We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lauderville Guest House
Ranked #34 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice and Cosy”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

A really nice place to stay in the lovely city of Edinburgh. The property is spick and span and the people running it are very warm and welcoming. They even prepared a special breakfast meal according to my requirements. The rooms are spacious and clean as well as the shower. It just looks fabulous on the inside and the outside.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jain_nipun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    48
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
96
18
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Had a lovely stay in this guest house. Spotless clean everything you needed for a pleasant stay. Breakfast was lovely plenty choice. Nice little sitting room and garden area to sit and relax.. Computer in sitting room which is handy.. 40 to 45 min walk into Edinburgh level walk on a nice day but would advice taxi or bus if raining. Bathroom spotless but a bit small need to be slim.

Room Tip: Room 3 bathroom small. Lovely bright room Well stocked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirkton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Excellent accommodation in an ideal location. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was top notch. We stayed in the four poster bedroom which was very nicely decorated/furnished, the bed was very comfortable and the en suite bathroom was lovely with a great shower. Secure off road parking was a huge bonus. Everything was spotlessly clean. Would heartily recommend this guest house and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeccaE55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ollerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Booked this guest house last minute based on the reviews and it was definitely as described, booked the four poster room which was exactly as the pictures, breakfast was served very promptly once arrived in the breakfast room. Yvonne and Brian were very helpful with things to do and places to visit, and once the car was parked in the secure car park there is no need to move it as the bus stop is a 2 min walk away, just be mindful that Edinburgh operates a Sunday service. Will definitely book again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Excellent breakfast and excellent accommodation, Stayed for the weekend it was a bit out of the way from the city centre (approx) 15 min walk.
The owners are very polite and very helpful.
There are nice bars on the way up to the city and also a very nice indian restuarant.
The edinburgh museum is an excellent place to visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Great location, 20 mins walk to town. Close to some nice bars and restaurants.
Room was a great size, spotless and had everything you would need. Very nicely decorated, a great sized shower that was lovely and powerful.
Owners were very friendly, breakfasts were good and served quickly.
My only slight niggle was our room was downstairs next to reception and breakfast room so you will hear people in the morning but Edinburgh has loads to do so you don't need a lie in really anyway.
We will definitely come back and at £75 a night it was a great price, thank you.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank simonl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We booked here last minute and were surprised that we got in due to the good reviews it had, we were even more surprised when we arrived and found it to be the same b&b that we had stayed, 7 years before. As it was a last minute booking we could only get a twin room, but when we arrived we were given a family room that comprised of a double, single bed and a bed settee. As we remembered the owners were first class as was the food, the price was £90 for the room inc breakfast for a Saturday which compared favourably to the locality. Free parking, clean, decorated to a high standard it definitely ticks all the boxes, its also on a main bus route into the city that will cost you £1:50, each way unless you feel like a 20/25min walk. It definitely will be sooner than 7year's next time.

Room Tip: A bit of road noise incurred in number 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
2.2 mi away
Dene Guest House
Dene Guest House
#20 of 393 in Edinburgh
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auld Reekie Guest House
Auld Reekie Guest House
#50 of 393 in Edinburgh
145 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kew House
Kew House
#6 of 393 in Edinburgh
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alba House
Alba House
#47 of 393 in Edinburgh
163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Classic Guest House
Classic Guest House
#69 of 393 in Edinburgh
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highfield Guest House
Highfield Guest House
#38 of 393 in Edinburgh
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lauderville Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lauderville Guest House

Property: Lauderville Guest House
Address: 52 Mayfield Road, Edinburgh EH9 2NH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lauderville Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh Town House (awarded 4 stars by Visit Scotland Tourist Board). Well situated for all Edinburgh's main tourist attractions. All rooms en-suite and stylishly decorated with every amenity. Superb Breakfast Menu. High speed Wi-Fi throughout, hard wired internet in reception, and private (secure) parking, all free to our guests. Totally Non-Smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lauderville Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lauderville Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Lauderville Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing