We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A wonderful place to base yourself for a holiday in Edinburgh” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highfield Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Highfield Guest House
Ranked #40 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful place to base yourself for a holiday in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2015

I visited the Highfield with my girlfriend for a romantic Christmas shopping break in the Capital. The Christmas markets in the city centre are beautiful at this time of year and the highfield guest house was the perfect place to stay for visiting the markets.

The highfield guest house is located in a beautiful building in a lovely neighborhood just a short bus ride (10 mins ) or a £6 taxi from the city centre. There are buses to the centre of town every few minutes, they stop just around the corner from the guest house.

The accommodation was faultless. It has to be one of the cleanest guest houses i have ever stayed in.
The room was tastefully decorated and contained everything required for a short break. There was a luxurious feel to the room and the building overall. It was a beautiful place to stay.
The teapot on the hospitality tray was a much appreciated detail normally overlooked in other places i have stayed. It was attention to little details like this which set the guest house apart from other places i have stayed.
The room was nice and toasty and the central heating could be fully controlled from the room.

We checked in after dark so didn't even realise the room had an amazing view of what i think is Arthur's seat ( i may be wrong though ) another added bonus.

Breakfast was served in a beautiful breakfast room, there was a good selection of cold buffet items, fruits and cereals etc and a choice of cooked breakfast options including a full Scottish breakfast with haggis and of course, the option of porridge.

The hosts could not have been nicer or more helpful. From checking in and showing us the room, to providing travel information and tips on local sights to take in. It was the most warm and friendly welcome.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Highfield to anyone considering a trip to Edinburgh. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 1 was lovely :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whatslocalmagazine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
24022613, Owner at Highfield Guest House, responded to this review, 13 March 2016
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Edinburgh. Thank you for a great review. Maggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
94
44
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2015

I stayed for two nights in a single room at Highfield for a work trip at the University. I was welcomed warmly on my arrival. Everything was made very easy and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and the hosts Maggie, Gordon and Kate made my stay very pleasant. I'd recommend Leslie's bar just down Mayfield road for a drink and good food in the evening. I will return to Highfield on my next trip to Edinburgh!

  • Stayed November 2015, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
24022613, Owner at Highfield Guest House, responded to this review, 18 October 2016
Thank you for your kind review,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

My parents have stayed here a number of times and have always spoken highly of it, so we booked to stay here for my graduation. It lived up to my parent's reviews. The rooms are lovely and well furnished, the breakfast is delicious and the locations is great with an awesome view of Arthur's Seat. To top off a wonderful stay, Maggie even gave me a congratulations card for my graduation! I would highly recommend Highfield Guest House.

Stayed June 2015, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Maxine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
24022613, Owner at Highfield Guest House, responded to this review, 18 October 2016
Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and will have happy memories of your graduation in Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

I stayed at Highfield Guest House for six days to watch some last minute Fringe shows and just wandering around the city. I lived in a single room, which is really cozy with lovely deco. Breakfast is included, but don't forget to request the evening before. I have tried almost all the choices and they are all delicious. It usually takes me 20 minutes to walk to the city center (lots of restaurants along the way btw), if you want, traveling by bus is quite convenient, too. I highly recommend this guest house for solo traveller not only because the hosts, Gordon, Maggie and Kate, were all so nice and welcoming, gave good direction and travel advice, but also because the guest house deco is quite cozy and elegant. :)

Stayed September 2015, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Liyi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
24022613, Owner at Highfield Guest House, responded to this review, 18 October 2016
Thank you for your positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2015

Lovely guest house situated a mile or so from Edinburgh city centre but only a 15 min walk from many of the big fringe sites (pleasance, Potterow, etc ) plus you can park your car in the streets around guest house.

Nice bedroom, perfectly adequate with TV, tea facilities, wardrobe space. Decent enough shower in smallish bathroom. Comfy bed, no outside noise. Shops in immediate area for small purchases.

Excellent breakfast. Very tasty start to day. Lovely hosts. Highly recommended .

Room Tip: All rooms seemed fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgedoull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
24022613, Owner at Highfield Guest House, responded to this review, 18 October 2016
Thank you for taking time to post this review and for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnybridge
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2015

We stayed 1 night in the Highfield guest house. we do not know this part of Edinburgh. Gordon welcomed us warmly and explained where to get bus into city and back. Greatly appreciated.
Our room was on the ground floor and was lovely. Spotlessly clean , with comfortable beds and cosy bed linen.From the warm welcome to the friendly goodbye the Highfield is better than the soulless large chain hotels where you are only a room number. a fantastic place to stay with great made to order fresh breakfast.
Would come back and stay anytime I was overnight in Edinburgh

Room Tip: room 5 was on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AileenBonnybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
24022613, Owner at Highfield Guest House, responded to this review, 18 October 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2015

My boyfriend and I spent 3 nights here during the Fringe Festival in August. The owners were so friendly and helpful with everything including advice on travelling around the city.

Delicious and very generous breakfast made to order, very, very comfortable and cosy beds and great shower.

Such a friendly and lovely stay, not too far from the center of the city. Buses were available every few minutes.

Would love to return! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piniwini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
24022613, Owner at Highfield Guest House, responded to this review, 18 October 2016
Thank you for your great review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
The Salisbury Hotel
#70 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#129 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#71 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
The Thrums Edinburgh
#345 of 445 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Guest House

Property: Highfield Guest House
Address: 83 Mayfield Road, Edinburgh EH9 3AE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Highfield Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maggie and Gordon welcome you to their elegant Victorian guest house situated in the Newington district of Edinburgh, close to the beautiful, historic city centre. The four star Highfield Guest House offers true Scottish hospitality so whether you are here on holiday or on a business trip you will find Highfield's friendly, informal ambience very relaxing and our attention to detail will ensure a comfortable, relaxing and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Highfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Highfield Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing