We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More hotely not the hostel vibe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls
Ranked #170 of 215 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“More hotely not the hostel vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay here, however other then the staff I didn't speak to another person. There is no big communal area or anything that would bring the people together. I was in block 1 on the second floor in a section with only 5 other rooms. I had a spacious private room. Shared bathroom was fine and shared kitchen was big. But I missed the hostel vibe...

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    64
    74
    44
    47
See reviews for
31
60
56
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

The hostel is fairly central to sights and easy to get to. Staff are very friendly and although it is basic accommodation the beds were very comfortable! Free WiFi and cheap breakfast. Luggage storage was £2 as we arrived hours before checking in but they are stored the bags out of sight. Well worth staying in of you are looking for a cheap hostel that's clean and trusting.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NikkiNiR93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Right in the centre of the city, and walking distance to everywhere of interest - the castle, shops, botanic gardens, royal mile etc. cheap and cheerful but excellent value for money. Spacious kitchen area for self catering and decent size single bedrooms. Perfect for short term visitors.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
391 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I recently stayed here as part of a stag do and it was ideal for what we needed. The place is an old university halls building so the layout is still the same with each hall having multiple rooms, common room/kitchen and a couple of toilets/shower. It was all very basic but its comfortable enough and all you really need if you aren't planning on spending much time in the room.
The biggest downside to our stay was the fact that our shower was freezing but we were able to use a shower in another hall so we worked around it.
The location is good and just a few minutes walk away from the Grassmarket where there are a load of great pubs, bars and restaurants.
There are also a few supermarkets within a few minutes walking distance if you plan on just cooking for yourself at the hostel.

The staff at the hostel were all really nice and helpful and I'm sure they have to deal with plenty of drunk people with reception being 24 hours but they still had a smile on their faces.
The hostel also sells snacks and hot food and the wifi is free.
If I was planning another lads weekend or even just a cheap weekend in Edinburgh then I would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fobl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Arriving in Edinburgh, we were really pleased with the location of this Euro Hostel. However, I think this may be the only redeeming feature of the place! The staff were ok, but the rooms were not. We stayed for two nights - one at each end of a tour we were taking. The first night our room had a horrible musty, almost mouldy smell. They did provide some air freshener, but this was just a temporary fix. It was very unpleasant. The other night we were in a different room which did not have as much of the smell. (THANKFULLY.)
The facilities are basic, and relatively clean. It wasn't overall a terrible stay, but just not very consistent. The next time we are in Edinburgh, I think we will stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor if possible as there are no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I spent 3 nights here, staying with a friend. The location is perfect for the Royal Mile, Grassmarket and the Old Town, just a few minutes walk from the Grassmarket and North/South Bridge. Waverley Station is about a 15-20 minute walk away, the website provides directions for getting there and I found it pretty easy to find.

The rooms themselves are basic, but clean and (for the most part) comfortable. The walls are bare and the furniture (desk, wardrobe, bookshelves) are functional rather than anything else, being student halls, but there's plenty of space for luggage. Bathrooms and kitchens are shared with 4 other rooms, but both were kept clean during my stay. The kitchen/lounge area was equipped with utensils and cutlery, the only small gripe I had was that there perhaps could have been more utensils for if all 4/5 guests were eating together.

The hostel provide bed linen and can also give you towels free of charge if you need. The pillows were a bit thin for my liking, but this was really just personal preference and the bed was comfortable enough. As it is in a busy area with lots of bars and clubs, it can be slightly noisy during the night, but this is unavoidable in this part of the city! Wi-fi is provided free of charge and worked well for me. Also, the reception is manned 24/7 and sells a small selection if snacks, drinks and toiletries, which is great if you've forgotten something! The staff were also very helpful, my friend was booked in a room in another block as our reservations were under different names, and they were able to move her room into one on my floor.

All in all, the hostel served our purposes well. Great location, clean and cheap. Certainly not for those wanting luxury or a romantic holiday, being a hostel run in student halls, but I'd definitely recommend it if you're looking for a good value basic hostel right in the city centre!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We spent 3 days there. First of all, we got the wrong keys for our rooms. Okay. We were not Happy about that, but okay. But furthermore, the rooms we reserved were not like they were discribed on the internet. We got 5 Single rooms, but we ordered 4 Single rooms and one paar room... In one room was chewing gum on the wall and eversuch room smelled dirty. It was definitely not clean and the kitchen smelled awful... On our second Day, we found COCKROACHES in the kitchen. I'm glad we're out of there. We're never going back there again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gjkla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#40 of 215 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#22 of 215 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#10 of 215 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#14 of 215 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls

Property: Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls
Address: Darroch Court | St John's Hill, Edinburgh EH8 9UQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 215 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls 2*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fancy having your own private room within a shared apartment, or your very own apartment, right in the city-centre of Edinburgh? Well you can at Euro Hostel’s budget accommodation in Edinburgh Halls. Perfect for everyone from singles and couples to families, backpackers and groups of all sizes, our Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls accommodation is the ideal base to explore this fabulous city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing