We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy New Year!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arrandale Guest House
Ranked #169 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy New Year!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The windows aren't double glazed and so the busy road outside was very noisy, especially when it was raining! I bought some ear plugs which solved the problem.
A lovely big breakfast is served up each morning. Good value for money, especially for over the New Year period.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Lily_Boo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArrandaleGuestHouse, Owner at Arrandale Guest House, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
I’m sorry you were disturbed. However, 4 of my 6 rooms do have double glazing and are at the back of the guest house overlooking gardens and are quiet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    33
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
44
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
422 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed there with my family over an international rugby weekend. It is well located on the road that runs straight into the Royal Mile (at South Bridge), with lots of buses and taxis passing by. It was slightly worn and dated, but clean and well presented and the breakfast was good, albeit a little mixed up (guests complete detailed orders the day before and I predicted confusion). The rooms were of a decent size and the beds were comfortably, so no major complaints all round.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

My husband and I have enjoyed a wonderful overnight in this fantastic b & b. We used the frequent buses which ran really regular from our b & b into the city.

We stayed in one of the family ensuite rooms.. The room was really cosy without feeling just too warm.

The breakfast was delish in the morning.. You get to chose the night before and asked what you would ike.

Overall we had a great time, and will definately return! :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstyRichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

A very good b&b a little outside the centre which offers great value for money. Lots of buses take you into town and run consistently, taking about 5-10 minutes. Had a lovely stay in Edinburgh and would recommend this as a great place to stay. Lis was very nice and her breakfasts set us up for the day!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gunnersh1va81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

I stayed in this guest house for 1 night but I became a fan of it. It is a very well maintained property, with a beautiful homely atmosphere. Rooms are very much neat and clean and well decorated. Bathroom is a little small but that is manageable. Breakfast is delicious.

It is a complete value for money. The owner is very much friendly. It guest house is almost 2 miles from royal mile and Waverly station. Direct bus is available and the bus stop is just 100 meters away. Taxi from station costs around 7.5 pounds. I will recommend this to others.

Room Tip: neat and clean rooms, fantastic breakfast, good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kumardip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
runcorn
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Just spent two nights where at this guesthouse and had an enjoyable stay Arrived early and the nice friendly Lis allowed us to use the room to deposit our luggage .Breakfast was excellent and set us up for our day of sightseeing .Would recommend this guest house and would stay here again if we were to visit Edinburgh again if Lis was still the owner. Thanks again Lis and hope your business continues to stay solvent.Joe and Maryxx

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank joseph t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

I have just returned home after another great week at the Arrandale. As before, nothing was too much trouble and Lis was her usual friendly, helpful self. Just ask Lis if you need help finding somewhere for a good meal or drinks at sensible prices and she will recommend places from personal experience which give very good value. I'm already booked to go back in August or September. All in all, a great family run Guest House where you can relax and know that every meal is freshly made to order.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
2.1 mi away
Ardmillan Hotel
Ardmillan Hotel
#166 of 444 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Minto Guest House
Minto Guest House
#178 of 444 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#36 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Classic Guest House
Classic Guest House
#63 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mayfield Lodge Guesthouse
Mayfield Lodge Guesthouse
#161 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alba Hills Guest House
Alba Hills Guest House
#79 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrandale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrandale Guest House

Property: Arrandale Guest House
Address: 28 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arrandale Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lis & Ross extend a warm, friendly welcome to our 3 star Arrandale Guest House, a spacious 19th century villa, once a large family home and retaining some original features. Ideally located for the Castle, University and Roslyn. •Located in the Newington area on the south side of the city centre, close to Edinburgh University, the Commonwealth Swimming Pool, the Royal Hospital for Sick Children, Arthur's Seat and the Meadows. •A short bus journey to the city centre, the Castle, Scottish Parliament, the railway station and the bus station. •Frequent, excellent bus service to all parts of the city, to Castle, Holyrood Palace, Royal Yacht Britannia and to the south of the city, to Roslyn Glen, Butterfly World and to the Scottish Borders •rooms - single, double, twin, room for a small family/group of 3 people and a large family/group of 4 or 5 people. •5 Bedrooms have an en-suite bathroom, one bedroom has a private bathroom outside of the bedroom (it is not shared). •Every room is equipped with a television, radio alarm clock, hairdryer, towels, toiletries and tea/coffee/hot chocolate making facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arrandale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrandale Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing