We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short visit to Edinburgh to meet with family”
Review of Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Terrace Hotel
Ranked #39 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Embo, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Short visit to Edinburgh to meet with family”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This Hotel is in an excellent location, close to city centre and major attractions. The Hotel is on four floors and we had a room on the top floor at the rear of the Hotel. The view from our room was over some lovely gardens, trees and parkland. In the morning we were delighted to see many wild birds such as Goldfinches, magpies, wood pigeons and many others. The room was basically furnished and the ensuite toilet and shower was very small, but everything was spotlessly clean.
I had some problems with the stairs due to knee problem and would imagine that this hotel would not be suitable to persons with mobility problems.
Breakfast was served in a nicely laid out room on the ground floor and there was an extensive array of fruit juice, cereals, fruit etc. Also a large choice of cooked breakfast available. All in all very good value for money.
We would certainly recommend this Hotel which is in a perfect location, has spectacular views and is spotlessly clean.
Only drawbacks we encountered were that parking between 0830-1730 is restricted to 4 hours and quite pricey. The lack of lifts would be a problem to those with mobility problems.
We also thought that the spare fold up beds on the uppermost landing were unsightly and should perhaps have been stored out of sight.
Again we would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel. The price we paid was most certainly worth every penny, and our stay was most enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emboalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    131
    27
    1
    2
See reviews for
72
195
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Honesty couldn't recommend this place enough! Breakfast was so yummie with a big selection of choice (although for me there was no choice, I just had to be a Scottish cooked breakfast and yummie chocolate croissant)!! An location was perfect! Stayed for the half marathon and the start line was all of 8minutes away! Marathon started early so you didn't get the full breakfast but they were super nice and laid out a self service breakfast for you super early! Really close to all the shops! Staff were quality.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzyjanderdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
binty, Owner at Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
WOW!! All that running has gone to your head!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights with my best friend. Top floor room lovely views. Room clean, bed comfy. Staff excellent and very friendly. Breakfast yummy and plentiful. Ten minute stroll into town or about 4 pound for a taxi. Would recommend....

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AlilvsJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Really enjoyed my stay here at the Terrace. Beautiful hotel, nice rooms, great staff and an excellent location. It is just behind Carlton hill, on a lovely cobbled street, so it is really quiet, but also within easy walking distance of Princes Street. Staff were very friendly and I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My mom, my brother, and I stayed in the Terrace Hotel for three nights in May. It was a good stay for the price. The building itself is beautiful; a lovely restored Georgian town home. My room (a double + single) was quite large (though the en-suite bathroom was rather tiny, as is usually the case with bathrooms in historic buildings) and very clean. The only disappointment was the bed; the mattress was very old and rather uncomfortable. I was able to sleep well enough despite this, but the rest of my family had similar issues with their beds and had a lot of trouble sleeping on theirs.

Breakfast was decent enough; nothing special, but it was nice to have, since there are no other breakfast options within walking distance.

The location is a bit of a mixed bag. The hotel is on a quiet residential street (aside from a couple other hotels and one restaurant) on the north side of Carlton Hill, so it's relatively peaceful. There isn't much for dining in the immediate area around the hotel, however. It's a bit of a walk to most of the Old Town (about a mile to the middle of High Street on the Royal Mile) and even further to the New Town, but Leith Street, Canongate and the palace are closer. If you don't mind walking a bit or using cabs, it's a pretty good location, especially for the price.

Overall it was a decent stay for the price.

Room Tip: Street-facing rooms can be a bit noisy with the cobblestone street, though mine had wooden shutters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denkendesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
binty, Owner at Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
I just walked back from the Omni Centre (took me 5 minutes) which has several restaurants including Franki and Benny’s and a Pizza Hut with at least a dozen other restaurants shoulder to shoulder nearby. And just a few minutes further St James centre and John Lewis with all their restaurants. I thought we had a very full breakfast menu with cereals porridge kippers fresh and diced fruit mushrooms cooked breakfast all sorts of eggs croissants toast breakfast bars tea coffee hot chocolate etc etc and as much as you like to eat. However I would welcome any suggestion as to any additions. We have looked at the beds – there was a choice of 2 in each room – and can only find one which might be a bit soft but as we are all lightweights here we cant find fault with any of them. We might consider changing one of them. Royal Terrace and Leith Street (with the Omni Centre) are IN the New Town. Most of the centre of Edinburgh IS the New Town (so not too far to walk). If instead of turning left towards Leith Street (400 metres) as you go out of our front door – if you turn right – that takes you downhill (another 5 minutes walk) to Holyrood Palace and the Queens Park and The Royal Mile which leads for exactly one mile up to the Castle – all that part of Edinburgh is the original Old Town. The Royal mile itself has plenty of restaurants – but all a bit touristy. You can spend all day roaming about the Royal mile and the Castle and having reached that far its another 20 minutes walk back downhill to Leith Street and then along to our hotel – a full circuit! I’m glad you discovered our wooden window shutters – most guests don’t know they are there. We had a French menusier ( cabinet maker / joiner) here this morning who wanted to take photographs of them . All shutters in France are on the outsides of buildings and he had to make some inside ones. All of our rooms have the original shutters. Hope you managed to get up to the top of Calton Hill while you were here. Its right behind us and there are monuments and great views from the top right over to the Forth Road Bridge,. There was some sort of Pagan ceremony there recently in May with assorted drumming and painted writhing bodies!! Edinburgh is a very compact city with lots of interesting places to visit. 3 days is hardly enough time to explore it all. So hope you will all come back some time to see the bits you missed. Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This hotel has a lot of character and charm, with wonderful hospitality from the staff...especially Justina in the breakfast room each morning, who was simply a joy! There was a lot of variety and choices with the breakfasts each morning...each person could personalize what they ordered, from full Scottish breakfast to only eggs and toast. Good selection of cereals and juices as well.

The room we had (#10) was very large, easily accommodating the 3 of us, and had a great view of the garden in back. Bathroom a little small, but typical of older hotels. The housekeeping was very good each day.

Only complaint was a very firm queen mattress that was not very comfortable and should be replaced. Still, a very good value and experience...I would stay here on a return trip to Edinburgh!

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors require climbing several flights of stairs, but worth the views, especially if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My family of four stayed at the Terrace Hotel for four nights. Lovely hotel in a quiet street. Our family room on second floor was spacious and very clean. We had 3 beds in the room and still plenty of room to move around. Great garden view from the room. The free wifi-connection worked very well in our room. We had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank domniska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#6 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#38 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Dene Guest House
#21 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
The Hedges Guest House
#25 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Hotel

Property: Terrace Hotel
Address: 37 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to be in the city centre, 15 minutes walk from major attractions - enjoy elegant Georgian architecture or gaze out at beautiful views of gardens and park, Arthurs Seat, or River Forth - then the terrace Hotel is for you. City centre (15 minutes walk from Princes St) Original Georgian architecture. Quiet, pretty views of gardens and Arthurs Seat at rear - views of river and Fife from top floors at front. 5 Minutes walk from Playhouse theatre Holyrood palace and Parliament and Omni Centre. 5 Minutes walk to restaurants (10+) Warm - mostly spacious rooms - some with high ceilings - and Georgian architecture throughout. Elegant lounge with piano. Free wifi throughout and free use of guests computer in lounge. Full central heating and extra guest controlled night heating. Rooms 1st 2nd or 3rd floor. No lift. Easy street parking (metered). £5.00 Per day parking 2 minutes walk in London Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing