We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay was ok.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls
Ranked #169 of 218 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Reviewed 9 August 2007

This hostel, which is normally student flats was quite acceptable. Flat was clean. It has a very good location within 5 mins walk of the Royal Mile and Castle. Has a courtyard with parking at 7.50 per night. We got all our 3 motorbikes in one space. Some minor maintenance issues and it's not the Ritz, but for £20 a night we were satisfied and would use it again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rover54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEd, Manager at Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2007

Thank you for your feedback!

You are in fact correct, we do lease student apartments each year during the university summer vacation. As such we are limited by what we can and can not do to improve the look and feel of each apartment.

Although you seemed to be quite happy with your stay, especially the value for money, we do always strive to exceed all customers expectations. As such I have taken note of your mention of 'minor maintenance issues' and will endeavour to improve this area of property control.

I see by your other reviews that you did the Applecross run. I am fortunate to live in Edinburgh and have done it many times (GSX750F & Honda Varadero). I know how addictive it is and expect to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Steve Mackenzie
Manager
stevem@euro-hostels.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2007

This is the most horrible place i ever had the misfortune to spend a night in. The reception, first off, smelled really bad, there was wiring taped down all over the floor, and despite there being a huge emphasis on the no-smoking rule, the whole place stank of fags. Our apartment was gross - we were greeted by a horrible smell (i believe it was mould - we found some on the bathroom mirror) that never left (the only effort made by the staff to remove this smell was leaving a few windows open, and it needed a whole lot more than that). On the bedsheets and duvet, we found what appeared to bloodstains, among some other very questionable stains. Milk had been spilled inside the fridge and noone had bothered to clean it, judging by the smell. The bathroom sink was full of hair, and the bin hadn't been emptied after the last guests. Having no other option but to stick it out for one night, me and my friends bought some new sheets to sleep on, and got the hell out of there in the morning with our second night refunded. Strangely, the staff didnt seem surprised (or apoplogetic) when we told them what was wrong. Perhaps this happens quite regularly. I am aware that it was budget accomodation, but i don't think I was being presumptious in thinking we were going to get an apartment that was at least hygenic.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
3  Thank alistaircrowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHEd, Manager at Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2007

Hi Alistair,

Thank you for your feedback.

Well I must say that I am shocked and disappointed at the quality of your stay. This is, without doubt, the worst review we have ever had and I apologise unreservedly. However, and not in any way making excuses, please let me address some of the individual issues mentioned.

Each year Euro Hostels Ltd lease this block of student apartments during the university summer vacation. As such we are extremely limited as to what we can and cannot do during our 12 week tenure and, of course, are not permitted to 'plumb' any of our IT or telephone lines in reception. Unfortunately, and I hate it too, these lines can only ever be taped to the carpet and nowhere else. We try to keep it tidy but tape on the floor can only ever be so tidy.

We do enforce a strict no smoking policy in all of our buildings. To this end we often have people smoking at the downstairs door to reception. Unfortunately this smell sometimes makes its way up to the customer area. It has been duly noted that this practice needs to be further addressed.

As for the cleanliness of your apartment I can only but apologise. It appears that your flat was not cleaned to our usual standards (if at all by the sound of it). It doesn't appear that you made a complaint at the time of your stay, to give us a chance to rectify the situation, so can only assume that you didn't. We would have definitely made amends if you had.

I would like, however, to make amends now and have you and your friends return. As such I offer you a complimentary stay for 2 nights during June or July 2008. Please contact me on the email address below to make a booking.

Kind regards,
Steve Mackenzie
stevem@euro-hostels.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Si viajáis en grupo, solicitad que os pongan a todos juntos en un mismo apartamento. Así compartiréi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amparo g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Mike_Muc89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank DerBarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sergio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Florencia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#32 of 218 in Edinburgh
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Haystack Hostels
Haystack Hostels
#22 of 218 in Edinburgh
416 reviews
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#15 of 218 in Edinburgh
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls

Address: Darroch Court | St John's Hill, Edinburgh EH8 9UQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 218 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £42 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls 2*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fancy having your own private room within a shared apartment, or your very own apartment, right in the city-centre of Edinburgh? Well you can at Euro Hostel’s budget accommodation in Edinburgh Halls. Perfect for everyone from singles and couples to families, backpackers and groups of all sizes, our Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls accommodation is the ideal base to explore this fabulous city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing