We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and Welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Valery Guest House
Ranked #19 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Convenient and Welcoming”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The location could not have been much better. I was coming in around 7 pm at Haymarket Station and leaving the next morning for the airport, and it was an easy walk from the station and to the airport bus, even with a heavy non-roller bag. It's also a nice stroll to restaurants (and the desk gave me helpful recommendations) and Charlotte Square through some lovely streets. The welcome was pleasant and efficient. Now, alas, for the negatives. My room, in the basement, was musty; I expect floor carpeting on that lower level is not the best idea although it probably keeps the noise down. I was able to open the window and air it out reasonably well although the bathroom stayed a little smelly. I will note that I am sensitive to odors so it might not bother some folks. Room was a good size and the bed was comfortable. As for breakfast, don't get the eggs! They must have been powdered or otherwise very remote from any chicken. I couldn't eat them, and I can eat about anything. So, for one night, perfectly fine, but I wouldn't want to stay for a number of days, at least not in the basement rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid the basement if you have any issues with mustiness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    142
    50
    19
    9
See reviews for
107
140
55
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

A fantastic Victorian home just in the outskirts of the core of Edinburgh with the Haymarket train station about a block away. There is a great little sandwich café at the end of the street, Tesco right around the corner and Greek Italian fish and chip shop in front of the train station.
The area was a little congested with the work going on for the new tram service but that should be cleared up soon.
Our stay was pleasant and very quiet and the service was wonderful. I would stay here again if ever in Edinburgh again.

Room Tip: Lower floors for those who have trouble climbing stairs would be smart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 000barber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry UK
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Just enjoyed a lovely weekend stay in St Valery. Looked after very well by Jim and Caroline.
Accommodation offered everything we needed. Particularly impressed with a very hot powerful shower! Room was very quiet and we slept like logs.
Had to vacate premises by 10am on day of departure but we were able to leave our luggage as our flight home wasn't until 8.30pm. Told to avail of the drinks machine in the dining room before we left for the airport. A lovely touch. Wil definitely stay there again....despite the early starts for breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 8!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandradww46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We really enjoyed our four nights here. Almost everything was included: there was a comprehensive breakfast, towels and toiletries were provided and the room cleaned every day. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our toilet was in a separate room but that was no problem for a few days. The city centre is fairly close by foot but there is also a bus stop just down the road. The airlink bus to the airport also stops close by.
Altogether, this is a great place to stay, especially if you prefer a more personal and individual place to the sterile atmosphere of hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabba3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshima
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I stayed at the St Valery for 3 nights at the beginning of September as I was attending a conference at an a Edinburgh university. It was an enjoyable stay with no major issues of concern.

As the B & B is located in the Haymarket, it is an easy 15 - 20 stroll into the centre of Edinburgh.

I stayed in a basement room which was comfortable and quiet. The only issue I experienced was the poor wifi in the room. I was told this was down to work on the cables in the street.

It is a very friendly place and they allowed to check-in early as well as leave my bags there until my train left at 5pm.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blue13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartonville, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We loved the St. Valery! We stayed in a very large family room with four comfortable beds. It was a beautiful room, and there was an amazing view from the huge windows of the gardens below. The staff were exceptionally helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LyndaClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta,Europe
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Cosy guesthouse. Good breakfast, big airy room though small showers. We stayed in room 7, sleep 4. But we enjoyed it anyway. 25-30min away from princes street by walk. My relatives stayed in rooms 4 and 10 and were very satisfied.
Cleaning of showers could be better though.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,765 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,832 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
868 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 444 in Edinburgh
651 reviews
West End
Kew House
Kew House
#6 of 444 in Edinburgh
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Valery Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Valery Guest House

Property: St. Valery Guest House
Address: Haymarket 36 Coates Gardens, Edinburgh EH12 5LE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Valery Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your St. Valery Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Valery Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
St. Valery Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing