We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family overnight break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls
Ranked #170 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed here on 22nd July for 1 night with family. Great location, and easy to find. Easy check in and staff very helpful and polite. Room was very clean and had everything we needed for an overnight stay. The hostel is only 2 minutes from the Grass Market which was great for us going out for a bite to eat, loads of shops and plenty for us all to do. Would defiantly go back. Great price and great location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon_Anthony86, General Manager at Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Hi Jason M, thank you for taking the time to review our Hostel after your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you great stay with us. I am glad that our clean rooms, excellent location and friendly staff were to your liking. Thanks again for your review and I hope to welcome you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Marina L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gordon_Anthony86, General Manager at Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 July 2013

basic.
Towels available only if you ask for them, very central location, which therefore means noise and bustle into the early hours.

£80 for 2 without breakfast, towels, or sleep. many loud voices talking as loud as they could into the night, and then very creaky floorboards as they made their way to their rooms.

On saying that, I would stay again as it meant i was very central, and didnt have to worry about catching the last train home after Runrig concert!

Springs inthe bed were very apparent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenmarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon_Anthony86, General Manager at Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Hi karenmarj, thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. Thank you for noting our excellent location however I am sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. Owing to our city centre location we do suffer from some street level noise and we do rely on our guests to show consideration to fellow hostel users, I am sorry that you did not find this during your stay. I am delighted to hear that you would return and hope that you have a more positive experience of our Hostel should you indeed choose to. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank AlexfromAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gordon_Anthony86, General Manager at Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Edinburgh
Reviewed 18 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gordon_Anthony86, General Manager at Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Markus K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gordon_Anthony86, General Manager at Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The key used for the door to the building we were in didn't work well. The entrance wasn't very well sign posted. Staff were nice enough. Beds weren't comfy. Price was alright. Location was good. Wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon_Anthony86, General Manager at Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Hi Gavin L, thanks for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor after your stay. I am disappointed to hear that you wouldn’t return after your experience with us. It is good to hear that you found the location excellent and our staff nice however I am sorry that you found your bed uncomfortable and your key difficult. I apologise again for your experience however thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#22 of 217 in Edinburgh
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#107 of 394 in Edinburgh
289 reviews
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#4 of 217 in Edinburgh
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls

Address: Darroch Court | St John's Hill, Edinburgh EH8 9UQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £42 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls 2*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fancy having your own private room within a shared apartment, or your very own apartment, right in the city-centre of Edinburgh? Well you can at Euro Hostel’s budget accommodation in Edinburgh Halls. Perfect for everyone from singles and couples to families, backpackers and groups of all sizes, our Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls accommodation is the ideal base to explore this fabulous city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing