We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garfield Guest House
Ranked #39 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stay, friendly staff”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights after reading previous trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. The staff were really friendly and helpful despite this being the busiest time of year. We had room # 9 which is connected to the back of the kitchen area, but noise and smells weren't an issue and the room was modern and very spacious. The location has a great view over sports fields to Edinburgh castle, you could catch a cab for around £7 into town which took about 10 mins or the # 23 bus for £1.50 which takes around 20mins, or you could walk too as its a lovely walk in, and very close to botanical gardens. Breakfast was great, although if you are leaving early make sure you order breakfast well in advance of when you need to go, otherwise it can be quite rushed. Overall a great place to stay and I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaughan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    72
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
70
109
47
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for my birthday it was our first time to Edinburgh. We stayed in room 9 which you had to walk through the kitchen to we didn't care as they were not bothered about you walking through. the staff are so friendly and helpful in fact just amazing really. got to be the best guest house we've stayed in! Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spinchon17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swieqi, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We arrived in Edinburgh in a rain storm but our stay was made pleasant by our hosts, Martin & Michelle, who went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable.
They recommended the best way to get around the city and their breakfast was substantial and excellently prepared.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the front, with a view of the Edinburgh skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

On arrival at the Garfield there was lots of free parking, we were welcomed by Michelle who was very genuine and offered to help us with our luggage to our room on the second floor and ensured that we had everything that we needed for our stay.
The room was clean, and quite spacious. The wetroom was very clean and there was plenty of hot water, although the shower drainage was a bit slow so the whole bathroom floor was wet including the bathmat.
Breakfast is very good, and plentiful with cereal, fruit, yoguart etc available for you to help yourself before a choice of cooked breakfast with as much tea/coffee as you need.
At breakfast we met the owner Martin who was very comited to us having a pleasant stay. Nothing was too much trouble and he was helpful in getting us a taxi into town, advising on bus routes, places to visit etc. We did walk into Edinburgh a couple of times, but buses are frequent and a taxi £7-8.
A good value b&b in a dood location, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DM403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Garfield Guest House is special in that it is run by two born and bred Edinburghers. Martin and Michelle will orientate you in a way that only true locals can. So why go anywhere else?

The breakfast is still a hit and now they serve PIZZA DINNERS. Really tasty and generous. Do try the HAGGIS pizza! Also licenced now to serve alcohol, so a good place to stop by for dinner even if you're not staying.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Had a very comfortable 2 nights stay at the Garfield whilst attending the Open at Muirfield. We wanted to be away early each morning for the Golf and although it was the weekend, staff were brought in early to prepare our scrumptious full breakfast. Many thanks for that ! Our bed was huge so space was a bit tight but very cosy and spotless clean, the bathroom was small but a brilliant shower. We received a really warm welcome from Martin and all the staff and would not hesitate to return.Free parking outside the hotel and bus stops in many directions an added bonus.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quiet, rooms overlooking the road have a lovely view of the Castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally19616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Good location, great breakfast, in a really nice quiet guest house, ideal if you want a cheap city break & perfect if you've got a family. Staff are genuinely friendly & helpful, not just working to a formula, particularly Michelle on reception, who went to some length to ensure we were happy with our room, & Martin the chef/owner who was efficient & attentive. We've stayed at this guest house many times & enjoyed this last visit very much, largely due to the quality of the staff and the value for money in one of our favourite cities!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nas2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dene Guest House
#20 of 444 in Edinburgh
315 reviews
Sheridan Guest House
#22 of 444 in Edinburgh
342 reviews
Sandaig Guest House
#41 of 444 in Edinburgh
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#38 of 444 in Edinburgh
106 reviews
Lauderville Guest House
#36 of 444 in Edinburgh
187 reviews
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#40 of 444 in Edinburgh
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garfield Guest House

Property: Garfield Guest House
Address: 264 Ferry Rd., Edinburgh EH5 3AN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide en-suite rooms, free on-street parking, free internet for guests, full traditional or vegetarian cooked breakfast. Tourist bus tours of Edinburgh leave from right outside the guest house. For our mouth watering cooked breakfasts we use high quality bacon and sausages from award winning butchers, Crombies of Edinburgh. Other produce like eggs and mushrooms are sourced locally where possible, so we can provide our guests with a delicious and nourishing start to the day. Vegetarian cooked breakfasts are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Garfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garfield Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing