We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended place to stay - no complaints at all” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arrandale Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arrandale Guest House
Ranked #167 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Recommended place to stay - no complaints at all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Me and my partner stayed here whilst in the city for the fringe festival. I have no complaints or moans whatsoever for this guest house. From our arrival there was a nice greeting from the owner, the room was spotless clean, everything that you would expect from a guest house was there and also a few extras such as toiletries, shower gels etc in bathroom. Breakfast in the morning was made to order for each guest, all the items were lovely, we would definitley stay here again...... only minor thing was the rate of £80, this was probably due to the fringe festival and everywhere had increased their prices, but the advertised rates on the website for "normal" stays of around £50 is great value for money. Thanks for a lovely stay. Jon & Shaunna

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weejaister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    32
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
21
43
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

Staying at Arrandale Guest House was a delightful experience. We arrived very late, midnight-ish, and there was Lis's daughter to welcome us, big smile on her face, despite the unfriendly time of the night. Next morning, another big smile, Lis's this time. Ready she was to feed us the best haggis around and to pour us all the tea and coffee we wanted.

We most certainly do recommend Arrandale Guest House and as for ourselves, we know exactly where we are staying next time we go to Edinburgh!

Anna and Maria

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bebitz65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

My wife and I recently had a weekend break before our son is born. We booked a room at the Arrandale and were told we had to pay a deposit AND the full balance before we arrived. I have stayed in about 10 b&b's in Edinburgh over the years and this is the first time I have ever had to pay in advance!

The room... Well... Nice enough I guess unless you are 38 weeks pregnant - which my wife was! The room had a double and a single which meant the door to the en-suite only opened half way! The toilet seat was broken and the bathroom was very small.

The beds were very uncomfortable and the duvet felt like it was made of lead - haven't slept in a bed like that since the 80's. Speaking of which, that's the era of the TV we had! Although it did have a remote albeit a broken one, taped together!

We had a great weekend in a great city and will definately return but will NOT be staying at the Arrandale!!

Price was ok but much better B&Bs in the same street!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfessorScuzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lissiet, Owner at Arrandale Guest House, responded to this review, 5 November 2010
I was very disappointed and hurt to read the above review. I have had very many happy satisfied guests staying here, some of whom return frequently. Most guests are happy with the price and pay a deposit and are advised of the cancellation terms. I am sorry you were unhappy with your stay, but regret that you did not contact me at that time so that I could have improved things for you. I would have been most willing to see to your complaints on the spot, or offer you another room. I wish to assure any future, prospective guests that I maintain a good quality, 3 star guest house and any repairs or improvements are attended to promptly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INDIA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2009

We stayed there for one week....it is very comfortable place, very near to bus stand.An indian take away is just few steps away...and caretaker is awesome.....

  • Liked — conveniently located,
  • Disliked — room size is small
  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank feedback_mg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilah336
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

I've stayed in quite a few B 'n' Bs in the past, but this is the first time I've felt moved to write a review about one because staying at Arrandale was a truely unpleasant experience.

I telephone Arrandale to book a room for myself and my partner, and thought everything was fine after speaking to the member of staff. The next night at 11pm the owner telephoned to inform me that the person who took my booking forgot to ask me for my card details as a deposit. I found this very unprofessional.

Once at Arrandale the decor was a bit like being at your Grandmother's house. I found the owner quite rude and she appeared flustered when we spoke to her like asking to use the computer in the dining table, a service advertised.

Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank lilah336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, GA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

Our three-person family stayed here for three nights in late May and would not give this location more than a qualified C-. We were supposed to have a family room (expecting something a little bigger than a double) but were crammed together ala sardines in a room overlooking the street - one, by the way that included bus traffic, ambulances, motorcycles, loud noise, etc.
Not to be too critical of the place but it needs a good 'overhaul.' Lock on our door quit working after first nite, our bathroom ("en-suite?") was two door down and, to use it, of course, one had to be completely awake and use key-locks to enter and leave. This was an imposition on our sleep to say the least.
Parking was ok, that is IF you were the first one there with an automobile and planned to leave it parked for the duration of the stay, which, of course, we did.
Breakfast was pretty good, with good choice of items (other than the standard "English Breakfast" which most Americans do not like, by the way.
My worst gripe was with the check in. I had to fill out paperwork before I was allowed to unload our luggage - even though I had pre-paid the first night! Lis had all the info on us and waiting until I filled out information that she had already was maddening. I sensed that she was a bit paranoid of strangers, foreigners and particularly Americans.
The one thing that irritated me the most? Charging 1 pound per hour for the internet! This was the only charge I paid during our 28-day, 26 B&B trip around Great Britain!
There are better choices in Edinburgh and even better ones in the same area. if you go, strike this one from your thoughts and try another one (which may not be any better, but then, it won't take much to match or beat this place.)

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GwinnettTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2007

We stayed at Arrandale Guest House in May 2006 for 3 nights and found the owner, Lis, very helpful and friendly.

We arrived quite late at night, almost midnight, but Lis had ensured that someone was around to let us check-in. For the rest of our stay, there was no curfew, so it was ideal for us when we were exploring the city by night.

Breakfast was good, and service was good (i.e our cooked breakfasts arrived nice and warm...and on time! :) ). I guess it helped that you pre-order breakfast the night before so that the cooks can schedule your breakfast.

The room we had was very comfortable and of good size - with 2 large single beds / 2 small double beds. Our bathroom and shower were working fine during our stay. Our rooms were cleaned daily and no complaints about the level of cleaniness during our stay. :)

Location-wise, it was ideal for us. We could walk into town within 20 min. However, if you don't feel like walking, there is a bus stop a few minutes walk away, with very frequent bus service. (and we were impressed by how punctual the buses were! :) ) Can't comment on parking as we didn't drive while we were there. We could very easily find good reasonably-priced food within walking distance of the B&B.

The whole road is full of B&Bs, and Arrandale Guest House is towards the end of the road, so, is quieter but still near enough to all amenities.

On check-out in the morning, we left our luggage with Lis for the day before we left Edinburgh in the evening.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and we believe that it was really good value for money. Thank you Lis for your wonderful warm Scottish hospitality! :)

  • Liked — Excellent value budget accommodation, warm hospitality, efficient service, location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoothemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Ardmillan Hotel
#169 of 445 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
West End
22 Chester Street
22 Chester Street
#80 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Mackenzie Guest House
#127 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#38 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#96 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Abcorn Guest House
#176 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrandale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrandale Guest House

Property: Arrandale Guest House
Address: 28 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arrandale Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lis & Ross extend a warm, friendly welcome to our 3 star Arrandale Guest House, a spacious 19th century villa, once a large family home and retaining some original features. Ideally located for the Castle, University and Roslyn. •Located in the Newington area on the south side of the city centre, close to Edinburgh University, the Commonwealth Swimming Pool, the Royal Hospital for Sick Children, Arthur's Seat and the Meadows. •A short bus journey to the city centre, the Castle, Scottish Parliament, the railway station and the bus station. •Frequent, excellent bus service to all parts of the city, to Castle, Holyrood Palace, Royal Yacht Britannia and to the south of the city, to Roslyn Glen, Butterfly World and to the Scottish Borders •rooms - single, double, twin, room for a small family/group of 3 people and a large family/group of 4 or 5 people. •5 Bedrooms have an en-suite bathroom, one bedroom has a private bathroom outside of the bedroom (it is not shared). •Every room is equipped with a television, radio alarm clock, hairdryer, towels, toiletries and tea/coffee/hot chocolate making facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Arrandale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrandale Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing