We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“a wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highfield Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Highfield Guest House
Ranked #39 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gestel, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2016

everything was nice, very clean very elegant . The breakfast was on order, one of the best B&B we have never had Thank you Maggie for your kindness , and remember we hope your visit in Arizona in April!!

Room Tip: we were on the garden , and it was very quiet. It's a very romantic place
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank titouty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
24022613, Owner at Highfield Guest House, responded to this review, 27 October 2016
Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to meet you both and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will meet again in the future.
Maggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
95
44
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2016

Absolutely wonderful stay! Room was comfortable, clean and tended to each day. The caretakers were friendly and thoughtful. Breakfast was excellent, with plenty of options for fresh food that was made to order and served hot. The location is not in the heart of Edinburgh, but it is convenient to get to the Royal Mile and Holyrood Park by either walking or taking a bus just outside. An advantage is that the surrounding area is very quiet. Overall, staying here really added to our trip to Scotland.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterkt2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
24022613, Owner at Highfield Guest House, responded to this review, 18 October 2016
Thank you for your great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2016

Just returned from this lovely guesthouse . Fantastic from start to finish we arrived early and was made very welcome and was just going to drop luggage but we were got in our room and Maggie gave us a map and lots of helpful information and tips . The room was excellent as was breakfast loved everything . As we were leaving we mentioned we spending the day in Edinburgh , Maggie told us of a lovely market that was on in Stockbridge where we had never been we had a lovely few hours there and would not have ventured there so thank you

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella1525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
24022613, Owner at Highfield Guest House, responded to this review, 18 October 2016
Thank you for your kind comments and for taking time to post this review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

We spent 4 nights at Highfield and it was lovely. Communication with Kate was excellent, she met us on arrival and gave us a map and overview of the city, busses etc. The room was immaculate and very comfortable. Breakfast was cooked to order and was very good and plentiful (tho must admit I much prefer Irish sausage to Scottish :) Gordon was a delight at breakfast, helpful suggestions and even called to be sure we had a taxi for our Sunday morning tour and our airport departure early Monday. Would highly recommend this lovely B&B.

Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MckennafromKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
24022613, Owner at Highfield Guest House, responded to this review, 18 October 2016
Thank you for your positive review. I am pleased to hear you found our suggestions helpful and enjoyed your stay with us. Maggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Just back from a fantastic few days in Edinburgh.
Highfields Guest House was perfect. Lovely room, very comfy and well appointed. Plenty of space for the 4 of us. The breakfasts were wonderful. Lots of choice and plenty of food. The bus journey into town was very easy and we even walked one day taking just 30 mins. We were very well looked after.

Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
24022613, Owner at Highfield Guest House, responded to this review, 18 October 2016
Delighted you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh and stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to post this review. It is always loveky to receive positive feedback. Maggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2016

This is an absolute gem. Everything is clean, well maintained, and charming. We happened to be the only people in the b&b during our stay, so we had the house to ourselves. The individually prepared breakfasts were delicious. They even gave us a togo breakfast on the morning we were leaving for the airport! Overall, a great place to stay! My only complaint is the lack of parking, but it is a big city, and there is lots of street parking nearby.

  • Stayed March 2016, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
24022613, Owner at Highfield Guest House, responded to this review, 18 October 2016
Thank you for your kind comments. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Maggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2016

Were just back from a 3night stay at this gem of a guest house, Highfield Guest House, is a warm and welcoming place to stay. Our room was very well equipped had everything you need, the bathroom facilities are first class, spotlessly clean, with a great shower. Breakfast was perfectly cooked and perfectly presented, yummy and plentiful.
Maggie and Kate, are both wonderful hosts, helping you with directions, bus times and prices, both ladies are knowledgeable and eager to help. We walked into the city through the Meadows Park taking us around 20mins, though the bus services are very good and plentiful. We also enjoyed a walk to Holyrood Park and going up to Arthur's seat. We ate in the "Old Bell" which we found to be very good quality at reasonable prices. Thank you, Maggie and Kate, for helping make our break chilled and comfortable. You do it very, very well. Stuart and Brenda :)

  • Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank _stu_everett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
24022613, Owner at Highfield Guest House, responded to this review, 18 October 2016
Thank you for your great review. It was our pleasure to meet you both and delighted you enjoyed your time with us. Hopefully you will visit again in the future. Maggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
The Salisbury Hotel
#70 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#129 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Thrums Edinburgh
#345 of 445 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Sherwood Guest House
#30 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Alba House
#47 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Guest House

Property: Highfield Guest House
Address: 83 Mayfield Road, Edinburgh EH9 3AE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Highfield Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maggie and Gordon welcome you to their elegant Victorian guest house situated in the Newington district of Edinburgh, close to the beautiful, historic city centre. The four star Highfield Guest House offers true Scottish hospitality so whether you are here on holiday or on a business trip you will find Highfield's friendly, informal ambience very relaxing and our attention to detail will ensure a comfortable, relaxing and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Highfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Highfield Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing