We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful B&B - with minor issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Valery Guest House
Ranked #17 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B - with minor issues”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The building has been very well redecorated so it is quite impressive to look at.

We were fortunate to get one of the huge rooms, it was the same size and directly over the dining room. What we found strange was that so much had obviously been spent on the house - except the bathroom which was small and looked like a home handy man renovation. Due to the design and poor workmanship, the shower had quite a lot of mould. Carpets were not as clean as some we have seen.

Windows open wide for good air flow, but when open the rattle in the wind :-(

Breakfast was great - well cooked and plenty of it. 24 tea and coffee from machine in dining room

Service was excellent and very friendly.

30min walk to Edinburgh Castle - 6 min to airport bus - and other buses. If you are buying tickets on the Hop on Hop off buses, you can get on them at Lothian Street which is halfway into town - and catch another one back in the afternoon - jut check which ones are going in which direction.

Overall, quite pleasant and functional. Convenient if you don't mind walking - we averaged 14km a day while in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: As for one of the large rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff_Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    145
    50
    20
    9
See reviews for
112
148
55
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Very basic guest house, large 3p room, one single and one double-bed
Great breakfast (they come and ask you how to do your eggs)
Location near Haymarket-station (also bus Airlink 100 directly to the airport), with a small problem which is called the Tramline that is being created. In front of the station everything is "under construction"
You can even walk to Murrayfield-stadium (about 1 mile)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This looks like a place where only a family runs everything and it is clear that they need some external help because they are clearly having a hard time keeping up with the cleaning. They are very nice people and they do their best to make you feel at home however, the room we stayed was full of crumbs, flying dust balls in the bathroom and dirt on the carpets which could easily be sucked up by a quick hoovering.
We never bothered with the breakfast as nothing was clean on the cutlery and crockery side, the location and the size of the rooms are very good but you just never have the feeling that all is clean, which leaves you with a unpleasant feeling when you put your head on the pillows.
I would stay elsewhere in Edinburgh next time.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the back garden, the road may be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leolion13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
182 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Unfortunately we only had one night here. Our welcome from James couldn't have been better. The guest house is ideally situated for exploring Edinburgh - just a couple of hundred meres from Haymarket station (and the new trams, when they are completed), and about 20 minutes walk from Princes Street. The building is in an old Georgian/Victorian terrace and the rooms have the high ceilings and large windows typical of these, so the rooms feel big and airy.
First of all the excellent extras - free internet access, either WiFi or using a guest desktop in the breakfast room. Also the free coffee machines in the breakfast room, which are available for espressos, lattes hot chocolate etc. 24/7.
Breakfast was good, and plentiful.
Now for the slight negatives - parking locally is either resident only permit zones or Pay and Display bays, with a maximum 4 hour stay, and the parking wardens are assiduous. The bathroom for our room was a little small.

Room Tip: Room 3 is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaiteiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

me and my family off four had a very worm welcome from james,
stayed 4 nights, large clean family room,
good breakfast, ideal location for walk into town.
very helpful staff, helped us by letting me leave luggage there after check out, so we could enjoy are last day in edinburgh,
would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave-tansom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

+ nice staff
+ large room
+ good, fresh breakfast
+ just 20 minutes walk from New Town
+ busstop and station within 5 minutes
- poor wifi
- We were lucky that we arrived late in the afternoon on saterday and we left early on monday, so we didn't have to pay for parking (on sundays it is free), but otherwise parking is very expensive (£ 2 p/hour)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heleenvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boras, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Me and my sister stayed in this small but charmful hotel. Our room was very big for the europian standarts. The man on the reception was extremly helpful and nice. He was working the same days as we were there - from Thursday to Sunday. He is great. The owners should give him a promotion for the good job he is doing.
It was very nice view from our window and the room was very clean.
The place we ate breakfast is open 24/7 and you can prepare a coffe, hot chocolate or tea whenever you want.
The location is great. You can go to the city center and Princes street (for all the shopocholics) for 15 minutes. Right now the are making some reconstructiones on the streets so it is very noisy during the days, but it's okey on the evenings.

Why I dont give the hotel 5 points/stars:
The breakfast was not good. Sausages, eggs and bacon. There was some fruits, but not a lots of choices. I am kind of vegeterian(meat and eggs are not my thing), so I ate/tryed to eat breakfast the first morning we were staying there, the second two I just bought myself some fruits.
And the last thing... the internet was very unstable almost all the time(2, 5 from 3 nights at the hotel). Not so funny, when you try to inform the rest of the family that we are okey in Skottland.

Room Tip: Our room number 8 was great! There is place for 3 persons, even if we were just 2. It is on the thir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theos007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Kew House
#6 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Valery Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Valery Guest House

Property: St. Valery Guest House
Address: Haymarket 36 Coates Gardens, Edinburgh EH12 5LE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Valery Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your St. Valery Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Valery Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
St. Valery Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing