We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls
Ranked #170 of 215 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice and clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

The hostel was nice and clean. Don't be overwhelmed of the very nice reception, the room and common areas does not look anything near. Really good location! Just minutes away from the Royal Miles. Wifi does not work in the room.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nils Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon_Anthony86, General Manager at Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Hi Nils Phillip P, thanks for taking time out to review the Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls on Trip Advisor, it sounds like you had a good stay with us here. We hope to welcome you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    64
    74
    44
    47
See reviews for
31
60
56
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed 4 nights from July 14th. Paid 18€ per night for a single room which you won't get anywhere. The accommodations is university student dormitories used as a hostel in the summer when school is not in session so basic yes and shared bathrooms which were definitely not cleaned daily. I complained about the clogged sink everyday or three days with no result. Some of the staff are friendly. There are washers and dryers on site. Superb location. 3 mins from Royal mile, 10 min from the train station, 1 min from a delightful bar brew dog serving delicious bar food and a wide variety if guest and local beers. Convenience store, ATM, museum all within 10 min walk. The compound is enclosed including the court yard so you are safe however the area is cow gate with night clubs etc so wee into the morning there is a lot of noise. All in all for the price and the location I thought it was a great deal. Euro hostel is also available in a Glasgow at €13 per night.

Room Tip: Face court yard to avoid the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaTrinidad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon_Anthony86, General Manager at Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Hi SamanthaTrinidad, thank you for review our Hostel after your recent stay with us. Thank you for noting our excellent rates and fantastic city centre location and our close proximity to Edinburgh’s main attractions. I am sorry however that our staff did not deal with the issues you raised with them in regards to our bathroom/shower facilities – this is not a common occurrence and one I will put measure in place to avoid a repeat in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to review us and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Booked well in advance but was very unhappy with what we found. I know the hostel is usually student accommodation but at £80 a night I would have expected something a bit better. A simple room with no facilities and shared toilet / shower. Shower / Toilet had hairs in drain and pubic hairs on dried bar of soap. Advertised as Budget accommodation from £19 - don't know where that came from. Charged £20 a day to park. Know it is center of Edinburgh but come on don't rip the tourist off.

Room Tip: No lift so ask for a ground floor room if you do have to use this facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cagey_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon_Anthony86, General Manager at Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Hi Cagey_64, thank you for taking the time to review our Hostel after your recent stay. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Let me also apologise for the standard of cleanliness that you found in our facilities – let me assure you that this is far below our normal high standards. Should you wish to return in the future please contact me directly at gordona@euro-hostels.co.uk. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Okay for the price, very basic and very basic we got. A friendly welcome but not enough attention to basic things like enough crockery e.g. A family of four need more than one bowl plate etc. this was only ever meant as a bed for the night so we didnt expect too much. However, whilst located in an ideal place for the royal mile we were also positioned in the back alleys where the night life meant no sleep for two nights on the trot, even with earplugs! The apartment was clean enough on arrival and I'm afraid the stale smell of feet and food in all of the rooms was too much to bare. back to hotels for us next time.

Room Tip: If you are a family ask in advance to be position in a quieter part of the the block if that is poss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon_Anthony86, General Manager at Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Hi Clare B, thank you for taking the time to review our Hostel after your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that you and your family did not have an enjoyable stay with us. First of all, I am sorry that you found your room to be too noisy however as we are a city centre Hostel we do suffer from some ambient street level noise. I am also sorry of the off-putting smell in your rooms let me assure you that this is far below our accepted standards. I am sorry again that you did not enjoy your stay however thank you again for sharing your review on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed here for 1 night after a goof -up by Merith House Hotel on the Booking. It turned out to be Blessing in Disguise.Most centrally located place in Edinburgh. Train station is 10 min walk and so are other places like Princess Street or the Ghost Tours and other pubs and eating places.
Very neat and clean rooms and other facilities. Although with minor expense the Entrance Doors to all Blocks can be made more cheerful and pleasant. Nice big courtyard to sit .
Wish we had planned for longer stay at Euro Hostels.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank aaloknigam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon_Anthony86, General Manager at Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Hi aaloknigam, thank you kindly for your recent review of the Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of our excellent location and clean rooms. Hopefully you will be able to enjoy our Hostel for a longer period next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

This is not for me, booked as we could not find anything else in our price range, typical hostel, twin bed room with not facilities, toilet and shower along a corridor, ok i suppose but i like my comforts.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotlasseng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon_Anthony86, General Manager at Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Hi GonziodinScotland, thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel after you recent stay. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience of a Hostel - we do appreciate that Hostels are not for everyone. Thanks again for your review and I am sorry again that you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed here on 22nd July for 1 night with family. Great location, and easy to find. Easy check in and staff very helpful and polite. Room was very clean and had everything we needed for an overnight stay. The hostel is only 2 minutes from the Grass Market which was great for us going out for a bite to eat, loads of shops and plenty for us all to do. Would defiantly go back. Great price and great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon_Anthony86, General Manager at Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Hi Jason M, thank you for taking the time to review our Hostel after your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you great stay with us. I am glad that our clean rooms, excellent location and friendly staff were to your liking. Thanks again for your review and I hope to welcome you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#40 of 215 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#22 of 215 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#10 of 215 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#14 of 215 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls

Property: Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls
Address: Darroch Court | St John's Hill, Edinburgh EH8 9UQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 215 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls 2*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fancy having your own private room within a shared apartment, or your very own apartment, right in the city-centre of Edinburgh? Well you can at Euro Hostel’s budget accommodation in Edinburgh Halls. Perfect for everyone from singles and couples to families, backpackers and groups of all sizes, our Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls accommodation is the ideal base to explore this fabulous city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing