in the headline price. My overall impression is the owners are sweating the asset. This won't be tenable in the long run. I will look for alternatives in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Highlander1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain_Court, Reception Manager at Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

We do have an ongoing maintenance programme and will be replacing carpets in the near future. We have just installed Smart TV's in all apartments.

I was surprised to read your comments reagrding parking since this has been chargeable for the past 6 years and is competitively priced within the locale.

I do hope that you will continue to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Stephen Kinnear
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lochend Serviced Apartments
#142 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Harris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2

Property: Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2
Address: 1 Lower Gilmore Bank | Union Canal, Edinburgh EH3 9QP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, ACCOR, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain Court Apartments Eq-2 Hotel Edinburgh
Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2 Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing