We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location but LOUD!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls
Ranked #170 of 215 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“good location but LOUD!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The location is excellent! I was a woman traveling solo for a few days and I felt safe.

the cons:
These are used as the university dorm rooms during term time, so expect them to be very bare (literally just a tiny bed and desk). Also everything is so loud! from the drunk people out on the mainstreet to the doors sound like slamming sledge hammers. And the heater didn't really work.

I would probably stay again though, expecting limited sleep.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOBSTERStravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    64
    74
    44
    47
See reviews for
31
60
56
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Pros:
Great central location - major attractions a 10min walk away
Value for money
Basic facilities

Con:
Pub/bar is located underneath Hostel. Very loud music/partying - so don't expect to sleep till late

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KJames287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 days on a last minute trip to Scotland. I had a private room and was very pleased with the experience given the rate I paid compared to other private accommodations. Great location, though it was a bit confusing to get to due to winding streets, and just about a 5-10 minute walk from central Waverly Station. Tip: I'd follow the directions they provide. My floor (the 4th - 10 flights of stairs - yikes! Try to get a lower floor if possible) was quiet - in fact, I only saw people twice in all my time there, which was fine with me. 2 private bathrooms and a shower room on the floor, and I never had to wait. Did have an experience of getting back to my room at night and the overhead light was out...too lazy to go down to get it fixed, so I let them know the next morning and it was fixed upon my return that afternoon. There's a Tesco and Sainsbury grocery within 5 minutes walking distance, which was great. Wifi was great!

Room Tip: Try to get a lower floor, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eaa2128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

It's Uni halls so I want expecting much but the floor of the apartment was so noisy, if one person was awake,everyone was awake. The beds were also pretty uncomfortable and lots of noise from outside at the weekend, although that was because of the central location. Luckily we had a jam packed and can manage without much sleep.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pipschof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
england
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I booked my stay at Euro Hostel months ago to attend a Fan Fest at a posher, can't afford on my budget hotel, and specifically asked for a quiet area/room if all possible. Forget that!

Whist the Euro Hostel's premises looked nice, the staff are polite, and the bedding and facilities are clean, the good points stop there!

As the establishment was somewhat off the beaten path I thought it would be a bit quieter in all aspects. Wrong!

My issues with the noise is within the corridors. I don't blame them for the noise outside with drunken folk shouting in the streets at all hours and I mean all hours as that is not their fault!

However, I do blame the establishment for the loud fire doors that seemed to be open and slammed at all hours and with people walking up and down the corridor or carpets that seemed to be cushioned with bubble wrap! The shared toilets and showers were across from our non-sound proofed room so we heard every flush going on as we were put on a floor with those attending a stag and hen do, well the flushing went on ALL night as well as the door banging, walking up and down the corridors, etc. You get the picture.

The free wi fi was ok when it worked. In my 'apartment' I had to go outside for a phone signal which meant opening two fire doors where the locks were not the easiest to manoeuvre. And where we were allocated a room there is no elevator and even though we were on the first floor but with a heavy suitcase, I might as well have been on the top floor.

Whilst the premises and the cobbles in the courtyard are pretty they are not so attractive when everyone Tom, Dick, and Mary are dragging their suitcase on them at all hours.

I could go on and on but you get the gist.

The Euro Hostel may be great for some but not for me. In hindsight I should have stayed at the posher place, been out of pocket but not suicidal for lack of sleep.

You get what you pay for and this is a classic example.

p.s. bring a mirror as there are none if the rooms but only in the shared bathroom, if you can get in it!

Room Tip: Not sure but stay out of the main block near reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carole1961England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Great location, easy to access the city but the rooms lack ventilation; the pub next door is noisy and guarantees a red eyed start to the morning ;) the common kitchens on the floors were hard to find and the definition of a private room appears to exclude a private bathroom!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssavadhany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here 3 nights and this hostel took away the excitement of being in Edinburgh for us.
There are 4 or 5 twin rooms to one combined toilet and shower bathroom, so in the mornings and evenings you can't just go to the toilet is someone is showering and there are no mirror in the " apartment " so that also leaves ppl fighting for the only mirror in the bathroom.

I asked about breakfast options and didn't even know this place had a kitchen until reading other reviews.

Location is good and staff were nice

But No hostel vibe unfortunately and thats what we wanted here in Edinburgh

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#40 of 215 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#22 of 215 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#10 of 215 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#14 of 215 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls

Property: Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls
Address: Darroch Court | St John's Hill, Edinburgh EH8 9UQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 215 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls 2*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fancy having your own private room within a shared apartment, or your very own apartment, right in the city-centre of Edinburgh? Well you can at Euro Hostel’s budget accommodation in Edinburgh Halls. Perfect for everyone from singles and couples to families, backpackers and groups of all sizes, our Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls accommodation is the ideal base to explore this fabulous city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing