We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“What a lovely Guest house” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highfield Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Highfield Guest House
Ranked #42 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a lovely Guest house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this Guest house from Saturday 10th December till Monday 12 and I wish I could of stayed longer the owners Gordon and Maggie did everything they could to make you feel at home . The room was well equipped with hair dryer and plenty of plug holes lots of complementary toiletries, tea , coffee ect and I would like to say what impressed me more than anything else was how lovely and clean the rooms where , Maggie works very hard at keeping the Guest house to an excellent standard . Gordon was very helpful with all the information that made our stay a lot easier as we could plan out where to go and what to do . I would recommend you give it a try you won't be disappointed

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
24022613, Owner at Highfield Guest House, responded to this review, 13 December 2016
Thank you for your kind review and positive comments. It was our pleasure to meet you both and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Have a lovely Christmas and a healthy and happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
94
44
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

We first met Gordon when we arrived and we've never met such a lovely, genuine gentleman. We had a wonderful surprise in our room when we arrived for which my Mum, in particular, was very happy about as we are visiting Edinburgh for the first time and celebrating her birthday. The guesthouse and it's owners are wonderful, welcoming, homely and only a ten minute bus ride to the city centre. We had plenty of great recommendations from Gordon about where to go and what to see and how to get there. Breakfast was lovely too! We will definitely come back to Highfield Guesthouse again! Thank you Gordon, Maggie & Kate for making our stay special and memorable x

Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Daniella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
24022613, Owner at Highfield Guest House, responded to this review, 13 December 2016
Thank you for your lovely review, Gordon is particularly pleased with your compliments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and pleased that our little touches helped to make your Mum's birthday more memorable. Hopefully we will see you again sometime in the future. In the meantime we wish you both and your families a very happy Christmas and all good things in 2017.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Really nice building and room, with great links in to the city (there's a choice of about 20 buses running all times of day which take 10 mins into city centre).

The most important part of a B&B to me are the hosts, and they were fantastic, super friendly, helped us out when we needed a super late check in, and happy to give recommendations for things to do.

Would 100% stay again on future Edinburgh trips.

Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
24022613, Owner at Highfield Guest House, responded to this review, 13 December 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review and for your kind comments. We appreciate all feedback and it is particularly good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It would be lovely to see you again on any future visits to Edinburgh. We wish you a both a very Happy Christmas and Good New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gestel, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2016

everything was nice, very clean very elegant . The breakfast was on order, one of the best B&B we have never had Thank you Maggie for your kindness , and remember we hope your visit in Arizona in April!!

Room Tip: we were on the garden , and it was very quiet. It's a very romantic place
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank titouty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
24022613, Owner at Highfield Guest House, responded to this review, 27 October 2016
Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to meet you both and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will meet again in the future.
Maggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2016

Absolutely wonderful stay! Room was comfortable, clean and tended to each day. The caretakers were friendly and thoughtful. Breakfast was excellent, with plenty of options for fresh food that was made to order and served hot. The location is not in the heart of Edinburgh, but it is convenient to get to the Royal Mile and Holyrood Park by either walking or taking a bus just outside. An advantage is that the surrounding area is very quiet. Overall, staying here really added to our trip to Scotland.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterkt2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
24022613, Owner at Highfield Guest House, responded to this review, 18 October 2016
Thank you for your great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2016

Just returned from this lovely guesthouse . Fantastic from start to finish we arrived early and was made very welcome and was just going to drop luggage but we were got in our room and Maggie gave us a map and lots of helpful information and tips . The room was excellent as was breakfast loved everything . As we were leaving we mentioned we spending the day in Edinburgh , Maggie told us of a lovely market that was on in Stockbridge where we had never been we had a lovely few hours there and would not have ventured there so thank you

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella1525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
24022613, Owner at Highfield Guest House, responded to this review, 18 October 2016
Thank you for your kind comments and for taking time to post this review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

We spent 4 nights at Highfield and it was lovely. Communication with Kate was excellent, she met us on arrival and gave us a map and overview of the city, busses etc. The room was immaculate and very comfortable. Breakfast was cooked to order and was very good and plentiful (tho must admit I much prefer Irish sausage to Scottish :) Gordon was a delight at breakfast, helpful suggestions and even called to be sure we had a taxi for our Sunday morning tour and our airport departure early Monday. Would highly recommend this lovely B&B.

Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MckennafromKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
24022613, Owner at Highfield Guest House, responded to this review, 18 October 2016
Thank you for your positive review. I am pleased to hear you found our suggestions helpful and enjoyed your stay with us. Maggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
The Salisbury Hotel
#70 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#129 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#71 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
The Thrums Edinburgh
#345 of 445 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Guest House

Property: Highfield Guest House
Address: 83 Mayfield Road, Edinburgh EH9 3AE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Highfield Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maggie and Gordon welcome you to their elegant Victorian guest house situated in the Newington district of Edinburgh, close to the beautiful, historic city centre. The four star Highfield Guest House offers true Scottish hospitality so whether you are here on holiday or on a business trip you will find Highfield's friendly, informal ambience very relaxing and our attention to detail will ensure a comfortable, relaxing and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Highfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Highfield Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing