We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“met all our needs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Airdenair Guest House
Ranked #210 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Decorah, Iowa USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“met all our needs”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Airdenair met all our Edinburgh needs. Warm hospitality and great breakfast. Not in the heart of happenings, but location was 2 blocks from convenient bus line that was well outlined by our host. Taxi from downtown was good, inexpensive way to connect, particularly on first visit. Walking distance from a couple good spots to eat.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartyDecorah_IowaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    18
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
12
29
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We had a nice experience at Jill's home. Our room was clean and a good size. Unfortunately, the water pressure was less than expected and we could not get wi-fi in our room. Jill served up a really good breakfast and the dining room was very nice. She was also helpful in getting us started on our Edinburgh exploration.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llangefni, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Stayed for the one night after travelling down from Fort William.
Only a mile and half into central Edinburgh (National Museum) and on a major bus route.
Just under a mile to Arthurs seat.
Lovely quiet twin room with a great view of Arthurs Seat.
Jill, the owner, even had small maps for the local area and recommended somewhere fantastic to eat that evening.
Free Wi Fi and a cracking cooked breakfast meant our stay was an enjoyable one. Highly recommended A+

Worth arriving after 5, as parking may be difficult earlier.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
612 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We had been there in 2005 and remembered this as a small, tidy and nice B&B managed as a family business.

We were back in March 2013 with senior friends and family and found the very same, plus tidier, refreshed rooms and wi-fi. Breakfast seems a bit simpler than I remembered - still good and well prepared, and maybe my memories were fanciful there.
Prices are very reasonable compared to others we looked up online.

I do hope to be back to Edinburgh in months, and that friends of us go there. When that happens, I look forward to recommending them to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GianlucaMarcellino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

stayed 3 nights in Feb 2013 with two family members. it was our first time to Scotland, and Airdenair accomodations were great.

we stayed in the triple room (a double bed and single bed) which had a great view of Arthur's Seat. bathroom was very small, but other than that, no real complaints. i had stayed at The Caledonian for a few nights for business beforehand, and the beds at Airdenair were more comfortable than The Caley's!

good location - you can walk 1/2 a block to the bus stop, and take a 1.40 GBP bus ride down to south bridge, princes street, etc. great little pub a block away, lots of local life. we wanted a quite place to sleep after touring during our days, and Airdenair was just that!

Jill was great about arranging taxis for us when we had two early morning departures for tours and airport runs.

Room Tip: All rooms are up 2 flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyGWU09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverness
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Airdenair is a lovely place to stay, family run, friendly.
room was spotless,warm,quiet and view of Arthurs Seat great.
Would recomend a stay here any time.
Breakfast was very good real coffee.
We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joycestirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I chose this bed and breakfast because the family had the same last name as ours and I thought it would be a great way to connect to our clan name. I also thought when going on the website that Rick Steves giving it a thumbs up must be a good sign. How right I was! Jill and Doug were welcoming, friendly, thoughtful, and so very helpful. The location was awesome, and the walk to the Royal Mile was so beautiful. If it was not for the wonderful information in the binder in our room we would never have known about The Taste of Scotland an outstanding Scottish show just a short walk away at Passfield Hall, Jill even lent her woolen wrap for the walk over. We would stay here again as after a short stay Jill and Doug felt like family. We went to four different countries on our trip and this B&B was our favourite. Highly recommended! Regina Saskatchewan Canada

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Thistle House
Thistle House
#285 of 392 in Edinburgh
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ard-na-said
Ard-na-said
#14 of 392 in Edinburgh
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunedin Guest House
Dunedin Guest House
#165 of 392 in Edinburgh
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Arden Guest House
Arden Guest House
#190 of 392 in Edinburgh
121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Strathallan Guest House
Strathallan Guest House
#75 of 392 in Edinburgh
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Allison House Hotel
Allison House Hotel
#111 of 392 in Edinburgh
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airdenair Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airdenair Guest House

Property: Airdenair Guest House
Address: 29 Kilmaurs Rd., Edinburgh EH16 5DB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Airdenair Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Airdenair Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airdenair Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing