We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not convinced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Valery Guest House
Ranked #18 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pavia, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“not convinced”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I am not sure about this place. The staff was really nice and friendly, the living room is lovely and they provide a coffe machine and a spare computer (plus of course kettle in the bed room and free wifii). The area is very nice, located just few mins from train station and airbus stop. With a nice walk in the new town you are in the centre.
BUT..... unfortunatelly there were hair in the toilet. Matress and pillows are really uncofortable and the quality of the breakfast was not good.
Summarising I think it is too expensive for the service provided (all Edinburgh it is though)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davide t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    155
    50
    20
    10
See reviews for
118
159
56
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

The staff were helpful, knowledgeable and interested. They gave top travel tips and advised on better running routes than those I had planned. Water of Leith walkway was a great suggestion - thank you. I left a charger in my room and they called me within minutes to let me know.

Perfect location for those travelling to other spots. Near trains, buses, trams - yet still walkable into the centre of the City.

For a single room it was a good size and had a small double bed. Perfect. There's a fridge, safe and hair dryer as well as the normal things you'd expect. The decor was pleasant enough and you could tell they had taken trouble to get cushions to match etc.

I only ate breakfast one morning, but it was cooked to order, good and set me up for the day ahead.

There were a couple of minor bits in the room that could have been sharper - hence the '3' for cleanliness - but I've emailed the hotel about those separately and I'm sure they will be addressed as they are easy to fix and I'm sure we're just quick oversights in a very busy month.

In my opinion you book a travelodge or a premier inn if you want clinical familiarity. You book a guest house if you want character, personal service, charm and the odd quirk. Here you get what you pay for and what you should expect. If they tidy up the edges, you will get a whole lot more.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennaSHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Finding this hotel is a breeze we got off at Haymarket station and it is a two minute walk. This guesthouse is located on a quiet street that is only 15-20 minute walk from central edinburgh. The service was phenomenal the owners take great care in ensuring that you are completely satisfied! The breakfast was perfect, room was incredibly comfortable, and overall felt like I was staying over at my mothers house! We had to check out at 3 30 am and the man at reception told us we could grab orange juice and anything we needed from the breakfast room prior to departure. Overall we were incredibly happy with our stay, and on our next visit to edinburgh will surely be staying here!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrienBazinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

only spent one night in this small cozy family run B&B, but were very happy to stay here. It is conveniently located near the bus stop with easy access both to the centre and to the airport, with frequent bus and tram service. The very centre of the city can be reached in 20-30 minutes of a slow walk as well. We had a family room on the first floor. There was enough space for the four of us, with comfortable beds, small fridge, bathroom with shower and window to a nice quiet garden. Breakfast was tasty and fresh, coffee and tea available both in the room and in the dining room throughout the day. There is a small bistro at the corner of the street and Tesco express in a short distance. The whole area seem to be very quiet, residential with some small shops and other B&Bs. Our host James could not be more helpful and together with the ladies (I believe his wife and daughter) made us feel welcome from the very beginning.

Room Tip: rooms with the garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

In brief: Good location right near public transport, surprisingly good breakfast, good wifi, average comfort of room, below average bed and bathroom.

St. Valery's location, to me, is ideal. It's one tram stop away from Waverley station, which is close to all Edinburgh's attractions, and a quick, easy 4GBP away from the airport (by bus). Close by is a great pub called Ryrie's, a bunch of shops and cafes, and other businesses like banks and grocers.

The facilities themselves were fine for the price. The room was sunny and secure, with a safe and refrigerator. However, it was too small to open a suitcase anywhere, which is always annoying, and the bed was awful. We could feel the coils dig into our backs and sides, and every movement produced strange groans and creaks in the mattress. The standard tea and biscuits and electric kettle were present, though I didn't use them much. The TV was a tiny little thing mounted way up in the corner above a shelf. The wifi connection was actually very good, which surprised us since providing decent wifi seems to be a taller order in Scottish B&Bs than one might expect.

The bathroom was a bit icky. There was toothpaste or soap or something white smeared around the sink basin, and the shower was hard to get just right. The toilet was the same standard British number that flushes poorly, splashes you on the butt, and cannot accommodate an adult man sanitarily. But then again, those terribly designed toilets are everywhere in the UK. At least the sink didn't make you choose between scalding or freezing water. They provided no toiletries, and I couldn't tell if the roll of paper next to the toilet was for wiping or for sanding furniture.

The breakfast was surprisingly good. A little machine makes a pretty decent cappuccino or Americano, and an overworked woman runs in and out taking orders for toast and breakfast. You could get the full Scottish breakfast, as well as a few other items, or you could just choose from the cereals and juices set out for you.

In general, the price was good enough that I can overlook the bathroom. However, that bed we had really was very uncomfortable, so if you have trouble sleeping in foreign beds, I might think twice about this one.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeHudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

A very nice and small hotel in walking distance from city centre. Very clean, and beatifully, homely decorated. Staff Jim and Carolyne were friendly, helpful, and made very delicious breakfast for us. it would be a good idea for the manager to change the see-through glassdoor in the shower with another type of glass -door, it felt a bit akward not to have enough privacy in the shower, - since the shower was in the hotel room. The toilet was outside of the room, but solely for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita Cecilie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is a very nice bed and breakfast in a very good location in Edinburgh. A short two or three blocks from the Haymarket train station. Within a comfortable 15 minute walk to shopping, restaurants and the Royal Mile.

The B&B itself is very comfortable, our room as well as the lobby and eating area were nice and clean. This is a very old home so there will be old water stains on the ceilings and patched areas on the walls and limited outlets, but again this is a very old home. I had the triple room (one queen, one single) for two people. The room was large, had its own bathroom (VERY small shower - but adequate water pressure and hot water). The internet access was hit or miss, much better when there were fewer people staying there - but hey it was free. The room was on the third floor (no elevator) so a bit of a climb. The lady who showed us the room helped my daughter with the luggage up the last flight so that was nice, and a gentleman staying there helped us down when we were leaving.

The staff were all very nice, answered any questions we had, found coupons for restaurants we were interested in, provided ice for my daughter when she hurt her foot. You never had to wait long for help once you pushed the button for assistance in the main lobby.

The only real negative (besides no elevator) was the breakfast. It may have been a typical English breakfast - eggs, sausage, bacon, toast and beans but it just wasn't my cup of tea, seemed to be microwaved.

Overall a very nice 3 star guest house with 4 star service and comfort.

Room Tip: Peeking into some rooms a few seemed rather small. I chose the queen bed plus single for 2 of us an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rndbrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,819 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#38 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,933 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,071 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#16 of 392 in Edinburgh
685 reviews
Kew House
#6 of 392 in Edinburgh
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Valery Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Valery Guest House

Property: St. Valery Guest House
Address: Haymarket 36 Coates Gardens, Edinburgh EH12 5LE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Valery Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St. Valery Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Valery Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
St. Valery Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing